We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly & Refreshing”
Review of The First Place PUB - CLOSED

The First Place PUB
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Seafood, International, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television
Description: Big Sky's Best ValueOver 50 Bottled BeersRevolving Menu ItemsDirectly Across From Golf Course and Community Park
Level Contributor
72 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Friendly & Refreshing”
Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Stopped by The First Place after a hike. We were hot and tired. The staff greeted us like old friends. Cold drinks and great food followed. We sat on the deck and never felt neglected while our server checked on us frequently even as more patrons arrived. The tamales are killer!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Betsydoggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    12
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Creative Drinks, VERY tasty food, Extremely affordable!”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

A cute lil pub stuck in a mountain town village! The bartender was spot on with our drinks. He even made us a signature cocktail using cucumbers as a base. It sounded odd, but we had to give it a shot. Just like they said it was "Summer in your mouth" one of the most refreshing cocktails I have ever had. The food was so tasty and cheap that we actually order the whole menu, ha ha. great portions, but most of all it was very tasty. I recommend the Fish Tacos! Great vibe with the locals, employees and tourists. THE FIRST PLACE PUB is truly a 'hidden gem in a mountain village!'

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SuntoucherJamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

We chose this place to eat based on the reviews but were disappointed. When ordering fish and chips, the chips (fries) are considered one of three sides. Usually that's part of fish and chips and you receive cole slaw or salad or something on the side. We ordered coffee at about 8pm and first were told by the waitress that it might take awhile because they'd have to brew it if we really wanted some. Later she returned to tell us they ran out of coffee filters so no coffee. What restaurant can't serve you coffee! The food we ordered was good but I can't recommend the place based on our experience.

Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Sky, Montana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome menu & doesn't ding your pocket book!”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I love the new antipasto dish on the lunch menu & the tuna tacos are truly the best I've ever had! The new outdoor dining for the summer is a great idea. Try this restaurant now for summer & definitely this winter for ski season.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenDavids07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne, Texas, United States
1 review
“Amazing!”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This pub has everything you need! Great food, good drinks, and fabulous service!! With a friendly atmosphere, this pub is EXACTLY what Big Sky has needed for years! All of the food is fantastic, from the perfect Gyro and the delicious veal parm sandwich to the homemade cream pie! I'm from Texas, and even MY mouth was watering for the homemade tamales!! This is exactly where I will take friends to in Big Sky!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jordan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The First Place PUB also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing