We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous place to ski!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moonlight Basin

Moonlight Basin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Moonlight Basin is a ski-in, ski-out community at the base of Lone Peak, with direct access to vast public land areas including the Lee Metcalf Wilderness. Moonlight Basin includes extensive acreage for skiing, hiking and mountain bike trails, a Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course, lakeside amenities at Ulrey’s Lake, Glamping ammenites, Camp Moonlight for children during summer, and many other guided outdoor activities.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous place to ski!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We rented a slopeside condo, and were amazed at how great Moonlight was! No lift lines at all!!! Lift ticket pricing is great!!! The terrain is great for all levels - and my kids enjoyed the tree skiing! It is so peaceful and quiet I felt like I was at a private resort. Every staff member I encountered was friendly, and polite. The Lodge is a great place to stop and have a cocktail after a long day on the slopes - the Moscow Mules are great and the decor is beautiful. Both my girls (11 and 9) took lessons and their instructors Duke and Ben were amazing! I would highly recommend putting your kids in ski school - their instructors are great. We will definetly be going back. Thanks to Moonlight Basin for keeping it real, and amazing!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheGoodsPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    18
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
137 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We skied Moonlight Basin as part of a trip that also included Big Sky, Grand Targhee, and Jackson Hole. Moonlight Basin compared very favorably to all of those resorts. The runs are long, crowds nonexistent, prices very reasonable, conditions generally very good, and the staff friendly. There is some seriously steep terrain here too. The best part is that you have these incredible runs practically to yourself! I would not hesitate to go here again and would highly recommend Moonlight Basin.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank runnerskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
Level Contributor
107 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Varied terrain... Excellent snow.... No crowds.... Fanatic food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Very nice resort... Need a lift to the top of lone tree from the base area but other than that... An awesome area.. Lots of out of the way trees with fresh powder days after a snow....
The food at both the Madison and Moonlight bases is great... MUCH BETTER than Big Sky! Friendly staff to boot....
Enjoy! Highly recommend when in the area!

Helpful?
2 Thank Christian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, Md
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good Ski Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Good skiing for all abilities. Groomed trails. Satisfying on mountain restaurants for a quick lunch.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank MdIslandHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Like having your own private mountain.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

If you are looking for no lift lines, great conditions, long and varied runs, no crowds and the friendliest mountain staff on the planet then Moonlight Basin is for you!! If not, you are not a real skier.

With the connecting lifts/runs to Big Sky you never run out of new runs to enjoy!

Helpful?
1 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moonlight Basin also viewed

 

Been to Moonlight Basin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing