We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but you will pay”
Review of Peaks Restaurant

Peaks Restaurant
Ranked #52 of 74 Restaurants in Big Sky
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Peaks Restaurant is currently closed for the summer season. With an award winning wine list and spectacular views, Peaks is an excellent choice for anytime of the day. Peaks is located on the terrace level of Big Sky Resort's 4 Star Summit Hotel.
Clancy, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good food but you will pay”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Pretty much what you would expect from Big Sky's "premier" restaurant. The food is predictable, well prepared, and expensive. I really don't think this place is anything to get really excited about. The views are excellent and the service is good, but for the price, I would expect more. I was here with a conference related dinner, so the tab was picked up, and honestly, I think that was the only way that I would go again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigSkyResort001, Public Relations Manager at Peaks Restaurant, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thanks for sharing your experience with us. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the value of your meal. We are always interested in hearing what our customers have to say and looking for ways to improve. Our team will be contacting you shortly to get some additional feedback as to what else we could have done to met your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    17
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas, United States
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and views. A must try and see.”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Fantastic food, great wine and beer selection. Great service. Creative menu by some excellent chefs. The wait staff is above average for the area. A must try if you on the mountain.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DiverTX1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigSkyResort001, Public Relations Manager at Peaks Restaurant, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Wow! We couldn't have asked for a better review. Thank you so much. Please come in again next time you are in Big Sky and be sure to introduce yourself to our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fine dining in mountain village”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Gourmet food on the mountain. The chefs have fun making new creations. Nice wine list. Always a different amuse-bouche. Braised bison short ribs are a favorite. Knowledgeable wait staff. Willing to accommodate food allergies, just ask!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wintertraveler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigSkyResort001, Public Relations Manager at Peaks Restaurant, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for your rave review and visiting us at the Peaks. We really appreciate your comments and your business. The braised bison short ribs are one of our favorites as well..
Glad to hear you enjoyed yourself. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast and Dinner place”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed in the Summitt Hotel and this is the main restaurant. We had breakfast there each morning (included in our rate) and dinner 1 night.

The breakfast buffett was one of the best I've had in a hotel restaurant. Nice variety - a different carb breakfast each morning (pancakes one day, french toast the next, etc); a great variety of fresh fruits including a couple I've never had (dragonfruit, rambutan); lox, made to order omelettes, etc.

The one dinner we had was on Tuesday night when they offer bottled wines at a 40% discount. They have a very nice wine list with a lot of quality and variety. The pricing wasn't bad and with the 40% discount we were paying not too much above retail. The sommelier was very helpful and got us to try something different with our dinner. Our fish was very tasty and well prepared and the service was good.

The restaurant is at the base of the mountain and has a wall of windows so you get nice views from most of the tables.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wayfarerblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigSkyResort001, Public Relations Manager at Peaks Restaurant, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for sharing your review with us. We love to hear from our guests and take their comments to heart. Great to hear you enjoyed all your meals with us during your stay. We invite you to return and visit us again on your next Big Sky vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Average in all respects.”
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

I must admit I only had the wedge salad and corn and crab chowder but this left me with the general impression of an average meal in an average atmosphere for perhaps average or higher than average prices. Service was good. The corn chowder for $11.00 came in a small cup and was good but not something I would come back for. The wedge salad was actually diminutive being a 1/3 of a 1/2 wedge for $9.00. I think there must be better places to eat. T

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WyoBruin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigSkyResort001, Public Relations Manager at Peaks Restaurant, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
We are sad to hear that you did not enjoy your meal with us. Your description of our portions and atmosphere most certainly does not match that of what our team strives for. Please accept our sincere apologies. If you are ever unsatisfied with any part of your meal please let our team know immediately so we can correct it and give you the quality and service you deserve. We invite you to join us again and give our team another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peaks Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Peaks Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing