We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really comfortable & great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Big Horn Condominiums at Big Sky
Ranked #15 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Big Sky
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Our family of 5 stayed in a 3 bedroom, 3 bath Big Horn condo at Big Sky over the last weekend in August. We were there for a dirt bike race. This condo was very spacious and tastefully decorated. It was large enough for a bigger group (like another couple or small family). Location is also great.
We rented it as a "Big Sky Hot Deal" so the rate was reasonable. Not sure if I would stay there for full price.

Room Tip: Look frequently on the Big Sky web site for
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 27 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2011

A few friends and I rented a condo for a long weekend and had an overall positive experience at Big Horn.

PROS:
1. Location - we were steps away from the poma lift which, once you get to the top, leads you to a quick run down to the base of the main mountain. It's also within walking distance of the base where there are a few restaurants and apres-ski options.
2. Size - we got a 2 bedroom condo with 2 bathrooms and a pull out couch. We fit 3 couples and one person on the pull out couch, which was a little crowded but not an issue since we weren't in the condo that much.
3. Hot tub!
4. Washer/dryer and everything you need in the kitchen to eat in the unit if you want to.

CONS:
1. The poma lift that you have to take to get to the mountain is really annoying, especially if you are a snowboarder.
2. The beds were pretty hard. The most comfy one was actually the blow-up mattress!
3. There weren't many instructions left in the unit about what we should do when we left. It didn't say if we should load the dishwasher or put towels/sheets in the laundry. It would have been helpful knowing what we were supposed to do rather than guess.
4. The note that the company left for us said that if we couldn't return the keys to the rental office before leaving that we should just call before we go. When we called, the woman gave us attitude about leaving the keys and said that it would be a problem for the maids to get the keys back to the office in time for the new guests arriving that afternoon. We wouldn't have minded bringing the keys over but the letter said we didn't have to and the person we spoke to was giving us a hard time even though the instructions implied that we would be able to leave the keys without a problem!

Overall though, this place was great. The price is a little steep but that's to be expected for ski-in ski-out digs. Big Sky was amazing and we had a great time!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mgott26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

Our stay was a mixed bag with great skiing but sub-par accommodations. These condos are privately owned so unless you rent a unit you are familiar with you risk being put in a 'dog' of a unit as we were. We stayed in unit 50 for a week but it seemed longer. The bed spread was covered with dog hair, the furniture wasn't fit for sale at a Salvation Army Store and the artwork consisted of about 40 family photos and adorned almost every wall. The rooms are spacious but that's about the only thing we liked. Others is our group of 40 did much better so I'd stay again, just not in this unit. As for the Big Horn Condos themselves, I really would like to see better shuttle service and an on site hot tub.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sm1bc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ethanpj, Owner at Big Horn Condominiums at Big Sky, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2011

Yes, each unit is individually owned and furnishings and amenities between units will vary. For example, my unit has 4 HDTV's, a computer, WiFi, Playstation 3 and gets very good reviews. Most units are rented through the resort. It sounds like that's what your group did. About 10 units plus or minus rent directly from the owner. I offer two suggestions. First is to file a complaint with the resort management. I sent your TripAdvisor review to them, but it would be better coming directly from you. Second, you might want to consider renting directly from the owner in the future. At least that way you'll get to see photos of the exact unit you'll be staying in along with the exact amenities in that unit. Unfortunately, TripAdvisor rules prohibit me from including website links in responses, so I can only suggest to Google rental by owner in Big Sky.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2011

This is a 3 bedroom, 3 bath condo and there were 6 adults. The unit is tired and worn- all furniture, appliances, tableware, and electronics are very dated. Our king sized bed had collapsed in the middle. Upon examination, we found that the frame had broken and they had tried to fix it by inserting a screw driver in place of the bolts but this was inadequate to keep the mattress supported. We were able to fix it temporarily by inserting kitchen utensils in place of the broken bolts. Maintenance finally showed up and said they would look for a new frame but we never heard another word. The mattress itself was at least 20 years old and had almost totally deteriorated. There is no WIFI. There is only a 30 gal hot water heater (not nearly sufficient for six people) so showers had to be scheduled to allow for hot water recovery. Shower curtain was dirty and moldy. This was called into housekeeping but was never addressed. The carpet and flooring were not adequately cleaned. It is convenient to the poma but is technically not ski-in ski-out. These accommodations were certainly not worth was was paid,

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skiandbike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ethanpj, Owner at Big Horn Condominiums at Big Sky, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2011

Just a reminder that each unit is individually owned. Many owners have very nice furnishings, WiFi, HDTVs, etc. I own unit 49 and I get excellent reviews. You might have better luck next time by doing rental-by-owner. You’ll be able to see photos of the exact unit you will be getting as well as the amenities list. It sounds like you booked your trip through the resort as opposed to rental-by-owner. If so, I urge you to file a complaint with resort management. I have sent your review to them, but it has a greater impact coming directly from the guest. Unfortunately, TripAdvisor rules prohibit me from including links to rental-by-owner websites in my response, so all I can suggest is to Google it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2010

Last February we stayed 7 nights at Big Horn #29. We were with a group of friends and everyone was very well accommodated in this large condo; Big Horn 29 www.vrbo.com/186485 We were there to ski, but also took advantage of a day drive into Yellowstone National Park. It was great, we spotted a lot of buffalo and got some great photos. The following day we drove back down to West Yellowstone to go snowmobiling. We had great snow all week, which made it convenient to ski-in to the condo for lunch. We enjoy finding our vacation rentals using VRBO because we can communicate with the owner and find out what's in the condo upon arrival; laundry soap, paper towels, aluminum foil, etc. And we can see photos of the condo and determine our bedding plan ahead of time; helpful when you're with a large group. We could tell that the owner take very good care of this condo, we noticed many of the nice upgrades, such as new lighting fixtures and log bedding accents. There are many great restaurants within walking distance, but we chose to eat-in most of the time. The kitchen had everything we needed. I would highly recommend this condo for a ski vacation.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisJohnson2300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2009

We spent 5 nights over New Years (Monday-Saturday) at Big Horn and loved it. We booked through Big Sky's central reservations in ealy December, we were initally looking at smaller options, but they offered a special rate for the Big Horn condos, early/late season pricing during the peak holiday season. The deal amounted to 40% off holiday rates.

Pros-
Size, these condos are large 3 bedroom/3 bath units. The main floor has a kitchen with a bar, great room with flat screen TV and table for 6. Also on the main floor is a large bedroom with an attached (hollywood style) bathroom, and laundry in the closet. THe ceilings above the great room and kitchen are all vaulted. Upstairs are two bedrooms, one, what I'd consider the master had a queen bed, big walk-in closet and a master bath. The third bedroom was also upstairs and it had two twin beds (perfect for our 3 and 6 year old boys) and thier own bathroom.
Storage- We could have easily packed for a month and had plenty of room in the various closets and dressers. The biggest hit was using the closets and space ships and forts.
Location- For me an advanced skier it was a piece of cake using the poma, but my kids and wife didn't like it so took advantage of the on call shuttle (me). I'd load them in the car, drive the one minute to the base area and drop them off. Then I'd drive the car back and take the 100 foot walk to the poma and meet them at the ski school. It worked well for our family. Is it too far to walk to the base. For most adults, no. Our family did it every night and it only took us 5 minutes.
Garage- Each unit has an attached single stall garage. It's at tight fit for most mid-size and large SUVs, but its heated and keeps the constant snow off the windows.

Cons-
Decor, our condo looks like it had been partially redecorated. The kitchen had newer granite tile countertops and a nice sink, but the other appliances were showing their age. The stove was adequate at best, and the microwave didn't have a turntable so our popcorn burned everytime. These condos were built in the mid 90's and are due for some updating. Nothing was gross, but everything was noticable worn.
Pantry, I guess this is my fault for not asking, but I assumed that there would be some basic staples, i.e. oil, sugar, salt, peper, paper towels. ect.. THere was nothing. We shopped at Rousers in Bozeman and needed to run to the Hungery Moose for the staples.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay. You check in and out at the Summit and we were able to purchase our lift tickets there, avoided the line at the ticket window. IMO, you can't beat Big Sky for skiing. The terrain is great for all abilities and the snow has been very good over the last couple of years. We used the Lone Peak Playhouse for our 3 year old. He'd stay there in the morning, and do a lesson, while our 6 year old took a morning mini-camp lesson. That gave mom and dad some time to enjoy the mountain without the kids. Our 3 year old is a daycare child, but we were still worried how he'd adjust to the payhouse. No worries, it was bye mom and dad and zoom into the room.

If anyone has any questions on Big Horn or Big Sky in general please PM me.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roper1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2008

We had a great stay at Big Horn! I will say that it wasn't the nicest, fanciest place we've ever stayed, but it had everything we needed and the price was right. My wife and I are skiers. We don't "Apres Ski", we don't go to clubs, we eat at pizza/ hamburger restarants (not 5-star). Big Horn was perfect! we were on the hill early and we stayed until close everyday. There were 6 of us in the condo and we fit easily. This is our third year staying at Big Horn.

IT IS SKI-IN SKI-OUT! You just have to pay attention to the clock and make sure you take the correct trail (Silver Knife to Poma lift and the lift you have to take to ski home closes at 4:00). No, you don't ski right up to your door, but it's only about a 100 foot walk from the end of the run. The walk up to the village center and/or the parking area is much further.

The condo we were in had a well stocked kitchen, the couches were 10 years old (but so is the one in our house), the TV was OK and we had a DVD player. Linens and towels/ shampoo, etc. were well stocked. We needed help with the fireplace, and someone was there within a half hour.

We bought all of our food at Albertson's in Bozeman. We ate lunch and dinner in the condo on most days. We will be going back.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank wspsatisfied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Big Sky hotels
7.3 mi away
The Summit At Big Sky
The Summit At Big Sky
#4 of 9 in Big Sky
252 reviews
7.3 mi away
Big Sky Resort Village Center
1.4 mi away
Buck's T-4 Lodge
Buck's T-4 Lodge
#1 of 9 in Big Sky
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Lodge at Big Sky
The Lodge at Big Sky
#2 of 9 in Big Sky
564 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alpenglow Condominiums
Alpenglow Condominiums
#8 of 9 in Big Sky
11 reviews
7.2 mi away
Shoshone Condominium at Big Sky Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Horn Condominiums at Big Sky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Horn Condominiums at Big Sky

Address: 1 Lone Mountain Trl, Montana, Big Sky, MT 59716-2000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Big Sky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Big Sky
Price Range: $217 - $513 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Big Horn Condominiums at Big Sky 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big Horn Condominiums are truly a home away from home. Less than 1/4 mile from the Plaza and mere seconds away from the Bear Back Poma Lift, these units are spacious, well planned, and especially comfortable for groups and families. Enjoy views of Lake Levinsky and Lone Mountain. Big Horn offers one to three bedroom townhouse style units, fireplace, deck, full kitchen, washer/dryer, cable/satellite and DVD. High speed internet and/or hot tubs in some units. Units without hot tubs may be able to use the resort shared hot tub, pool and workout facility. Units are ski in ski out. Unit have attached one car heated garage. Extra parking available outside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Big Horn Condominiums at Big Sky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Horn Condominiums At Big Sky Hotel Big Sky
Big Horn Condominiums At Big Sky Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing