We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing sleigh ride”

Lone Mountain Ranch Sports Shop
Ranked #1 of 5 Shopping in Big Sky
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Lone Mountain Ranch Outdoor Shop is open to the public and offers exceptional experiences to locals and visitors alike. During our Summer months, we offer horseback riding, guided fly fishing and Yellowstone Park adventures. Our Winter season includes over 85km of meticulously groomed Nordic ski trails, snowshoeing, classic sleigh ride dinners, backcountry tours into Yellowstone, snowcoach trips into the interior of Yellowstone, ski lessons and more!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
WEST KINGSTON
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Amazing sleigh ride”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

The staff were so friendly and helpful! Our bus broke down on the way to our sleigh ride and when calling the Lone ranch, they immediately offered to come pick us up! (They also offered to take us all the way back to our resort if the bus was not fixed by the end of our sleigh ride!) The horses were two large Belgian draft horses, the sleigh was a beautiful antique that creaked as it glided over the snowy fields, the guide was sweet and knowledgeable about the history of the ranch, and the stars were amazing! We stopped to enjoy a fire and a delicious chili with bison and elk in it, a kettle of freshly popped corn, and cheese and crackers! The bar was open - but since i was working, I did not have any alcohol, but we all enjoyed either hot chocolate topped with whipped cream or hot cider! Since the bus was almost ready to pick us up, we waited in the saloon next door which had a pool table, chess set, warm fires burning in the fireplace, comfortable chairs and a staff that were so friendly and welcoming even though I had 19 teenagers with me and we were not buying anything there! I highly recommend this experience - well maybe without the flat tire on the bus!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank deedonut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    16
    4
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Visalia, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sleigh ride!”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

What a terrific idea with a child! A sleigh ride up to a cabin for cookies hot chocolate or hot apple cider. A sleigh ride back to enjoy a hot lunch.
Lots of fun for the family!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alisha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fly Fishing for Novices and Experts Alike”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

John was a great instructor and guide for my son, Daniel, and me. A wonderful half-day walk and wade on the Gallatin River.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duxbury
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lone Mountain Ranch Orvis Fly Fishing & Horseback Riding ~ The perfect day!”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Our family of five found out about Lone Mountain Ranch after our road trip was planned. We were thrilled to discover that we could experience Lone Mountain Ranch as day guests! LMR had us well equipped in waders, boots, Orvis gear and instruction. We fly fished in the Gallantin River with our guides. It was the most amazing experience of our trip. We caught rainbow and brown trout. There we were in the "A River Runs Through It" ~ it was awesome. After fly fishing we returned to LMR for a wonderful bbq lunch. In the afternoon @ LMR, we rode horses that were perfectly matched to our ability & experience. We rode on trails through the forest, waterfalls and had spectacular views with our guide. Lone Mountain Ranch's Outdoor Shop is staffed with friendly, kind and knowledgeable people. It was an awesome day and one we will never forget.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Michigan
Level Contributor
90 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great Trails, Great Shopping”
Reviewed May 9, 2012

You can't beat this trail system - it's expansive, varied, and well taken cared for.
The Outdoor Shop has never failed to make me leave more money than I should: They have excellent products, and a great selection of unique things that I can't seem to leave without. They do a really nice job with everything we've experienced at Lone Mountain Ranch.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Trixien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lone Mountain Ranch Sports Shop also viewed

 

Been to Lone Mountain Ranch Sports Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing