We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Leisurely Lunch”
Review of Carabiner Lounge

Carabiner Lounge
Ranked #24 of 72 Restaurants in Big Sky
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $17
Cuisines: American, Bar, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Carabiner Lounge is currently closed for the off-season. Enjoy spectacular views of Lone Peak from the deck or savor the Euro-Western atmosphere of the Resort's 4-star hotel from inside this beautiful bar and restaurant. Come warm yourself by the fireplace and enjoy live apres ski music(when available)in our relaxed and intimate venue. The Carabiner Lounge is located on the terrace level of the Summit Hotel.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
192 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A Leisurely Lunch”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We enjoyed the food and service in this lovely setting, but the kitchen was very slow and I would not recommend it if you are anxious to get back skiing. This would be a better place for dinner or for a non-skiing day. Others of our party who went for dinner were quite content with it. The caesar salad with chicken (which was smoked, not grilled) was a popular choice.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank getaround28970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigSkyResort001, Public Relations Manager at Carabiner Lounge, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
If you are looking for a quick bite before getting back on the slopes, may we suggest the Chef Crafted Soup Du Jour, Summit Chili or Wild Boar Sliders. All delicious with a very quick turnaround. Our team loves to ski and understands when customers want to squeeze in as much time on the hill as possible. Just let us know your agenda and we will be happy to get you fueled up and out the door fast. Thanks for sharing your review with us. We appreciate it. Please come in and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    43
    21
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
112 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We had lunch here a couple of times during our week-long stay at Big Sky. Both times I had the grilled chicken Caesar salad. The first time I was a little surprised as the chicken was merely sliced up and served on the side of the salad rather than cubed and mixed throughout but it was quite tasty and filling without being heavy.

On one visit the soup special was called Mountain Chowder. My dining companions found it extremely tasty and they were disappointed it wasn't the special on our second visit.

One evening we visited and I had a hot chocolate while my companion had a specialty hot chocolate with liquor drink that she found tasty. The regular hot chocolate tasted like instant with some whipped cream on top. Once I got past the whipped cream it tasted a bit watery. A bit less water and a switch to a dark chocolate mix would help.

Overall this is a very convenient place for lunch as it's right at the base of the slopes. Some evenings there is live music. Prices are about normal for slopeside dining - which is to say a little more expensive than you'd find elsewhere.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cards-Preds-Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigSkyResort001, Public Relations Manager at Carabiner Lounge, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for your review and visiting us during your stay in Big Sky. Sounds like you enjoyed yourself overall. We will share your recommendations with our team. Please be sure to come in and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clancy, Montana
Level Contributor
156 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“My favorite place to hang in Big Sky”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I am a Montanan, and come to Big Sky a couple of times a year. The Carabiner is my favorite place to hang out post-skiing. The drinks are generous and reasonably priced. The menu has some really decent food at (for Big Sky) good prices. Chairs are super-comfy and really meant for sprawling out in after a day of hitting the slopes hard! When we were there recently, the live music was a bit too loud for comfortable conversation, but overall, it is a great place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigSkyResort001, Public Relations Manager at Carabiner Lounge, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Your favorite place to hang in Big Sky... We are honored! Thanks so much for the great review. We really appreciate your business. Please join us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
237 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Live music and après ski brew specials daily”
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Live music and après ski brew specials daily ate grey excuses to visit Carabiner. The seating is cozy, the conversation is lively and views of the mountain are icing on the cake. The salmon salad is a refreshing way to end a full day at Big Sky resort.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank reppop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigSkyResort001, Public Relations Manager at Carabiner Lounge, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thanks for sharing your Carabiner experience with us. We love to hear from our guests and fans. Please join us again for après next time you are in Big Sky.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“perfect Apres-ski”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Fun atmosphere. Yummy drinks, tried the huckleberry martini - would definitely have again. Friendly staff. Comfortable seating.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank wintertraveler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigSkyResort001, Public Relations Manager at Carabiner Lounge, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
The huckleberry martini is one of our favorites as well! Happy to hear you enjoyed yourself. Please stop in and visit us again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carabiner Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Carabiner Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing