We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ski In Ski Out Cabin with Resort Amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Powder Ridge Cabins
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We just got back from a 5 night ski trip in Big Sky and found the Powder Ridge Cabins to be the perfect place for our group!

The cabins were a great combination of house rental with resort amenities.

Check in/ Check out was at the Summit Hotel and and we also had access to their pool and spa which was nice.

The cabin's ski in/ski out location was awesome and the home was well appointed with a great kitchen and living area plus 4 bedrooms and hot tub.

I would highly recommend the Powder Ridge Cabins for a ski focused getaway!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bmordski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
There are newer reviews for Powder Ridge Cabins
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 31 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2014

Me and a group of 11 stayed in cabin 126 for 4 nights for ski trip to Big Sky this March. All i can say is wow! This is by far the best accommodations I have ever had for a ski trip. Our cabin was truly ski in/ski out. We have very beginner level skiers in our group that had no problem getting in or out of the cabin. The cabin its self it amazing. Large bedrooms, great bathrooms, a fully stocked kitchen and a private hot tub. We really couldn't have asked for more. We booked to Big Sky Vacation Rentals and they were wonderful to work with. We ordered groceries from The Hungry Moose and they worked with Big Sky Vacation Rentals to have all of the groceries delivered prior to our arrival. Once we got there we were met by one of their representatives and given a walk through of the house and how to work everything. Everyone was completely satisfied with the cabin and we couldn't have been happier. There is a complimentary shuttle that we weren't able to use so I would say that a car is necessary.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luke J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Just returned yesterday from an amazing ski vacation at Big Sky. I went with my 3 teenage children, and we stayed a week at the powder ridge condos. First, the very good. Cabin was clean, amazing views, quiet and comfortable. Great master bed (those anyone beds are fantastic) and shower for 2. Hot tub was always hot...and clean. Service was usually excellent. When we got to the cabin many times from the kitchen were missing, the staff brought every single one...
Cabin is ski in and out. To ski out you have to ski down to the cabin lift, take it up, and ski down to the base. It's not that downhill from all the cabins, and took some effort. Also, the lift starts at 9am, making it impossible to start skiing until 9:30, which I did not like at all. The management needs to address this.
The cabin was fine, just don't expect ANYTHING not advertised. There wasn't a DVD, book or spice...it's clearly and investment, not a home. It was an ok size, but could have been roomier. Also, the kids bedrooms had zero light aside from a single lamp...it was DARK.
When we return to big sky, I would consider powder ridge again, but since I like to be on the first lift, I may try for a property at the base...

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keepingitanonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Four couples stayed in Powder Ridge Cabin #27 for 4 days in Feb. 2014. We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of furnishings, excellent property management company, size of the cabin (think large home) and the well furnished kitchen and top of the line appliances. It came furnished with some of the items you forget like dish soap, laundry supplies, coffee filters...we got large amounts of snow but someone was here the next morning plowing and shoveling the deck. We enjoyed the hot tub which was 3 ft outside the downstairs door.
It is ski in/ski out but skiing out takes a bit of work but is manageable. This cabin had nice thoughtful touches and we would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktkski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

one of the BEST ski in ski out cabins anywhere. We stayed at the powder ridge cabins with 4 bedrooms, nice living room, big kitchen, BBQ on deck and a great hot tub to soak away the day of skiing. we just walked out the back door and put on our skis and bingo we were at the white otter lift for a day of skiing. we would ski in for lunch also !! I really hate to give a great review cuz I sure would like to keep these cabin secret !!!!
you will enjoy the powder Ridge Cabins !!and Big Sky !!!

Room Tip: make sure you are right on the ski trail !!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skinnyskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Powder Ridge 105. A wonderful large well appointed log house. Two fireplaces ,ping pong ,fooseball,three master suites, hot tub, ski out right off the back deck . Comfortably furnished. Soap shampoo hair dryers washer/dryer , big soft towels. A very short drive to Big Sky Base. Amenities at the Huntley are included: fitness center/pool/hot tub. Had groceries pre- delivered by Hungry Moose just order online and $25 delivery fee. Great to arrive with a stocked kitchen! Great view of the Spanish Peaks mountain range. Great skiing but summer activities are nearby too: horseback riding/golf/hiking/fishing/spa/ kid activities/ less than one hour drive to Yellowstone Park!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MACVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This review is for Powder Ridge Cabin 1 (VRBO #414775) and Cabin 7 (VRBO #104703).

I tried to publish this same review to VRBO.com and they were rejected, which leads me to believe that they know about the negatives regarding the ski-in/ski-out I will mention below and just don't want them posted. I am NOT a fan of that.

My family (along with 3 other families) rented Powder Ridge cabins 1 and 7 from 12/31 - 1/5. The cabins themselves really are fantastic. We had 2 families in each cabin (7 in one and 8 in the other). Not a lot of extra room with that many people, but it didn't feel crowded either. The cabin was well maintained and clean. The private hot tub was nice after a long day of skiing. The cabins are very close to the base area which was nice for going to get our ski gear and lift tickets.

The real "negatives" relate to the nature of the ski-in/ski-out. The ski-out is especially tough if you are a beginner. We had a lot of beginners in our group and we knew we would have to walk 50 yards or so to access the trail that took us down to the lift. But once even on that trail, there are some uphill sections that we found the easiest way to navigate was to take off our skis off and walk. Total, we probably still didn't have to walk more than 75-100 yards, so it wasn't bad. But just be prepared for it. The ski back in is beautiful as it winds through the trees. There are a couple of flat spots but you can generally get up enough speed to make it through most of those once you know where they are. However, there is a rather short, steep hill right before you get to the cabins. You can go around it but that requires walking. A lot of the beginners in our group took their skis off and slid down it while we were there, which worked fine.

Overall, it was a great trip and this is a really nice play to stay - just be aware that the ski-in/ski-out isn't perfect and I think you'll enjoy it more.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Big Sky hotels
0.2 mi away
The Lodge at Big Sky
The Lodge at Big Sky
#2 of 9 in Big Sky
562 reviews
0.0 mi away
Big Sky Resort Village Center
0.1 mi away
The Summit At Big Sky
The Summit At Big Sky
#4 of 9 in Big Sky
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Huntley Lodge
Huntley Lodge
#6 of 9 in Big Sky
293 reviews
7.8 mi away
Buck's T-4 Lodge
Buck's T-4 Lodge
#3 of 9 in Big Sky
725 reviews
4.7 mi away
River Rock Lodge
River Rock Lodge
#7 of 9 in Big Sky
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Powder Ridge Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Powder Ridge Cabins

Address: 50 Big Sky Resort Road, Big Sky Resort, Big Sky, MT 59716
Location: United States > Montana > Big Sky
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Big Sky
Price Range: $548 - $801 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Powder Ridge Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 1000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These handcrafted cabins offer roomy floor plans, modern amenities, and old world charm. Located on the north end of the Mountain Village, you can access skiing via secluded trails and bridges. Enjoy cozy fireplaces, private outdoor hot tubs, and a kitchen all nested in the pines on the flanks of Lone Peak. The Powder Ridge Cabins are great for families and groups. Private vehicles required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Powder Ridge Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Powder Ridge Cabins Hotel Big Sky
Powder Ridge Cabins Big Sky, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing