We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly helpful staff”

East Slope Outdoors
Ranked #7 of 9 Tours in Big Sky
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: For Big Sky ski rentals, Big Sky fly fishing, and outdoor gear we have the best gear and best guides for the best prices - since 1986. Full retail outdoor shop. Year-round fly fishing outfitter. Ski and snowboard rentals. Friendly, fun, enthusiastic, down-to-earth, knowledgeable staff. Your one stop shop for skiing, ski tuning, boot fitting, fly fishing, hiking, nature, outdoors, and exploring Southwest Montana, Greater Yellowstone, Big Sky, Bozeman, and more.Our mission is to provide our customers with high quality gear, local expertise, and friendly enthusiasm about the outdoors. We want you to leave our shop more knowledgeable, prepared, excited and happier than when you walked in.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredibly helpful staff”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We just returned from a family trip to Big Sky and the folks at East Slope Outdoors were so helpful I had to write a review (1st time). We're novices, and on our first day we rented boots and skis at the resort. We had a few problems with the equipment, including uncomfortable boots for 2 of us. A friend recommended ESO. Not only was their pricing the best, they took the time with each of us to make sure things fit, showed us exactly what should be in the boot and not in the boot and had an incredible selection of skis, boots and helmets. Their staff made us feel very comfortable. As if that wasn't enough, they told us if we didn't use the skis every day that on the honor system they would reimburse us the day's rental charge. Who does that? When we returned our equipment they refunded us one day as promised. Go to East Slope Outdoors.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank swonder123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Dakota
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Won't go any place else in Big Sky!”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Our family has been renting skis from ESO for the past five years. After our first experience at ESO we decided to purchase ski boots from ESO. Love them! Dave and his team provide top notch service, equipment and now have expanded retail space that is down right awesome. We have also gone on a fly fishing outing with Spencer from ESO as our guide. It was awesome! Can't wait to do it again!
This year, due to health issues, a couple of our party was not able to ski the planned 4 days. ESO allowed us to receive a store credit or credit for the days we were not able to ski upon our return of our rental. This was totally not expected, but greatly appreciated.
Dave and his Team at ESO is the BEST! I

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank gabbab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest city
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding Rentals and Retail Shop”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Visited over the Christmas and New Year's holiday 2013-2014 and this was the best ski rental experience we've had in 5 years at Big Sky. We didn't even know they were in Big Sky until this great new location. Great spot near the movie theatre and grocery.
Price is BEST in Big Sky, and we think all the locals seem knowledgeable and happy to help. Great retail clothing, snagged some great deals on 2 racks of winter clothing up in December. Score! Even though most in our family own skis, we will consider renting here instead of hauling 4 sets of skis - the prices go down for 5+ days of equipment rental and returns were very quick. Highly recommend this locally-owned and newly-located ESO.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travelhound28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best rental experience ever”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We have rented skis and outdoor equipment from a number of places and this is among the best rental experiences we have ever had. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable, the prices were excellent and the service was first class.
When they closed the mountain due to high winds the staff was more than willing to refund or extend our rental at our choice.
I would highly recommend East Slope Outdoors for any outdoor equipment rental in the Big Sky area.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank marty m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Shores, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“New Shop”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Wow! Same friendly helpful people but in a better location. The best place to rent skis and snow boards in the winter and fishing in the summer

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tomoc31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to East Slope Outdoors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing