We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Something for everyone!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moonlight Basin Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sky
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moonlight Basin Resort
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Big Sky
Bozeman, Montana, United States
2 reviews
“Something for everyone!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is my first year having a season pass at Moonlight Basin and I LOVE it! The skiing is amazing, and there is something for all ability levels. The Headwaters have some of the burliest, most extreme terrain I have ever ridden, and definitely the craziest terrain I have ever found in-bounds. The terrain parks are some of the best in Montana, and have a bunch of progressive features that can help you get comfortable riding rails before hitting big stuff. The snow always stays really good, there are hardly ever lift lines, and the groomed runs are long, fun, and great for taking mom/kids out. The Moonlight Lodge is beyond beautiful, the service is terrific, and the warm outdoor pool and hot tub is the perfect spot to enjoy a drink after a long day skiing!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridgette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    15
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
7
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

What a beautiful place to stay! I can not believe there is a place like this in the world! no lines, friendly people, great service. We've been coming up here for years and love staying up here! Food at the Madison seems to have gone down hill but the lodge is great! We didn't have WiFi, at first we were upset but we had booked through a different agency then moonlight (thank you front desk for being so friendly and bending over backwards to help us) once it was explained to us it turned out to be a blessing because we were able to focus on our family and vacation rather then being hooked in to the digital world! If we really needed something the lodge had WiFi for us to come use. We had ski in ski out access, although we couldn't jump off the deck and ski we only had to walk a whole 100 feet to be right on the slopes less then walking from the parking lot to the runs at the bottom.
Bottom line if you hate having a great time, having beautiful views, being able to reconnect with your family, meet great people, have good food, have to be on your phone or commuter all the time then this is not the place for you!
As for us we will be back!

Room Tip: Book through moonlight directly, they have knowledge on what you can or can not get
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We bought season passes at Moonlight this year (we live about 2 hours away) and spent every weekend at Moonlight. There are enough trails for every level - and the price is right. (We found Big Sky way to expensive, they raised their prices this year.)

The lodge is beautiful & comfortable. There are always enough seats for apres ski - the menu is great with drinks and snacks (although truffle fries would be great).

The best thing is the staff. Evryone seems to love working there and it shows. Super friendly staff everywhere - from the snow plowers to lodge staff to the lift attendants.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PattersonBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Combine Montana's warmth and hospitality with first-class accommodations, and you end up with a great time. I've skied all over the world and will come back to Big Sky/Moonlight again and again. The lodge is great - very relaxing and chilled out in the afternoon. Food is superb. Spa is top notch and very good value for the price. I loved being able to ski to the lodge for a 3* lunch, then head up the mountain for some of the best gnar in N. America.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank makalu55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

I have been shredding Moonlight Basin for about 5 seasons. Living in Bozeman, MT, its almost in my backyard. This season, my massive family came up to visit and I was concerned about a good activity/outing. Its tough keeping everyone entertained, challenged and not left out. Moonlight Basin has something for everyone. My mother who doesn't ski, stayed in the lodge and picked up some new souvenirs at the Mercantile. My aging father was able to enjoy the wide open groomers. My brother got in a few hikes on the Headwaters as his daughter caught a lesson. Everyone was stoked, involved and smiling. The lifties are smiling, the staff is extremely friendly, everyone is in a good mood at Moonlight Basin. I have worked at ski areas for the past 10 years and no where has a community like Moonlight Basin. Its a family. Its friendly. IT IS MY FAVORITE PLACE ON THE PLANET! Thank you for being so wonderful, MB, keep it up! Your forever fan, Missy O

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We found bad wifi access, and were told that our cabin was in a marginal area and that we never should have been told there would be wifi there. Management moved us higher on the hill and wifi was good there, but ski-in-ski-out was less ideal. When busy, front desk goes to unavailable voicemail. Various staff do not communicate with each other, but eventually satisfy all concerns.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wind4surf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Moonlight Basin Resort represents a collection of vacation rentals, centered around Moonlight Basin's Moonlight lodge (which is between both Big Sky and Moonlight). The setting is excellent, although the options for dining or stocking your rental fridge are somewhat limited in the Big Sky area. After a recent stay, we'd offer a few tips:

- Purchase your groceries in Bozeman or Belgrade. There are 2 stores with pretty good selections (and one with a great wine selection) in the Meadows about 10-15 minutes from Moonlight, but the prices are a bit higher than normal (i.e. we paid $8 for a pound of butter).

- Ask in advance about the amenities. We had to pay $75 for the week for wifi for 3 devices, and had sporadic access and found on the final day we needed 3 separate codes. Check it out on day #1 for your own sanity.

- Ask in advance about closet space, if your unit has a washer-dryer, ski-in/ ski-out access, and if your unit has a dishwasher. Our cabin had no closets and few places to hang clothes, did not have a washer-dryer. We were told we had ski-in/ ski-out access, and the ski-out was excellent, but the ski-in was only excellent thanks to plenty of recent snow which covered the road and parking lot. Other wise we would have not been able to ski-in.

If you like to watch movies, ask if your unit has a DVD player and bring movies. The cabins have DirectTV but the viewing options are pretty limited.

The overall service was good, but the desk had difficulty explaining the wi-fi as well as how to find our cabin when returning from skiing all day (where to find the cabin to "ski-in").

The service in the restaurant was also challenged each day with more activity than they seemed to anticipate, and some of the servers did not seem to have familiarity with the menu items. However, the food itself was fantastic - high quality and good prices, and worth trying a couple times to sample a variety of menu items.

Overall, we will likely return to the Moonlight Resort lodging options, but we will be more well-informed next time and ask the correct questions to make the best of our trip.

Room Tip: Ask in advance about amenities you may need such as - dishwasher, washer-dryer, wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JMBless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Big Sky hotels
1.2 mi away
The Lodge at Big Sky
The Lodge at Big Sky
#2 of 12 in Big Sky
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
8.9 mi away
Buck's T-4 Lodge
Buck's T-4 Lodge
#1 of 12 in Big Sky
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Summit At Big Sky
The Summit At Big Sky
#3 of 12 in Big Sky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Big Sky Resort Village Center
5.8 mi away
River Rock Lodge
River Rock Lodge
#5 of 12 in Big Sky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
1.3 mi away
Huntley Lodge
Huntley Lodge
#7 of 12 in Big Sky
3.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonlight Basin Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonlight Basin Resort

Property: Moonlight Basin Resort
Address: 66 Mountain Loop Road, Big Sky, MT 59716
Location: United States > Montana > Big Sky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Big Sky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Moonlight Basin Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now part of Big Sky Resort, Moonlight Lodging in Big Sky is the ultimate host for your dream Montana vacation. With our spacious Big Sky vacation rentals you can experience a taste of life in the West, unparalleled mountain views, the comforts of luxury mountain living, and a gateway to Yellowstone National Park. Tucked away in an alpine setting are charming cabins, casual condominium units, magnificent mountain homes, elegant townhouses, and other Big Sky lodging options, offering winter ski-in/ski-out access to all of Big Sky Resort, and summer access to all Big Sky area and Yellowstone National Park adventures. Start your Montana vacation right here and now by checking out and booking the best in Big Sky lodging with Moonlight Lodging. Make sure to check our Big Sky vacation packages and specials before reserving your getaway.We can’t wait to welcome you to Big Sky and the Montana way of life! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Moonlight Basin Hotel Big Sky
Moonlight Basin Big Sky
Moonlight Basin Resort Big Sky, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing