We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Horn is great for the money!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Big Horn Condominiums at Big Sky
Ranked #19 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Big Sky
Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Big Horn is great for the money!”
Reviewed January 14, 2008

We had a great stay at Big Horn! I will say that it wasn't the nicest, fanciest place we've ever stayed, but it had everything we needed and the price was right. My wife and I are skiers. We don't "Apres Ski", we don't go to clubs, we eat at pizza/ hamburger restarants (not 5-star). Big Horn was perfect! we were on the hill early and we stayed until close everyday. There were 6 of us in the condo and we fit easily. This is our third year staying at Big Horn.

IT IS SKI-IN SKI-OUT! You just have to pay attention to the clock and make sure you take the correct trail (Silver Knife to Poma lift and the lift you have to take to ski home closes at 4:00). No, you don't ski right up to your door, but it's only about a 100 foot walk from the end of the run. The walk up to the village center and/or the parking area is much further.

The condo we were in had a well stocked kitchen, the couches were 10 years old (but so is the one in our house), the TV was OK and we had a DVD player. Linens and towels/ shampoo, etc. were well stocked. We needed help with the fireplace, and someone was there within a half hour.

We bought all of our food at Albertson's in Bozeman. We ate lunch and dinner in the condo on most days. We will be going back.

  • Liked — Location, value
  • Disliked — older / cheap furniture
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank wspsatisfied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    7
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
13
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Champlin, MN
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2007

We had 15 in our group, and were split between 3 units. The previous reviewer is correct - these units were built in 1996, and haven't been updated since then; at least ours appeared that way. Plenty of extra pillows, blankets and towels, and the kitchen was the best-stocked in kitchen wear that I've seen, even if the toaster only toasted one side of bread at a time!

Our unit had a fold-out couch that needed to be replaced, and there was no stereo at all, not even a radio! There was a VHS machine that looked like it was purchased at a dollar store, and the tv was adequate. But considering we were only there in the evening, this didn't present a problem for our group. There was a wood-burning fireplace, and the garage was stocked with plenty of firewood.

The poma lift is just up the road, and was running everyday we were there. I opted to walk up the hill, or take the shuttle to Moonlight Basin, which I feel is a superior hill. There is a lot of new construction (guess Boyne is trying to bring Big Sky into the 21st century, accomodations-wise) in the area, so being aware of traffic was of utmost importance during our walks up to the hill area.

My one concern with the units' management was the total lack of response to a call we placed regarding a problem with our garage door. The unit was poorly positioned (it was actually nailed to the wall, and pulling away, which could lead to injury). We called on Thursday, and when we left on Sunday morning, noone had come by to fix it.

All in all, it was an 'okay' condo, but we'll stay back at Moonlight Basin if we return. Big Sky as a whole is dated, and looks it.

  • Liked — Slept 6 comfortably
  • Disliked — Dated and needed updating, lack of response regarding maintenance
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bunkergurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ethanpj, Owner at Big Horn Condominiums at Big Sky, responded to this review, August 23, 2010
I just want to comment that each Big Horn is individually owned. That means depending on which unit you booked, you could be in a unit that hasn't been updated in a while (as you noted) or one that has been upgraded with 4 star amenities. You might have better luck getting an updated unit if you searched the vacation rental by owner websites or the vacation rentals section of TripAdvisor. If nothing else, these types of websites will show photos and list the specific amenities of each of their units. Note that only a handful of Big Horn owners rent on their own. Most owners rent using one of the resort management companies. If you want to rent directly from an owner, be aware that you must contact that owner. You can't rent directly from an owner on Expedia or Hotels.com or by calling Big Sky Central Reservations.
Concerning maintenance responsiveness, again that will be a function of who you choose to rent with. We rent our unit ourselves, but we have a local management company that is available 24/7 for emergency maintenance issues. We've never had a complaint from a guest about our management company's responsiveness.
I agree that Moonlight Basin has some great steep off piste skiing, but so does Big Sky and Big Sky has better blue and green runs (in my opinion). But, the great thing is you don't need to choose. Just get the Biggest Skiing in America lift ticket and ski both places.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2007

The condo was obviously built in the late nineties and has not been updated since. It was clean and did manage to accommodate us so that we had a great stay nonetheless. It was listed as ski-in, ski-out but that was a complete misnomer! The poma lift that we had to walk up and across the street to get to was closed for the first few days of our trip. To ski back we had to use the street and hope they hadn't gravelled. In the end, we drove to the village. I would consider another lodging if I were to plan another trip to Big Sky. Remember the old moniker: You get what you pay for.

We were able to get an amazing rate on a brand new minivan (we were the first to drive it) by mentioning a BJ's wholesale club membership when booking. That enabled us to purchase groceries at the Albertson's Grocery in Bozeman on the way to Big Sky. Big Savings! There is a liquor store next door, but they close at 7pm. Albertson's is open 24 hours. We saved $50 from our $200 bill with a Preferred Customer Card. You may apply for one there if you don't already have one. Speaking of food, I must say that the condo was more than adequately stocked with kitchen items. There were also plenty of sheets and extra pillows. We did find a great game called "Mid-Life Crisis" that kept us entertained for several hours.

Also, a trip to Yellowstone is an absolute must! I was advised by a local to avoid the snowmobile and opt for the snowcoach. That was the best advice! It was amazing!!! I also suggest spending some time in Bozeman. It is a neat town that offers the shops and boutiques that Big Sky lacks. The Museum of the Rockies is a nice treat for budding paleontologists!

Have a great time!

  • Liked — The people in it
  • Disliked — The lack of amenities
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay somewhere else
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank thebestforless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ethanpj, Owner at Big Horn Condominiums at Big Sky, responded to this review, August 23, 2010
Big Horn is ski in ski out, but it isn't slopeside ski in ski out. The closest unit to the poma lift is about 20 yards, but you do have to walk across the road to reach it. The reality is most ski in ski out properties in Big Sky require a little bit of walking to make it from the front door to a lift. Before we bought a Big Horn, we stayed at the slopeside Shoshone condos for years. But, even though the Shoshone was located at the base area, we still had to walk a couple hundred yards to make it from the condo to the lifts. At Big Horn, we are located off the lake so we have about a hundred yard walk to the lift. We can go from our living room to sitting on the Swift Current high speed quad in about 10 minutes.

When the Poma lift is out of service (which rarely ever happens), the other options for reaching the lifts are as follows:
1) Take the free shuttle to the base area which is about 1/4 mile away (or you could walk to the base area)
2) Drive to the free skier parking lot
3) Ski down Low Dog road (if the road is snow covered) to the Thunder Wolf high speed quad

Even if the Poma is out of service, that should not prevent someone from skiing back to Big Horn. However, take note that skiing back is by the intermediate Silver Knife run.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Big Sky hotels
3.3 mi away
The Lodge at Big Sky
The Lodge at Big Sky
#1 of 13 in Big Sky
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
4.5 mi away
Buck's T-4 Lodge
Buck's T-4 Lodge
#2 of 13 in Big Sky
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Summit At Big Sky
The Summit At Big Sky
#4 of 13 in Big Sky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Huntley Lodge
Huntley Lodge
#8 of 13 in Big Sky
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
1.5 mi away
River Rock Lodge
River Rock Lodge
#7 of 13 in Big Sky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
3.3 mi away
Big Sky Resort Village Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Horn Condominiums at Big Sky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Horn Condominiums at Big Sky

Property: Big Horn Condominiums at Big Sky
Address: 1 Lone Mountain Trl, Montana, Big Sky, MT 59716-2000
Location: United States > Montana > Big Sky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Big Sky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Big Horn Condominiums at Big Sky 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big Horn Condominiums are truly a home away from home. Less than 1/4 mile from the Plaza and mere seconds away from the Bear Back Poma Lift, these units are spacious, well planned, and especially comfortable for groups and families. Enjoy views of Lake Levinsky and Lone Mountain. Big Horn offers one to three bedroom townhouse style units, fireplace, deck, full kitchen, washer/dryer, cable/satellite and DVD. High speed internet and/or hot tubs in some units. Units without hot tubs may be able to use the resort shared hot tub, pool and workout facility. Units are ski in ski out. Unit have attached one car heated garage. Extra parking available outside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Big Horn Condominiums at Big Sky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Horn Condominiums At Big Sky Hotel Big Sky
Big Horn Condominiums At Big Sky Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing