We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for Summer/Fall Visit. Much better For Winter”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Summit At Big Sky
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Big Sky
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This hotel is in Big Sky, right at the base of the ski lifts...ski in, ski out. I was there in the fall, and the hotel and the resort were pretty empty, and no matter how hard people try to make these places into 4 season resorts, a ski resort in the fall is not the most attractive place in the world, particularly when not much is open, a lot of construction is going on as they get ready for the ski season, etc. That being said, the Summit is pretty nice. The hotel itself is very big, and not surprisingly, feels and looks a lot like a ski lodge. My room was very large...lots of room for ski equipment, etc. The staff was great...very friendly, very welcoming, and very helpful.I was there for business meetings, and the only meals I had (one group dinner and one breakfast on my own) were fine, but I suspect that when the hotel is full, it will be difficult to get into the restaurant.

The hotel worked well for our group, and if I were to come back for skiing, i would probably vote to stay here, if for no other reason than the proximity to the ski slopes...which look pretty interesting.

Room Tip: Get a slope side room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrinceConsort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 252 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

Big Sky is absolutely beautiful and there is plenty to do any time of the year. Summit at Big Sky is in a perfect location to take advantage of all Montana has to offer. The reception staff is excellent.

However, the walls are paper thin. You can clearly hear your neighbors' conversations. Also, the room service leaves a lot to be desired. The service is good, but the food is not-so-good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TWAM12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

True Ski in Ski Out accommodation .We stayed with our 3 adult children.The rooms and beds were comfortable.The indoor/outdoor pool was just perfect after a long day skiing followed by fireside in the living area.Very convenient location as we could walk to most restaurants and there was ski check on the slope side.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ptripping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great summer time activities. The Adventure Zip Line was a blast. The Summit has great rooms, with impeccable service and views. We were here for a wedding and stayed 7 days. There was so much to do, all of the guides through Base Camp were a lot of fun.

Room Tip: We were here for a wedding and stayed in a 3 bedroom suite. I saw double queen rooms, king rooms, 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed three nights at the Summit at Big Sky before we made our way to Yellowstone. The staff was welcoming and knew lots about the area. We had a corner room on the third floor. It was spacious with a Murphy bed, livingroom and full kitchen. The bathroom was very large with two sinks, large jetted tub and a shower. The unit was very clean. The staff also does a turn down service at night. When we were in the room, we didn't have them do it. When not there, the staff came in and put down the murphy bed and set up the bedding. We were facing Lone Mt. We took the trip to the top of Lone Mt on the tram. We did some hiking too! We enjoyed seeing this place in the summer as we have been four years for skiing in the winter.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a event he was participating in over the weekend. We arrived early and got a studio condo on the fourth floor facing Lone Peak. The bed was a Murphy bed which was comfy. The bathroom was huge with a jetted tub and a separate shower plus two sinks. The living room included a gas fireplace, chair and sofa. We like this condo because it had a kitchen with full-sized electric range, oven, microwave, dishwasher and refrigerator. There were laundry facilities with free washing machine. Pay for dryers which worked great. I didn't really cook but we had plenty of room for beverages and ate breakfast in the room. There is a hungry moose store in the mall and the prices were good for the resort. They had great chicken salad and basics for eating in the room. Staff was good and loved the starbucks coffee.

Room Tip: studio facing the mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flpab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed at The Summit on the end of a trip to Wyoming and Montana. It was a great place to relax at the end. Our studio was perfect for two people. Bathroom was great and the murphy bed was very comfortable. The greatest part to this location was the mountain views, heated pool and hot tub. We really needed to relax after spending a week with family. There weren't not many restaurants open, but those that were, were more than adequate. We also golfed at the Big Sky golf course and loved it. On the resort property there are activities like shopping, zip-lining, hiking and mountain biking to name a few. Last, the front desk was awesome with their help.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buschwhack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Big Sky hotels
0.3 mi away
The Lodge at Big Sky
The Lodge at Big Sky
#1 of 9 in Big Sky
571 reviews
0.1 mi away
Big Sky Resort Village Center
0.2 mi away
Huntley Lodge
Huntley Lodge
#7 of 9 in Big Sky
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Buck's T-4 Lodge
Buck's T-4 Lodge
#2 of 9 in Big Sky
742 reviews
4.6 mi away
River Rock Lodge
River Rock Lodge
#6 of 9 in Big Sky
123 reviews
7.3 mi away
Alpenglow Condominiums
Alpenglow Condominiums
#8 of 9 in Big Sky
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Summit At Big Sky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summit At Big Sky

Address: 50 Big Sky Resort Road, Big Sky Resort, Big Sky, MT 59716
Location: United States > Montana > Big Sky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Big Sky
Price Range: $235 - $532 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Summit At Big Sky 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Euro-Western Summit at Big Sky has been the vacation choice of both President Obama and Vice President Biden. The Summit is one of the finest slopeside properties in the Rockies with primary high-capacity lifts only 100 yards away. The Summit combines luxury appointments with a prime location in the heart of the Mountain Village Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Summit At Big Sky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Summit At Big Sky Hotel Big Sky
Summit Hotel Big Sky
Summit Big Sky
Big Sky Summit
The Summit At Big Sky Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing