We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall very good. Nothing outstanding, but nothing bad either”

Buck's T-4 Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 75 Restaurants in Big Sky
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $32
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Kingsland, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Overall very good. Nothing outstanding, but nothing bad either”
Reviewed January 16, 2011

Cozy, woodsy feel. Fairly broad menu selection. Elk burger was good. Bison meatloaf sandwich was fine. IIRC the menu bragged about its fries but they weren't all that great. Decent selection of microbrews.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 606zpx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    503
    164
    47
    17
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bozeman
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Montana 5-Star”
Reviewed January 10, 2011

This restaurant is one of the best in MT. Rustic dining room, friendly and attentive service and excellent food. Don't miss this if you're in Big Sky or passing thru to Yellowstone Park. I had the tenderloin which was prepared perfectly, my husband had the elk medallions and he loved them and our friend had the tenderloin. We all agreed it was 5-star food.

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
Thank glacierhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tasty food, local cuisine.”
Reviewed January 4, 2011

When we arrived at 5:40pm, we were greeted and asked how they could help us. We indicated we would like to have dinner, and although there were only a couple of cars in the parking lot, the gentleman said, "well I can look to see if I can get you in"- the dining room opened at 6:00, and he said they had one spot open right at 6:00, or we could eat in the pub. We opted to eat in the pub.

Food was terrific. I had a grilled tuna wrap that was fantastic, and the fries had skins on them and were perfect-o! One of us had the Montana Wedge salad and loved it, two of us had the grilled chicken sandwhich which was also thumbs up! Kids menu was limited, but they were willing to bring her a side ceaser instead of fries, so that was nice.

Overall great food, but if you are looking for a spot in the dining room, you better make a reservation!!

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LakeCarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
docbigsky, Owner at Buck's T-4 Restaurant, responded to this review, January 6, 2011
Thanks so much for your kind words. I'm glad you enjoyed your experience in our Pub. One of our owners and several of our chefs and servers are from the Minneapolis area, so we're glad to know we're keeping the Minnesotans happy! We hand cut our fries daily from Montana russet potatoes, so it's nice to know it's appreciated. Thanks also for your feedback about our kids menu. We pride ourselves on being family-friendly, so I'd love to hear any suggestions you might have on improving our kids' selections.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing service, wonderful food”
Reviewed December 6, 2010

We arrived in the area before the official ski season. After reading the reviews, we decided to start our vacation at Buck's T-4. We made a reservation but it turned out to be unnecessary due to being off-season. The restaurant actually called us to let us know that the menu would be limited this week. How gracious!
We were greeted enthusiastically by our server, Jeanette, who gave us the limited pub menu and said the chef could also cook a steak for us since we had made advance reservations. Then she told us that if we came back and told the chef when we would be returning, he would be able to prepare anything we wanted off the main menu. Since we had heard such good things about their red deer, we arranged a time to go back.
The food we did have (fried chicken and beef tips with button mushrooms) were great: nice and hot, cooked just right. We tried some local beers and they were great, too.
We will be making our return trip tomorrow. If the deer (and duck) are as good as we expect, we may even go there again before we leave. This place is a gem.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ELResort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Compliments to the Chef!”
Reviewed November 25, 2010

Our dining experience at Buck's T4 Restaurant was simply sublime. The setting was cosy and lovely (a lovely fireplace and a log cabin feel) and the food was simply delicious and beautifully presented to boot. The bison melted in my mouth it was so good and the S'More dessert (twist on a favourite) was AMAZING! The chefs here (Chuck and Warren) are extremely good at what they do and clearly take great pride in their work. I was also impressed by the obvious ethical commitment to locally sourced, organic and sustainable foods. The wait staff had an excellent knowledge on this, and were also well-presented, friendly, helpful and generally great at their jobs. One other thing I should probably mention are the prices - we were shocked at how reasonable everything on the menu was!
Overall, our experience was fantastic and I would recommend this to anyone!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louisedf12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buck's T-4 Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Buck's T-4 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing