We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dissapointed in service, avg rooms for big sky. nice enterance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Summit At Big Sky
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Big Sky
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2010

bellman too few upon arrival, so no help with bulky luggage and ski gear. front counter help good. pull our sofa unmade. when room cleaned it was done late and lazily.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duckmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 251 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2009

The Summit is beautiful from the outside and is in a great location but the rest of the experience was a let down. Service was just OK, the room was just OK and DON'T eat at the hotel...there are much better places to dine.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lberenstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2009

This beautiful condo style hotel at the base of the ski resort was the perfect location for my 2 sisters and I for a week-long getaway. We were in a one bedroom condo (Rooms 805 and 806), but with the Murphy bed in the living room and 2 queen size beds in the bedroom, as well as 2 bathrooms, it was spacious and comfortable. We loved the fireplace and watching for deer on the mountainside at dusk. Having the kitchen was great for breakfast, as well as preparing lunch to take on our hikes. The beautiful pool and hot tub were a delight after those hikes to relieve the sore muscles. All of the staff were outgoing and quick to respond to any requests. I have skied at Big Sky many times and think it is the best, but it was a delight to see it with flowers in bloom and the aspen beginning to turn.

Dinner at the Carabiner was a pleasant surprise after reading some of the negative reviews. Our service was friendly, the food was very good and they offer a nice selection of wines by the glass or bottle. It was certainly convenient and the view was lovely.

Other great restaurants in the area are Rainbow Ranch, Buck's T4, the Timbers at Moonlight Basin, and The Cabin (within walking distance of The Summit). For more casual dining, try Huckleberry Cafe and Bugaboo Cafe. The deli counter in the Hungry Moose is a great place to pick up sandwiches, quiche or other take-out options.

There are beautiful hikes in the area, both easy and challenging. For an adrenaline rush, check out the zipline!! Yellowstone National Park is only about an hour away and it is a beautiful drive. There is so much to see there, you will want to go again and again. Be sure to take your camera!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Austintraveler51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2009

I dont understand why there are so many blatantly false reviews on this site. The Summit is a world class condo style hotel built less than 9 years ago. There is no noise that comes from other rooms. The fitness room is nice, the condo kitchens come fully equipped, there are local grocery stores, bars, restaurants, and shops. The staff is VERY nice and accomodated all of our requests. The hotel restaurant and bar are a bit pricey and the food only average, but this is easily solved by walking around the village to other places. The skiing is WORLD CLASS with no lift lines and few people. The hot tub is great and the outdoor heated pool awesome.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank chris19421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2008

Last week we went to the Summit for a fine dining experience. I have had better tasting food at Sonny's Barbeque....I was so excited as we sat at the bar and heard of the chef from Rome, I ordered the peppercorn encrusted elk loin, first off it was not a loin, it was not pepper encrusted and it was terribly cooked, whatever it was. My wife and another friend had the buffalo, which was as tough as leather and rare, when they had ordered it medium, our other friend ordered pork with collards, the worst collards I ever tasted! My wife never wanted to try buffalo again. Luckily I knew better because I have had elk, buffalo, venison, prepared by great chefs. Get rid of your chef! He obviuosly does not inspect the food, or know what the heck he is doing. I expect when I go to a restaurant that has a school trained chef that the food be perfect. The chef is to inspect all food coming in, hand pick ingredients and oversee quality. I have had some of the finest foods in the world, this experience did not meet expectation. We ate at the 320 ranch, your chef needs to take lessons from the 320!

Bill,
Tallahassee, FL

Stayed: December 2008
2  Thank TallahasseeZoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2008

We had amazing time in this gorgeous slope side hotel. The rooms are spacious and warm. The crib for our toddler was the nicest we've ever seen in a hotel. The nightly turn down service was a pleasant surprise. We had a full kitchen so we could cook for our toddler and keep milk in the fridge. We definitely saved on breakfast.

The hotel restaurants were ok- didn't care for the Italian restaurant. We did have pretty good room service one night. The outdoor hamburger shop was pretty yummy.

There were lots of activities- hiking, horseback riding, rafting, mountain biking, etc. Things aren't cheap but they are well done.

I loved the outdoor pools but they were too heated for the summer weather- perhaps they can tone the temp. down in the warm weather. I'm sure they are a hit in the cold snowy winters.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank smurfy202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2008

We stayed at The Summit for four nights recently as part of a conference being held there. The facility is very nice and upscale but parking was very limited and many had to park along roads and in makeshift places when the parking lots overflowed.
A note, too, about the room configurations. The rooms do not have standard bath tubs. ( I think this applies to all their rooms). There is either a shower only OR a jetted hot tub in the main part of the the room in addition to a private shower.
The biggest complaint, however, was the attitude we encountered with the hotel's front desk. We we treated as irritants as much as guests because we had the temerity to ask that we be given the type of room we were confirmed for! Only after much eye rolling, sighing and two hours of cooling our heels in the lobby did they "find" a suitable room that only an hour ago was "impossible".
A further irritant that is far too common at these "resorts" is the "resort fee" of about $12 a night. We were told that this covers things like landscaping!! What it is is a price increase that is not reflected in any price comparison shopping and is, in my opinion, a shady business practice.
On the plus side, the bell staff at the hotel was very professional and quite helpful. The facility overall was very comfortable and had nice conference facilities.
If you're considering staying in Big Sky, ask about additional fees above the room itself and by all means keep the paperwork showing the type of room you reserved and be prepared to fight for it upon arrival.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TahoeDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Big Sky hotels
0.3 mi away
The Lodge at Big Sky
The Lodge at Big Sky
#2 of 9 in Big Sky
564 reviews
0.1 mi away
Big Sky Resort Village Center
7.7 mi away
Buck's T-4 Lodge
Buck's T-4 Lodge
#1 of 9 in Big Sky
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Huntley Lodge
Huntley Lodge
#7 of 9 in Big Sky
296 reviews
4.6 mi away
River Rock Lodge
River Rock Lodge
#6 of 9 in Big Sky
123 reviews
7.3 mi away
Alpenglow Condominiums
Alpenglow Condominiums
#8 of 9 in Big Sky
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Summit At Big Sky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summit At Big Sky

Address: 50 Big Sky Resort Road, Big Sky Resort, Big Sky, MT 59716
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Big Sky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Big Sky
Price Range: $230 - $620 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Summit At Big Sky 3.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Euro-Western Summit at Big Sky has been the vacation choice of both President Obama and Vice President Biden. The Summit is one of the finest slopeside properties in the Rockies with primary high-capacity lifts only 100 yards away. The Summit combines luxury appointments with a prime location in the heart of the Mountain Village Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Summit At Big Sky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Summit At Big Sky Hotel Big Sky
Summit Hotel Big Sky
Summit Big Sky
Big Sky Summit
The Summit At Big Sky Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing