We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The PERFECT Mountain Cabin”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Big Sky, Montana

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
allisonde...
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“The PERFECT Mountain Cabin”
Reviewed August 15, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The Cowboy Heaven Cabin 15 Derringer was absolutely perfect and exceeded our expectations! The views are incredible and the cabin has everything you could ever need. The cabin is beautifully decorated and very clean. The staff at Big Sky Vacations Rentals were incredibly helpful – not only in securing the perfect cabin for our needs but also in making recommendations on local restaurants and other things to do in the area. When we arrived late at night, someone had turned on a couple of lights and our favorite music and cracked the windows. Their attention to detail was impressive! We wanted a place we could watch the Perseids meteorite shower and it was just amazing looking out over the mountains at night from the back porch and the hot tub. There was a fox that came by each evening and also deer in the mornings. The cabin has a cozy atmosphere. The kitchen is wonderful and well-stocked with anything you could ever need. The master bedroom has a memory foam bed which was quite comfortable. The cabin is very convenient to get to and all the attractions are nearby. We didn’t want to leave and when we return to Big Sky we will definitely request this cabin again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views of the mountain
Liked least: The lighting coming from the next-door cabin complicating night photos
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 17, 2016
Thank you for staying with us in Cowboy Heaven 15 Derringer. We enjoy sharing our local knowledge of the area along with our favorite dining experiences. We hope your group enjoyed these recommendations! So glad you could experience the magic of the "big sky" of Montana! We look forward to hosting you again, thanks for a great experience!
-Big Sky Vacation Rentals Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi S
Minneapolis, MN
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exactly what we needed to relax!”
Reviewed June 19, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed at Cowboy Heaven 15 Derringer. When we arrived at the property, someone had recently been there to open the windows, turn on a couple of lights and music. It was super welcoming, in addition someone from the rental company visited within one hour of our arrival to make sure we had everything we needed...and we did! The property was very well-stocked, we had everything we needed, like laundry detergent, extra paper products, and other things that are sometimes lacking in a VRBO. This place was well-taken care of and VERY clean, and we totally loved using the awesome hot tub that looked out onto the mountains. We'd love to come back to Cowboy Heaven!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adoc4kids
Coral Springs, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cowboy Heaven Derringer”
Reviewed March 26, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Wow! What an incredible cabin. Location A+, decor and cleanliness A+, staff A+, value A+. We'll definitely be back and would hope to stay in this exact cabin. Once I've been spoiled with slope-side skiing I could never stay in a regular condo again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
millismum
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best cabin I've stayed in”
Reviewed January 19, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

I've stayed in 4 cabins in the Cowboy Heaven part of Moonlight Basin and this one is by far the best in terms of level of fixtures and amenities. It was beautifully renovated a few years ago and they have maintained it well. I WILL stay here again!

Having said that, it doesn't have the greatest ski run access of all the cabins. Yes, they do groom direct to he front door but it is a cat-track. Easy to get out of (unless you are a total beginner...then it is a little scary as it's a bit steep for 100 metres or so). Coming home it is a steep uphill. I am an advanced skier and rarely make it to the top without having to skate uphill a bit. Not a huge issue but good to know about in advance. Some of the other cabins are directly on the powder river run and have much better ski access. Don't get me wrong..you can still ski directly to and from your deck...it's just not super easy as it is at some of the other cabins.

Another thing I feel the need to warn about is the main bedroom bed. It is memory foam. I know this doesn't suit everyone so it's good to know in advance. The second bedroom bed is a standard box spring but very bouncy.

On the positive side there is a steam shower and boot dryers which is fantastic (and the only cabin I've stayed in with these luxuries). Big Sky Vacation Rentals are also great to deal with as well and can't do enough to help. A real bonus (some of the other agencies I've dealt with have been challenging). Thanks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location in Moonlight Basin
Liked least: Probably the beds. Both are a tad uncomfortable but that's a personal thing.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 27, 2016
Millismum,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post such helpful feedback. I agree that this is the MOST upgraded and beautiful Cowboy Heaven Cabin and the views are to die for!! Thank you for pointing out the special features like the steam shower and the boot dryers. The full kitchen (large appliances vs. the normal little ones) makes cooking a breeze too. I know beds are such a personal choice....hard to find the perfect fit for everyone, but the mattresses are high-end and chosen by the designer who decorated the cabin. So glad to hear you found our staff great to work with and helpful! This means alot to us!
Hope you will be back in the future.
Best,
Kirsten King, Owner, Big Sky Vacation Rentals
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrazyBoat...
Sarasota, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Luxurious Log Cabin”
Reviewed January 4, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

All the Cowboy Heaven cabins are in a great location and have excellent ski access. But this cabin really is in a class of its own because it has been 100% remodeled. Just look at the pictures. The appliances, furniture, and cabinets are all top notch. While these cabins are small, all the built-in cabinets provide plenty of storage space. Add in little touches like boot warmers and a steam shower, and you have the perfect log cabin.

The staff at Big Sky Vacation Rentals is also excellent. They take the time to work with you to ensure that the property you're renting matches your needs. They even brought out an extra stool so our party of 5 could all sit at the island table.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 13, 2016
CrazyBoater,
Thank you so much for your amazing review of the cabin. We couldn't agree more that this is a very special cabin with upgrades you won't find anywhere else! Our team strives to create the perfect vacation experience so we are thrilled you found them to be friendly and helpful.
Hope to see you again soon!
Best,
Kirsten King, Owner, Big Sky Vacation Rentals
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewed February 3, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NH
Reviewed March 25, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 25, 2013
Steve,
Thank you for your insights on this cabin. The views are my favorite part too. Spectacular! We are glad you enjoyed all the updates and luxury finishes that the property has to offer. I contacted the owner to see if we could provide a bit more storage for guests too. Thank you and hope to see you again next year!
The Big Sky Vacation Rentals Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing