We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One the friendly people I know”
Review of Buck's T-4 Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Buck's T-4 Lodge
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Big Sky
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2012

I have to say it's ones the most friendly places where I have stayed. The staff was made feel as if I was home. Even the hotel manger directed on how to get to big sky resort and told me where were great places to eat. The best part was the HOT heated pool! with bubbles lol The room was super, it has flat tv and actual channels not, like other hotels were you to pay for the channels you want. The breakfast was different each day the quaily of food was just like the restaurant perfect. Out of all the hotels over the years I have stayed this is by far one of best.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cpinzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (738)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

619 - 625 of 738 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2012

The food at this place is out of this world! Very nice pools and hot tubs, nice rooms and a rustic but classy ambiance. Everything abou this hotel is casual, classy Montana.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gina19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Clean,quiet, and comfortable. One of the most user friendly places you will ever stay. And the food at the restaurant is first rate. I highly recommend this place to everyone and will stay there many more times.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kenny g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

After renting a car and driving in from Bozeman's airport (a scenic 45 minutes away) I arrived at Buck's and at first didn't know what to expect. As I walked in through the lobby I was immediately greeted by the manager and given keys to our room. The manager was really friendly and always seemed to be around to offer some good advice or help me with whatever our group needed during our stay. At her recommendation, I talked to one of the lodge's employees, Tim, who blew me away with his knowledge and advice on what runs to take around Lone Mountain (Big Sky & Moonlight Basin). Once I told him my ability level, he was spot on with telling me where I should go and I was very impressed and glad that I had the chance to be offered such expert advice from an employee of the lodge. I also found out from him that there is a completely free shuttle bus that travels from Buck's (and a few other nearby places) to the mountain (about 20 minutes) almost every hour and before and after the mountain closes to make the most out of your stay. Some people have mentioned that there are no towels for the hot tubs/pools whatever you want to call them, but all you need to do is go to the lobby and ask for some and they will be more then happy to give them out. As for the food, yes like most everyone has said it is fantastic and so is the service and it isn't too cheap but totally worth it. The local meat choices (Bison, Elk, etc.) were awesome and very flavorful. The wine selection blew me away when I saw it, you could get a wine that cost anywhere from a couple of dollars up to to $1500!! A wine drinkers heaven I would say. But don't let these numbers scare you, there are less expensive options that are just as delicious, for example the [regular beef] burgers which were some of the best I have ever eaten and were under $10. Breakfast buffet was also the best I had ever eaten. Simply put, I can't wait to go back and am not surprised currently rated #1. know I will have a blast at this place for years to come...

Room Tip: The Suite is the way to go for a group of 4, but all of the rooms have good amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeB454_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights while on a road trip. The rooms are clean and massive, but a little dated in decor choice. The hotel and bar were great. Good food and service. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidayBeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We chose Buck's T-4 based on on-line reviews and, boy, did we hit a homerun. We checked in at 8:50pm, hungry after a long drive, and the manager called their restaurant to ensure that we would be served despite their 9pm closing time. What a delicious meal and an excellent wine list. The restaurant is 4-star and well worth the price. And never once did we feel that the wait staff or chef did less than their best despite our late arrival. The check-in mgr recommended adjacent (across the hall) rooms vs a suite and it was a perfect suggestion. The beds are comfortable, the rooms are immaculate, and - my main concern - they accept dogs. (There's a wonderful, large area to let your dogs run safely.) Breakfast was good and the staff was accommodating and unassuming. The ski area is just minutes away; the hotel has a hot tub that's perfect after a long day of skiing. Frankly, all the guests are friendly because it's a happy place to be. We'll definitely make Buck's T-4 our 'place to stay' in Big Sky.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ella_Wus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Clean, comfortable room, friendly staff, wonderful on-site restaurant. I especially enjoyed soaking in the hot pools outdoors as the snow fell! The hotel is a few miles past the turn off that winds about 10 miles up to the ski hill. It's on the bus routes to the resort, skiing, and to Bozeman. We could have stayed at the Huntley Lodge for about the same price (due to daughter's employee discount) but chose Buck's based on better reviews in Tripadvisor. Tip: The hot pools outside have changing areas and restrooms but no towels or showers. You may want to bring a beach towel to cover up and stay warm going to and from the pools.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glaciergirl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Big Sky hotels
7.8 mi away
The Lodge at Big Sky
The Lodge at Big Sky
#2 of 9 in Big Sky
563 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Summit At Big Sky
The Summit At Big Sky
#4 of 9 in Big Sky
251 reviews
7.8 mi away
Big Sky Resort Village Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
River Rock Lodge
River Rock Lodge
#6 of 9 in Big Sky
123 reviews
7.8 mi away
Huntley Lodge
Huntley Lodge
#7 of 9 in Big Sky
296 reviews
0.5 mi away
Whitewater Inn
Whitewater Inn
#9 of 9 in Big Sky
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buck's T-4 Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buck's T-4 Lodge

Address: 46625 Gallatin Rd, Big Sky, MT 59716
Location: United States > Montana > Big Sky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Big Sky
Price Range: $142 - $1,111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Buck's T-4 Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm, Western accommodations in beautiful Big Sky; home of the Biggest Skiing in America and Yellowstone’s Base Camp. Located 45 minutes from Yellowstone's west entrance, in the shadow of Big Sky and Moonlight Basin ski resorts. Buck’s features a variety of guest rooms in a country décor. All rooms include a full hot breakfast. The lodge also features two oversized outdoor hot tubs, free wireless internet, two award-winning restaurants and full bar. Area activities include downhill and Nordic skiing, blue-ribbon fly fishing, hiking, rafting and mountain biking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Buck's T-4 Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buck`s t-4 Hotel Big Sky
Bucks t 4 Hotel
Buck's T-4 Lodge Big Sky, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing