We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In a word, Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buck's T-4 Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Buck's T-4 Lodge
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Big Sky
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
231 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“In a word, Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

If you are questioning whether to stay and are reading the reviews--please--do not hesitate--i did the same thing--reviews are very important to me too! The rooms are cozy, beds are really comfy- very clean. All of the employees are friendly and welcoming. And the restaurant--oh my goodness--it was phenomenal--my husband had the buffalo and I had the ribeye--both were delicious! We loved the Big Sky area--it was our visit first but will certainly not be our last. Thank you to all at Bucks T-4--for a wonderful overall experience!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    176
    49
    17
    8
See reviews for
225
195
25
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff were very helpful, the location is out of the township of Big Sky but that suited us. We had dinner in the restaurant and our meal was very good. All in all a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadaAlison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
86 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We spent 4 nights at Buck's...which we used as a base, while we toured through the park. West Yellowstone lodging just didn't appeal to us.

Buck's is very good, but we couldn't rate it as being excellent. As with many lodgings, security of valuables left in the room are subject to disappearance. We overlooked this during our stay....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnandlinda19178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

The hotel was perfect - clean room with fridge & microwave, comfy beds, a fantastic breakfast buffet, and they even let us keep our high end road bikes in our room. With all of this going for them already we found the greatest amenity offered was the superb staff. From our check-in, to questions about where to ride our bikes, to just general area info, everyone employed here treated us like family. I would gladly stay here again and highly recommend it to other travelers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaLaHiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
132 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Bucks T4 is minutes from skiing at Big Sky. We visited in summer, but I can see how this would be an ideal adult ski retreat. The rooms have comfy beds and every amenity (mini-frig, microwave, and up to date powerstrip for charging devices, etc.) The restaurant is gourmet and has won 11 Wine Spectator awards. Breakfast is home cooked and included. My favorite parts are the spatial community areas, inside and out. There are 2 large spring water hot tubs, inside rustic main lodge bar, outdoor fireplaces, and outdoor gardens. It is a great place to stay!

Room Tip: There is a main lodge and two outer buildings within walkng distance (there is no elevator). You can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarburg, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Don't bother with West Yellowstone! Buck's is a 50 minute drive from Yellowstone and it is well worth the time to get out of the West Yellowstone atmosphere and stay in the calm, peaceful "middle of nowhere" Buck's T-4 (read the history of the place and name on the placemat at the restaurant).

I had read lots of glowing reviews about Buck's lodge and restaurant, so I had high expectations, and even then, I was impressed. The place has been around for a while, but our room (main building) was beautifully decorated and furnished. I appreciated the comfortable chairs and small table and long desk/counter with power strip (in this electronic age, why don't hotels provide more outlets?). Even the lighting was pleasant. The beds were comfortable. The room and bathroom were very clean. The sink is outside of the small room with the tub and toilet, which works well when there is more than one person in the room.

The breakfast room was large and spacious, and the complimentary buffet was exceptional (this was not donuts in the lobby with 3 tables!). There was a big spread of hot and cold items and an obvious attention to detail (variety of sliced fruit, not a bowl of apples and oranges). Staff was on site and attentive.

We didn't even bother looking for any other place to eat dinner after reading the reviews of the restaurant. Check out their menu online. Our server was very helpful with our selections. Husband enjoyed the red deer. I'm not very adventuresome, so I had the tenderloin with mushrooms and garlic mashed potatoes. Excellent! It was a fancy menu for picky eater daughter, but she likes pork chops and occasionally likes some spiciness, so she thoroughly enjoyed her dinner (loved the creamy Cajun barbecue sauce with the pork chop so much we tried to make it at home). There are burgers, sandwiches and salads, too.

The only drawback was lugging our suitcases up half a flight of stairs. I had been forewarned from reading other reviews.

I wish our travels would take us there again soon. We highly recommend Buck's T-4 Lodge and Dining.

Room Tip: Beware that there isn't an elevator, so you will have to carry your suitcases up stairs. It was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, AZ
Level Contributor
143 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

The drive to Buck's through the Gallatin Gateway on 191 is a fabulous drive, one which would cause some to think of moving there. Although, I would imagine the drive is quite a bit different in the winter.

I stayed in the annex, Room 151, and heard every suitcase that thumped its way up/down the steps. The room is quite spacious and very clean. There is a refrigerator with a tiny freezer and a microwave which is on the smaller side.

The bathroom has the toilet and tub/shower separated from the sink area. The shower has the attachment with shampoo, conditioner and bath gel. There is also bar soap and lotion available. These are above average in quality.

The queen bed is on the firm side. Surprisingly, for being rather in the middle of nowhere the cable reception is good. The window in the room slides open which provides fresh air and cools the room. I did not leave it open at night. I think that would have been too cool.

The property is quite nice with lovely lounging areas. They have had weddings on the property.

There are two hot tubs--one with a hot (103) temp and one with a cool (in the 90's) temp. This is a dog friendly property and there is a large area behind the annex to walk the dog. They even provide the materials to clean up after your dog.

And, while I am not certain, there were racks (?) in the room for skis. Can't imagine what else they were. I was told there is excellent skiing in the area.

The breakfast was the best breakfast I have had anywhere a breakfast is included. A variety of fresh fruit, beyond apples, oranges and bananas. Pastries that appeared to be homemade--or just iced if not homemade. Delicious scrambled eggs, potatoes, and French toast--all made fresh by the cook that morning. The bacon was yummy--not the kind that snaps when you pick it up...The breakfast area is spacious, clean, inviting and staffed by some very nice cooks.

The front desk staff is very friendly, helpful and efficient. The lobby/lounge is very inviting. A person could really relax when staying at Buck's.

The only negative, and for some it may be a deal breaker, there is no elevator. Even though I was on the first floor, I had to go upstairs to get into the building, down stairs to get to my room. There may have been another entrance, but I am not sure. If stairs are an issue, call Buck's before you book and ask.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the stairs--noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kmesaaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Big Sky hotels
7.8 mi away
The Lodge at Big Sky
The Lodge at Big Sky
#1 of 13 in Big Sky
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Summit At Big Sky
The Summit At Big Sky
#4 of 13 in Big Sky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
3.1 mi away
River Rock Lodge
River Rock Lodge
#7 of 13 in Big Sky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Big Sky Resort Village Center
7.8 mi away
Huntley Lodge
Huntley Lodge
#8 of 13 in Big Sky
3.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.6 mi away
Whitewater Inn
Whitewater Inn
#12 of 13 in Big Sky
3.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buck's T-4 Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buck's T-4 Lodge

Property: Buck's T-4 Lodge
Address: 46625 Gallatin Rd, Big Sky, MT 59716
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Big Sky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Big Sky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Buck's T-4 Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm, Western accommodations in beautiful Big Sky; home of the Biggest Skiing in America and Yellowstone’s Base Camp. Located 45 minutes from Yellowstone's west entrance, in the shadow of Big Sky and Moonlight Basin ski resorts. Buck’s features a variety of guest rooms in a country décor. All rooms include a full hot breakfast. The lodge also features two oversized outdoor hot tubs, free wireless internet, two award-winning restaurants and full bar. Area activities include downhill and Nordic skiing, blue-ribbon fly fishing, hiking, rafting and mountain biking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Buck's T-4 Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buck`s t-4 Hotel Big Sky
Bucks t 4 Hotel
Buck's T-4 Lodge Big Sky, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing