We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Big Horn Condominiums at Big Sky
Nearby Hotels
River Rock Lodge(Big Sky)(Great Value!)
$180
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lodge at Big Sky(Big Sky)(Great Value!)
$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Buck's T-4 Lodge(Big Sky)(Great Value!)
$1,018
$229
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lone Mountain Ranch(Big Sky)(Great Value!)
$375
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Huntley Lodge(Big Sky)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveler rating
9
8
5
5
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
8
5
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspoma liftgranite countertopsdvd playershort walkbunk bedsown bathroommain liftshot tubstayed nightsenjoyed our stayski triphuntley lodgetvwoodbearsummitsky
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 31 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Our family of 5 stayed in a 3 bedroom, 3 bath Big Horn condo at Big Sky over the last weekend in August. We were there for a dirt bike race. This condo was very spacious and tastefully decorated. It was large enough for a bigger group (like another couple or small family). Location is also great.
We rented it as a "Big Sky Hot Deal" so the rate was reasonable. Not sure if I would stay there for full price.

Room Tip: Look frequently on the Big Sky web site for
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

A few friends and I rented a condo for a long weekend and had an overall positive experience at Big Horn.

PROS:
1. Location - we were steps away from the poma lift which, once you get to the top, leads you to a quick run down to the base of the main mountain. It's also within walking distance of the base where there are a few restaurants and apres-ski options.
2. Size - we got a 2 bedroom condo with 2 bathrooms and a pull out couch. We fit 3 couples and one person on the pull out couch, which was a little crowded but not an issue since we weren't in the condo that much.
3. Hot tub!
4. Washer/dryer and everything you need in the kitchen to eat in the unit if you want to.

CONS:
1. The poma lift that you have to take to get to the mountain is really annoying, especially if you are a snowboarder.
2. The beds were pretty hard. The most comfy one was actually the blow-up mattress!
3. There weren't many instructions left in the unit about what we should do when we left. It didn't say if we should load the dishwasher or put towels/sheets in the laundry. It would have been helpful knowing what we were supposed to do rather than guess.
4. The note that the company left for us said that if we couldn't return the keys to the rental office before leaving that we should just call before we go. When we called, the woman gave us attitude about leaving the keys and said that it would be a problem for the maids to get the keys back to the office in time for the new guests arriving that afternoon. We wouldn't have minded bringing the keys over but the letter said we didn't have to and the person we spoke to was giving us a hard time even though the instructions implied that we would be able to leave the keys without a problem!

Overall though, this place was great. The price is a little steep but that's to be expected for ski-in ski-out digs. Big Sky was amazing and we had a great time!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mgott26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

Our stay was a mixed bag with great skiing but sub-par accommodations. These condos are privately owned so unless you rent a unit you are familiar with you risk being put in a 'dog' of a unit as we were. We stayed in unit 50 for a week but it seemed longer. The bed spread was covered with dog hair, the furniture wasn't fit for sale at a Salvation Army Store and the artwork consisted of about 40 family photos and adorned almost every wall. The rooms are spacious but that's about the only thing we liked. Others is our group of 40 did much better so I'd stay again, just not in this unit. As for the Big Horn Condos themselves, I really would like to see better shuttle service and an on site hot tub.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sm1bc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ethanpj, Owner at Big Horn Condominiums at Big Sky, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2011

Yes, each unit is individually owned and furnishings and amenities between units will vary. For example, my unit has 4 HDTV's, a computer, WiFi, Playstation 3 and gets very good reviews. Most units are rented through the resort. It sounds like that's what your group did. About 10 units plus or minus rent directly from the owner. I offer two suggestions. First is to file a complaint with the resort management. I sent your TripAdvisor review to them, but it would be better coming directly from you. Second, you might want to consider renting directly from the owner in the future. At least that way you'll get to see photos of the exact unit you'll be staying in along with the exact amenities in that unit. Unfortunately, TripAdvisor rules prohibit me from including website links in responses, so I can only suggest to Google rental by owner in Big Sky.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2011

This is a 3 bedroom, 3 bath condo and there were 6 adults. The unit is tired and worn- all furniture, appliances, tableware, and electronics are very dated. Our king sized bed had collapsed in the middle. Upon examination, we found that the frame had broken and they had tried to fix it by inserting a screw driver in place of the bolts but this was inadequate to keep the mattress supported. We were able to fix it temporarily by inserting kitchen utensils in place of the broken bolts. Maintenance finally showed up and said they would look for a new frame but we never heard another word. The mattress itself was at least 20 years old and had almost totally deteriorated. There is no WIFI. There is only a 30 gal hot water heater (not nearly sufficient for six people) so showers had to be scheduled to allow for hot water recovery. Shower curtain was dirty and moldy. This was called into housekeeping but was never addressed. The carpet and flooring were not adequately cleaned. It is convenient to the poma but is technically not ski-in ski-out. These accommodations were certainly not worth was was paid,

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skiandbike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ethanpj, Owner at Big Horn Condominiums at Big Sky, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2011

Just a reminder that each unit is individually owned. Many owners have very nice furnishings, WiFi, HDTVs, etc. I own unit 49 and I get excellent reviews. You might have better luck next time by doing rental-by-owner. You’ll be able to see photos of the exact unit you will be getting as well as the amenities list. It sounds like you booked your trip through the resort as opposed to rental-by-owner. If so, I urge you to file a complaint with resort management. I have sent your review to them, but it has a greater impact coming directly from the guest. Unfortunately, TripAdvisor rules prohibit me from including links to rental-by-owner websites in my response, so all I can suggest is to Google it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2010

Last February we stayed 7 nights at Big Horn #29. We were with a group of friends and everyone was very well accommodated in this large condo; Big Horn 29 www.vrbo.com/186485 We were there to ski, but also took advantage of a day drive into Yellowstone National Park. It was great, we spotted a lot of buffalo and got some great photos. The following day we drove back down to West Yellowstone to go snowmobiling. We had great snow all week, which made it convenient to ski-in to the condo for lunch. We enjoy finding our vacation rentals using VRBO because we can communicate with the owner and find out what's in the condo upon arrival; laundry soap, paper towels, aluminum foil, etc. And we can see photos of the condo and determine our bedding plan ahead of time; helpful when you're with a large group. We could tell that the owner take very good care of this condo, we noticed many of the nice upgrades, such as new lighting fixtures and log bedding accents. There are many great restaurants within walking distance, but we chose to eat-in most of the time. The kitchen had everything we needed. I would highly recommend this condo for a ski vacation.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisJohnson2300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews