We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent big city pizza in Big Sky”

Ousel & Spur Pizza Co.
Ranked #12 of 72 Restaurants in Big Sky
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Rustic Italian pizza and dishes from local farms served up with some Montana hospitality! Gluten free and vegetarian options available.
Helena, Montana
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“excellent big city pizza in Big Sky”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Best pizza in Montana! Terrific little new addition to Big Sky for skiers and locals alike. The pizza is excellent and they offer unique wines, not found in Montana.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank PattersonBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna H, Public Relations Manager at Ousel & Spur Pizza Co., responded to this review, October 30, 2015
We opened Ousel & Spur for that exact reason: To bring world flavor to our little mountain town. Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    47
    9
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
237 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Pre-movie dining perfection”
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed first time dining at Ousel & Spur Pizza. Conveniently located right next door to the amazing movie theater in Town Center. Recommend the mozzarella appetizer (wow!) and the flavorful pasta offerings. Great value and kind service. Look forward to returning again soon!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank reppop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna H, Public Relations Manager at Ousel & Spur Pizza Co., responded to this review, October 30, 2015
Always love the dinner and a movie crowd. Glad you enjoyed your dinner & we hope your enjoyed your movie too. Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Go with the pizza”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

After several trips to Ousel & Spur, my husband and I have never had anything but excellent pizza. Last time we branched out and ordered the Mac & Cheese with Pork Belly & Kale, Spaghetti & Meatballs, and an arugula salad, along with a pizza. While the pie was outstanding as usual, the rest of the food was disappionting. The mac & cheese had a watery, bland sauce and very little pork or kale. The spaghetti & meatballs was also lacking sauce and the meatballs had little flavor. The arugula salad was not much more than greens with hardly any of the other ingredients or dressing. I would recommend this place to anyone but stick with what they do best-pizza.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank belle007Montana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna H, Public Relations Manager at Ousel & Spur Pizza Co., responded to this review, October 30, 2015
Pizza’s in our name and it’s what we love. Thank you for your feedback on our pasta dishes. We value your feedback. Come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringgold, Georgia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Meal of the Trip”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We have been to Big Sky several times, but this was the first time we have eaten at this restaurant. It was absolutely wonderful. It is a very small restaurant and the wait staff was very attentive (the owner waited on us). They offer MUCH more that pizza. They had a selection of Antipasta that we really enjoyed. The pasta was very good and the desserts were to die for. We will certainly go back the next time we are in Big Sky.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank SVHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna H, Public Relations Manager at Ousel & Spur Pizza Co., responded to this review, October 30, 2015
Thank you for your glowing recommendation! We love pizza and are happy to share that with you. Come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle Area
Level Contributor
200 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Needs polish”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We ate here on a busy night. Now this is usually a big mistake, as Big Sky is quite overwhelmed at times and not ready for the "crowds". Maybe things are more relaxed and better paced when the customer load is more "normal".

The big criticism is the pacing of the dinner. After we ordered, the salads came on time. Then came the wait. As we were busy talking with another couple, it was not bothersome. However, one pizza arrived, and the second failed to appear for over 20 minutes. This is a rank amateur mistake, and no fault of the server. Now management/ownership did do the right thing, sent the server over and told us that the pizza was on the house for the problem. I hope this is only indicative of the stress in the kitchen of unexpected crowds .

The only other complaint would be about the salads. They are overpriced and boring. Don't order the greens in any version. I know this is Montana in the winter, but other restaurants seem to find a way to deliver a quality salad, albeit at Manhattan prices. Maybe the other appetizers are better, and I suppose we should have taken the suggestions of the server to get something else before the pizza.

I really want to like the place. The pizza is better than the other offerings here. I wish them good luck.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 2Journeyfolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna H, Public Relations Manager at Ousel & Spur Pizza Co., responded to this review, October 30, 2015
Thank you for your feedback. A lot has changed and we hope you’ve been back to try our new menu items. We value your feedback and appreciate every word.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ousel & Spur Pizza Co. also viewed

 

Been to Ousel & Spur Pizza Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing