We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Diamond in the Rough!”
Review of Buck's T-4 Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Buck's T-4 Lodge
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Big Sky
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 23, 2010

Everything about this place was amazing! Our room was very nice, the location was beautiful, the staff was very friendly and helpful, the food was wonderful! Thank you Buck T 4's, we have been talking about our stay ever since!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdogg0805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (741)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

688 - 694 of 741 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2010

On our recent stay, my partner and her father in law were fortunate enough to have the pleasure of staying at the Buck's T-4 lodge. The pleasant service (Megan in dining, Tim at the desk to name but two of the outstanding staff who made our stay very nice) mixed with the extremely reasonable rates make Buck's lodge worth coming back to if when we pass this way again. Its a historic spot and locally owned by three partners who will make every effort to create a warm and welcome experience for you. If you believe in supporting locally owned business and staying in a caring environment then this is the place for you.
It's not a luxury hotel by any means but the beds were very comfortable, the room was spacious and very clean, and the spa was fantastic.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelreview684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2010

Buck's T-4 Lodge is the most talked about highlight of our 3-week road trip in Sept. 2010.
Their hospitality was top-notch, our room was exceptionally clean, tastefully decorated and we slept like a dream. Then we went to dinner at their restaurant and was, once again, pleasantly pleased. Because we didn't have reservations (and they had a full house) we were seated in the bar. The Sampler appetizer plate was mouth-watering. The smoked duck bacon was almost sinful! I could have eaten an entire plate of it. The moose meat and the smoked salmon were exceptional as well. We also had wild pheasant quesadillas that were full of flavor and very satisfying. They also have a very impressive wine selection for which they've won many awards over the years. The complimentary breakfast was a feast. We even drove an extra 90 miles to return for an additional night because we were so well taken care of. Well worth the trip.
We owned and operated our own bed and breakfast in our hometown for several years and know that great service only comes from hard work and attention to details. Buck's T-4 Lodge will always be rated at the top of our list. We can't wait to make a return visit.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doris043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2010

In the past two years we have travelled to over 30 countries and have stayed in countless hotels– and Buck’s T-4 takes the cake as our all-time favourite. Our time here are Buck's T4 Lodge could not have been more pleasurable. The Lodge is in a stunning position (surrounded by beautiful mountains), is an authenitc slice of real Montana in its furnishings, has easy access to Big Sky Resort, has excellent facilities (including a top-notch restaurant) and is superbly up kept and super clean. When we arrived, we were instantly offered a free-upgrade to a bigger room. Our arrival also coincided with a really bad, out-of season snowstorm, which caused us to be completely snowed in for over 24 hours. What could have been a really unpleasant situation was made into a lovely one thanks to the staff – they could not have gone more out of their way to ensure that we were safe, comfortable, warm and fed. Nothing was too much trouble. If anything, getting snowed in was a good thing as we were fortunate enough to get to know some of the team! Additionally, we arrived in the off-season, two days before the ski season started, and the team were so helpful in terms of helping us find fun activities and plan our itinerary; each morning we would visit them and they’d have a list of ideas. Their wealth of knowledge of the local area, parks and businesses is second-to-none. Honestly, there are not enough positive words for Bucks T-4! Thanks so much guys!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louisedf12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2010

We drove all the way from Waterton Lakes to Big Sky in a single day, which was a pretty long slog, and we found Buck’s to be very welcoming. It was a Friday night and the chap on reception showed me an enormous family room with two queen beds, and a kitchenette area, and I sincerely told him that we didn’t need that kind of space / would try the cheaper place down the road. He knocked 30% off the price (and there was a free breakfast anyway)! We don’t normally “haggle” but you can’t argue with that. He also gave us some very useful info on the mountain biking options up at the resort. The room was very comfortable and we ordered a pizza from Trailhead Pizza (only 5 out of 10, I’m afraid, but we put it in the fridge and ate the rest on the road the next day). A very warm, welcoming place.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeTheSquare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2010

Montana in October was unbelivable. Highly recommend that you travel early in the Fall after the summer tourists are gone and before the snow has arrived. We have traveled all over the US and the World. Service at Buck T-4's was the best. Mike, Chuck and Jane treated us wonderfully. Chuck is a great chef. Buck's has a beautiful and cozy lodge and dining room. Our suite was very comfortable and clean. Nearby is Jake's Horses. We took an all day trail ride. There is no other way to see Montana and it's awe inspiring beauty. We also visited Yellowstone. It is about an hour's drive from Buck's. It too was a once in a lifetime trip.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurel028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2010

We stayed at Buck's for the first time in August 2010 for a total of 13 nights. The location in Big Sky on US191 is perfect - about a 1 hour drive to West Yellowstone, slightly less than that to Bozeman. The room price includes breakfast - and I don't mean the typical hotel breakfast of stale sweetrolls and coffee. This is a ranch style breakfast with fresh scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon or ham (on alternating days), hash browns, biscuits, gravy, the works! The on-site restaurant is outstanding with gourmet dishes as well as simpler fare - but everything is great! Buck's is once again owned by a partnership headed up by Mike Schulz, and Mike is there supervising the place most every day. Mike is a great and friendly host - typical of most people we know in Montana (my wife grew up on a ranch near Logan). Highly recommended - not cheap but you won't find a better place to stay in the Big Sky area. I know - we stayed in a rental studio apartment in one of the Big Sky Mountain Village 2 years ago. It was more expensive and not nearly as convenient or comfortable. Lord willing, we will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GHWanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Big Sky hotels
7.8 mi away
The Lodge at Big Sky
The Lodge at Big Sky
#2 of 9 in Big Sky
564 reviews
7.8 mi away
Big Sky Resort Village Center
7.7 mi away
The Summit At Big Sky
The Summit At Big Sky
#4 of 9 in Big Sky
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
River Rock Lodge
River Rock Lodge
#6 of 9 in Big Sky
123 reviews
7.8 mi away
Huntley Lodge
Huntley Lodge
#7 of 9 in Big Sky
296 reviews
0.5 mi away
Whitewater Inn
Whitewater Inn
#9 of 9 in Big Sky
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buck's T-4 Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buck's T-4 Lodge

Address: 46625 Gallatin Rd, Big Sky, MT 59716
Location: United States > Montana > Big Sky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Big Sky
Price Range: $162 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Buck's T-4 Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm, Western accommodations in beautiful Big Sky; home of the Biggest Skiing in America and Yellowstone’s Base Camp. Located 45 minutes from Yellowstone's west entrance, in the shadow of Big Sky and Moonlight Basin ski resorts. Buck’s features a variety of guest rooms in a country décor. All rooms include a full hot breakfast. The lodge also features two oversized outdoor hot tubs, free wireless internet, two award-winning restaurants and full bar. Area activities include downhill and Nordic skiing, blue-ribbon fly fishing, hiking, rafting and mountain biking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Buck's T-4 Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buck`s t-4 Hotel Big Sky
Bucks t 4 Hotel
Buck's T-4 Lodge Big Sky, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing