We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful sleigh ride and dinner”

Lone Mountain Ranch Sports Shop
Ranked #1 of 5 Shopping in Big Sky
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Lone Mountain Ranch Outdoor Shop is open to the public and offers exceptional experiences to locals and visitors alike. During our Summer months, we offer horseback riding, guided fly fishing and Yellowstone Park adventures. Our Winter season includes over 85km of meticulously groomed Nordic ski trails, snowshoeing, classic sleigh ride dinners, backcountry tours into Yellowstone, snowcoach trips into the interior of Yellowstone, ski lessons and more!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Coeur D Alene
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful sleigh ride and dinner”
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I, along with another couple, decided to take the sleigh ride and prime rib dinner. We weren't disappointed. The sleigh ride was a wonderful way to meet some of the other dinner guests from all over the country. They supplied blankets that were adequate to keep us warm during a gentle snowfall. The dinner was excellent. Prime rib done to perfection served with potatoes , broccoli and warm rolls. All food was homemade. They also offered seconds. Dessert was a warm brownie topped with raspberry sauce and hand whipped cream. A wonderful duo supplied entertaining western music before and after dinner. Fairly pricey but well worth it. Highlight of our trip other than fantastic skiing at big sky.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip W, Manager at Lone Mountain Ranch Sports Shop, responded to this review, November 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your Lone Mountain sleigh ride experience. We are very fortunate to have so many guests from all over the country join us each winter season. We hope to see you and your friends again this year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    16
    4
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“underwhelmed by sleigh ride dinner”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We attended the sleigh ride dinner with a large group of adults and kids and were all disappointed with the experience. We really wanted to love it! We had a fun group and the ride itself was starlit and beautiful and the dinner cabin was really charming.
Our main issues:
* The wine available for purchase was terrible. I'm not sure why there wasn't a larger selection as we would have paid for more expensive and higher quality wine.
* The food was mediocre at best for the price.
* Children's portions were not offered- enormous pieces of prime rib were served to the kids. Lots of waste and inconvenient for the parents who had to keep getting up to deal with it.
* The room was so hot that most everyone in our party was sweating throughout the meal.
* We weren't told that entertainment would be the focus of the evening. We were dining with friends we hoped to catch up with but were told to keep quiet through much of the night to listen to the music. The songs were unfamiliar and went on too long.
* The evening started and ended too late for kids who are on a ski vacation. Granted, the times were not a secret when we booked the dinner, but we found this to be another aspect not conducive to a family dinner.

I hope management considers the above because it could really be an amazing night for families!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank srqbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, General Manager at Lone Mountain Ranch Sports Shop, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
We are very grateful for your feedback, and terribly sorry we dropped the ball on this occasion. You touched on a number of areas we could have easily addressed on the spot and made your sleigh ride one to remember (as is our usual custom). Please trust that I will use this information to improve our team. Should you give us another chance and return to Lone Mountain Ranch (please) I would appreciate it if you call me in advance. I'll personally guarantee these oversights will not happen again.

Sincerely, Paul Robertson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
150 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great Time on Sleigh Ride & Dinner”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I booked the sleigh ride and dinner for our families first night at Big Sky. We had a great time and they all continued to talk about how much fun it was throughout the rest of the vacation.

The staff is so organized they have you assigned to a sleigh and a dinner table before you arrive to begin the evening. It was fun to visit with the other people at our table, and the dinner was served family style with big bowls and platters of food being passed from person to person.

The food was excellent. We had wonderful home made rolls and tomato soup for starters. Then the prime rib was served with baby red potatoes, broccoli and sauteed mushrooms. They had a LOT of extra, and kept offering seconds and thirds, so be sure to go hungry.

The entertainment was fun and the singers quite good. Dessert was great as well, a lemon pound cake with mixed berries and whipped cream. After riding the sleigh back, they let you interact with the horses and take pictures. The cabin and the ride through the woods was magical. It was beautiful to be out in the sleigh, looking at the stars that were filling the sky. It would be awesome to go on this ride during the full moon.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sleigh ride is so much fun!”
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

We did the dinner sleigh ride with a party of eight. Everyone was so nice. The cabin was heated by and old time wood stove and kept us very toasty. There is no electricity so made it nice dining by candlelight and kerosene lanterns just like in the 1880's. Food was to die for prime rib. Hand made whipped cream for the cherry brownie dessert. Entertainment by Bruce was so funny and makes you think you are back in time! Good time had by all.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank JCMOGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Sleigh Ride and Dinner was Fantastic!”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Although at first we thought it a little pricy, we decided to try the Sleigh Ride Dinner at Lone Mountain Ranch, and I am so glad we did. It was an outstanding experience! Our sleigh ride took us up the mountain to an amazing little candlelit cabin. Our first course was a hearty turkey vegetable soup and warm rolls. Before the next course and after the last course, we were entertained by folk musician, Bruce, who was also our sleigh driver. I must say we truly enjoyed his original songs! The main course was prime rib, which was wonderful! But the absolute best part of the meal was cheese cake with fresh hand-whipped cream! I have never had a better dessert!!! Overall, this experience was a relative bargain for what we received!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank PEGGY P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lone Mountain Ranch Sports Shop also viewed

 

Been to Lone Mountain Ranch Sports Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing