We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Rooms”
Review of River Rock Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
River Rock Lodge
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Big Sky
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed in room 109. Sorry,, but we did not take pics. However, I would like to add that the photos don't do the rooms justice. They are roomy and very clean.
There is a fridge that works terrific, a small sink and coffee pot all set up in a nice size bar/counter area.
The bathroom is basic, but clean with an ample towel supply.
A large closet/dressing area with a full sized ironing board and iron and hooks for coats, etc. plenty of storage for clothing in the tv/armoir
There is a DVD player also. It maybe a VCR/DVD combo. I didn't check closely.
The windows out of our room faced a parking lot. Not a big deal at all. This would usually bother us, but for some reason it was ok. The breeze and aspen trees just outside made it ok. (probably the reasonable room rate helped too)
Continental breakfast was served. Basic, but nice to have due to very limited options for breakfast.
I would have given this hotel 5 out of 5, but the front desk staff were...different. Hard to put your finger on it exactly. Not rude, but certainly not friendly. I am talking about every single one of them. We saw about 5 different ones during our stay. We never received a hello or good bye any time we passed through the lobby. Not even at check out. And I quote..."checking out ?" answer: yes. That's it! We stayed 6 days, so it wasn't like we were just passing through.
Would I stay here again ? Most definitely.

Room Tip: Even # rooms face the front. There is a restaurant/bar that has music Friday & Sat nights. You h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kgeiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 126 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2012

A nice, clean, quiet, comfortable place with a very reasonable price tag. I shall return!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dexter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Driving distance from Big Sky and Moonlight Basin. We highly recommend checking out Moonlight Basin. The lodge is near all the most of the local restaurants by walking distance.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hardytrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We recently spent 3 nights at River Rock Lodge and found it very comfortable and clean. As others have said the staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms are large and offer a fridge and wet bar. The location is convenient to the mountains for skiing as well as restaurants for dinner. We will definitely be repeat customers!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tacey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Upscale lodging without the upscale price. Clean, Comfortable, Cozy. Nice thick blankets on the bed.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We have stayed here several times, and also tried condos in the Meadow and hotels in the Mountain Village. The River Rock is a rustic lodge-style, with clean, large rooms, good beds and bedding. There is a nice lobby area and free continental breakfast. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. This is a good place to stay if you are sensitive to the altitude. We find the difference between the Meadow and Mountain Villages to be significant. The free shuttle bus to the ski area stops just outside the door, and you don't have to drive up, park and take the open-air skier shuttle. Another advantage of the location is the large number of restaurants close by - and more reasonably priced. Our only wish would be for a quieter heater, but we just turned it off at night and pulled up the down comforter.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, and the stairway is a bit narrow. Ground floor is easier transporting gear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank c7999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We stayed 4 nights and we loved it. As all other reviews say, the lodge is clean, roomy and comfortable. The people at the front office were really friendly and helpful. You also get fluffy towels, robe and good quality toiletaries (soaps, shampoo,etc) (important to me : ). There was a wet bar and good size fridge to keep your suppy of cold drinks as well. All that at much more reasonable prices than places in the mountain village! What more do you need for a ski vacation? To note: the lodge is in the Meadows, and is about 20 min shuttle bus ride (free) from the ski areas. The shuttle bus runs every hour, so we had to schedule our day around it, since we did not drive ourselves. But the busses come on time, go everywhere in the resort area, and chatty drivers were great source of information and funny local stories!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrooklynGirl1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Big Sky hotels
4.7 mi away
The Lodge at Big Sky
The Lodge at Big Sky
#3 of 9 in Big Sky
579 reviews
3.1 mi away
Buck's T-4 Lodge
Buck's T-4 Lodge
#1 of 9 in Big Sky
755 reviews
4.7 mi away
Big Sky Resort Village Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Summit At Big Sky
The Summit At Big Sky
#4 of 9 in Big Sky
253 reviews
4.7 mi away
Huntley Lodge
Huntley Lodge
#6 of 9 in Big Sky
303 reviews
2.9 mi away
Alpenglow Condominiums
Alpenglow Condominiums
#9 of 9 in Big Sky
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Rock Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Rock Lodge

Address: 88 Big Pine Drive, P.O. Box 160700, Big Sky, MT 59716
Location: United States > Montana > Big Sky
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Big Sky
Price Range: $182 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — River Rock Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your River Rock Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Rock Hotel Big Sky
River Rock Lodge Big Sky, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing