We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really delicious and varied Big Sky restaurant”

By Word of Mouth Restaurant & Catering
Ranked #23 of 72 Restaurants in Big Sky
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Fresh, local ingredients, seasonal menus, a casual atmosphere, and gourmet flavors - this is the list of ingredients that makes By Word of Mouth (By WOM for those in the know!) a cherished local favorite in Big Sky, Montana. Your dining experience will be topped off by our welcoming, attentive staff and our lively bar with handcrafted cocktails and an award-winning wine list.
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
73 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Really delicious and varied Big Sky restaurant”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We had dinner there last night. Delicious variety, escargot in mushroom caps, salad, great sushi, an amazing lamb entrée, my total favorite. Started out with a basil martini, delicious, and a great bottle of Cote de Rhone and then a fabulous molten chocolate cake with homemade ice cream. Great service thanks to Blair Elliot. It was busy at the bar and we had a relaxed dinner. I would definitely suggest this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vivi486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    30
    16
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bozeman
Level Contributor
81 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“No one seems to care...”
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

We have eaten here a few times every winter. This year we were very disappointed. Very poor service and food quality has declined. Favorite dish was their osso bucco. This year it was a massive pork bone with a few errant gnocchi and not one tablespoon of sauce. Someone is tired of this business.

Helpful?
Thank glacierhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
Level Contributor
124 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Just Ok- not happy with the service”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We have a house in big sky and have been skiing here for about 20 years. We understand we are not locals but we pump a lot of money into the economy of Big Sky. I found the review about the locals being treated better interesting because that is exactly how we felt at this restaurant.

We made a reservation, and were greeted by a pleasant woman who took us directly to our table. Wine was ordered and served promptly by our waitress. She said she would be back to answer questions. She walked by our table numerous times and never said a word. We tried to make eye contact and when my daughter finally did, she walked right by. The woman who greeted us filled our water glasses numerous times by now, we finally asked if she would answer our questions. She nicely answered the questions and offered to take an order for appetizers. At this point we were seated here for about a half hour with only wine and water.

I'll save you the details but the service remained very slow and inattentive. Our waitress seemed very disinterested in us.

The food was good, not great. I had the salmon cake special. The cake itself seemed to contain a lot of bread and was pretty tasteless, except for a fishy taste- not in a good way. The rest of that dish however was very tasty. My daughter had the lamb which was odd- kind of like a salisbury steak of lamb. She liked the goat cheese topping but the potatoes under the steak were soggy. My husband had the duck which he described as 'ok'

All in all, pretty mediocre food for the price&very slow service(and I agree people who are obviously local seem to get better attention). The worst part is that they were having an all you can eat fish fry and I left there smelling like fryer grease in my hair and clothes.

We probably will not be back to this restaurant, and it seems that will be just fine by them because they clearly prefer locals.

Helpful?
1 Thank likecomfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
170 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Intimate, and someone in the kitchen really cares about good food.”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We were looking for a casual place to bring our large party to eat. BWOM was kind enough (and they seem very nice and kind there) they fit us in. Several of our party had trout -- very good -- and some others had duck and osso buco -- these got "best ever" reviews.

Oddly enough, the bill was pretty reasonable, and although there is an impressive wine list for you oenophiles, for trogs like us there are very reasonably priced and straightforward house wines.

Go here if you can. It's in the Meadows shopping area.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank calvino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Down to earth tourists need not visit!”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We were pretty offended to be led to a dark table in the back, left alone for 10 minutes without service and blatently ignored while other more "important" tables were doted on. This is typical with these types of bistros, but know what you're walking into if you don't look the part. We walked out without ordering so will not speak to the food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2Webers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed By Word of Mouth Restaurant & Catering also viewed

 

Been to By Word of Mouth Restaurant & Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing