We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ski and stay in comfort”
Review of River Rock Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
River Rock Lodge
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Big Sky
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2012

a very comfortable lodge near big sky resort. the rooms are large and spacious with a bar with a refrigerator, bathrobes, lovely bedding, nice products and beautiful old photographs in the rooms of old montana and local indians in the 1800s. The staff is also very helpful and they have lockers for your equipment if you feel more comfortable with that rather than leaving in the car.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pbearmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 123 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2011

My wife and daughter are here now.

I don't know where to start. The lodge is perfect, the rooms are perfect, but most importantly the people are perfect!

No matter what we need, they do their best to make sure we have it.

I wanted a haircut, a simple thing right? well, it's a little pre-season so finding someone was tough. But they fixed that too when I had a crazy request for a "clippers" ..... Andrea found one for me and my wife cut my hair! It may sound silly, but it demonstrates the willingness to make your stay PERFECT!

I cannot say enough good about this lodge or the people who run it, go there, get to know them, you won't be disapointed!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loonytuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

I had a wonderful stay with my family. We had a beautiful room clean comfortable and elegant. I really enjoyed my stay. Breakfast was free and we had a nice selection of fresh pastries cereals yoghurt, it was very nice. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Curvycass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Reserved in advance based largely on tripadvisor reviews -- was great! This was 1st of 5 nights in the region, stayed here to be close to Big Sky resort for zip-lining the next day. Perfect location for us, good comparative rates, really nice room. Robes were a nice touch, a/c was quiet, good water pressure, nice mountain view, very easy access to everywhere we wanted, walking distance to several restaurants/shops, well-supplied continental breakfast. Staff were all superb, friendly and cheerful. We liked this hotel so well we came back that way instead of through Gardiner/Livingston, and stayed there a second night. Ate at Broken Spoke Bar&Grill across street -- best brisket EVER!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ksewing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

comfy and clean good breakfast only thing missing was internet in the rooms (available in the lobby )

Room Tip: internet special
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank badandyis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Had a last minute opportunity set a family visit to Yellowstone. After having to change the scheduled week again at the very last minute, we found that all of the traditional Yellowstone Park locations were full. Booked the River Rock Lodge with much trepidation (was it too far from the Park?, would the family like it? and so forth). As it turned out, the trip to West Yellowstone is only 45 minutes on a very good road. We made half of our wildlife sitings in the segment of the BigSky-West Yellowstone road that traverses the NW segment of the Park; including our only two grizzly sitings, a moose and calf, and one bald eagle ("eagle in the tree!!!" shouted our eleven year old). Our strategy of three trips into the Park every other day was perfect. We saw the Park and got to know Big Sky and all its surprises as well.

Big Sky itself was welcoming, nice, and had more services with less crowds than West Yellowstone. We had a fantastic Class 4 whitewater rafting trip as a family there, we hiked to the base of Ousel Falls (not to be missed), we found the Hungry Moose Deli to be one of the trips special surprises (within walking distance of the hotel). We couldn't get a guide for fly fishing but the fisherman were everywhere on the Gallatin with lots of backwater pools and foam lines. There is a zipline (we were thundered out) and a high-level (not for beginners) mountain bike circuit further up the mountain. There are two golf courses with the one at Moonlight Basin in a spectacular setting. Couldn't play either due to all the activities but saw Moonlight and the Village courses.

We found more than enough restaurants (breakfast outdoors every morning at the Bugaboo was pure magic with eagles overhead).

The trip was made all the better by our selection of the Vista Suite in the River Rock(also at the last minute). The cost was a bit higher but well worth it. I am one who likes to have coffee on a terrace in the morning; the suite has one. It is located just above the WiFi router for the hotel so our reception and speed was among the best we've experienced anywhere. That breakfast area was convenient enough to the Suite to allow morning shuttling back and forth for outstanding muffins, coffee, and whatnot. The mountain views were very good and the crisp air was invigorating especially when reading about summer time temperatures everywhere else.

So - things worked out and I would recommend highly the Vista Suite at the River Rock. The wife said she could have stayed another week (as we still had things to do)...... what more can I say.

Room Tip: Book the Vista Suite. Faces north, but otherwise perfect and roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MaineCascoBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

I just returned from a 5-night stay at this hotel. I went with my husband and my parents. We had never been to Big Sky, MT and had a wedding we were attending up at Moonlight Basin resort. We knew that Moonlight Basin was at a higher altitude (approx. 8,000 ft.) and wanted something a little lower in elevation since my husband is prone to altitude sickness. The hotel is located in what is known as "the meadows" of Big Sky. There's a golf course about 2-minutes away and there are LOTS of restaurants and stores within a short walking distance. This proved helpful when my husband's altitude sickness acted up again and we had to make a few trips to the nearby grocery (The Hungry Moose) to buy water and other supplies. We were able to explore different restaurants (i.e. Choppers, By Word of Mouth, and Lotus Pad) because they were all a minute walk from the hotel. We actually liked this hotel's location better than Big Sky Village because there wasn't such a claustrophobic feel in "the meadows" and we had more of a selection of restaurants and stores. However, if you're skiing, I'd definitely recommend staying in Big Sky Village, since location is everything. Don't be surprised, though, if you find yourself driving down to "the meadows" for a bite to eat. As for the actual hotel, it was very clean. They put out a nice spread for the Continental breakfast. If you're craving something warm for breakfast you can always head over to the Blue Moon bakery for breakfast sandwiches. My only complaint is that the walls are a little thin and if you're a light sleeper, you may find yourself waking up to the sounds of earlier risers, especially if you're on the lower floors.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HappyGoLuckyNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Big Sky hotels
4.7 mi away
The Lodge at Big Sky
The Lodge at Big Sky
#2 of 9 in Big Sky
563 reviews
3.1 mi away
Buck's T-4 Lodge
Buck's T-4 Lodge
#1 of 9 in Big Sky
739 reviews
4.7 mi away
Big Sky Resort Village Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Summit At Big Sky
The Summit At Big Sky
#4 of 9 in Big Sky
251 reviews
4.7 mi away
Huntley Lodge
Huntley Lodge
#7 of 9 in Big Sky
296 reviews
2.9 mi away
Whitewater Inn
Whitewater Inn
#9 of 9 in Big Sky
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Rock Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Rock Lodge

Address: 88 Big Pine Drive, P.O. Box 160700, Big Sky, MT 59716
Location: United States > Montana > Big Sky
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Big Sky
Price Range: $205 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — River Rock Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your River Rock Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Rock Hotel Big Sky
River Rock Lodge Big Sky, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing