We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very comfortable stay with nice staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Summit At Big Sky

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Summit At Big Sky
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Big Sky
Certificate of Excellence
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Very comfortable stay with nice staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed here for a sky trip. The room was very comfortable and in good condition. It was close to the lifts. Breakfast was healthy and good. I look forward to my next stay here. Hi Richard, the breakfast manager.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blessed06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    73
    31
    8
    2
See reviews for
69
45
9
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

What a nice change of pace, staying at the Summit instead of a condo farther out on the Big Sky resort property! Right in the heart of the resort, every side of the hotel has some sort of mountain view, but you can't beat the side with the view of Lone Peak. We booked last minute so had a studio/kitchen instead of a 1 BR, but it worked better than expected for two of us. Nice size room, great bathroom, decent storage for a few days. Murphy bed and sofa bed---but if you use both, it's kind of like fitting in puzzle pieces. Quiet hotel, great windows that blocked hot tub noise when it was busy, and we never heard clomping ski boots/toilets flushing/talking etc through the walls or ceiling.
Great 'ski-stay' package: for $1400, we had 5 nights, two daily full breakfasts in the (fine) dining room and daily lift tickets--no turning in a voucher, could head straight to the lift. Easy access to the hot tub and weight room. There were a few drawbacks: housekeeping does turn down service, but didn't do the little things well, such as replacing the t.p. as needed, nor leave enough garbage bags. Also, Summit really needs to stop calling their giant hot tub a 'pool'. I was looking forward to doing laps, and it's not my definition of a pool, it's a hot tub--3' deep, big concrete seat in the middle. But it is indeed big, and poolside beverage service after the lifts close can't be beat. I'm looking forward to staying in a 1BR my next trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Lone Peak, hot tub, and the lifts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 5Martini5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is a very nice ski in-ski out hotel. Our room had a fireplace, jetted garden tub, and a beautiful view of the mountain. The service was very good, and the staff was helpful and friendly. We enjoyed our stay and hope to return again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room over-looking the lifts and the hot tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pjb75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Big Sky has it all. Snow, slopes, short lift lines and the Summit. We recently returned from a week in Montana and enjoyed a wonderful stay at the Summit. The accomodations were spot on, the concierge extremely helpful and the restaurants and related bars excellent.
The outdoor firepits, pool and adjacent hot tub offered spectacular views of the mountain.
And it was ski in and ski out. The staff was very helpful- do not go without scheduling a day snowmobile trip to Yellowstone!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frederick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

So, so handy for the slopes, which makes this hotel great. We had a self catered room, with a bed which folded away into a cupboard, but was really comfy. Our view as over the slopes which was also fab.
Breakfast was included as part of our package and I have to say was absolutely fantastic, fresh fruit, pancakes, omelettes, hot full breakfast all buffs style and superb.
The hotel bar was popular at the end of the day, and although more pricey than local pubs, it was a great atmosphere.
And the hot tub and gym were superb
A great location and fab stay

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sam l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
135 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

My first stay at The Summit. Arrived at BZE with Karst shuttle reservations. A little more than an hour to Big Sky. Entered the hotel lobby and quickly given room and information. Carried my equipment to the 7th floor, entered the room, and noticed that the toilet was broken. Went back down and asked for an alternate room -- 706. Took about 45 minutes, but eventually got a better east facing efficiency with Murphy bed, small kitchen, and large bath. Room was good with the exception of pass doors between rooms that allow conversation to be heard. Otherwise accommodations were good. Breakfast (came with room) was generous. Restaurant staff were well prepared to help. Food was good. The one dinner at the restaurant was also good.Staff clean room each day, and turn down at night. Recommended, but beware rooms adjacent to elevators (loud ding) and would recommend views to the mountains.

Room Tip: The Solace Spa in the Huntley was a very good experience. Highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cooncat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

I've stayed at the Summit four times now during conferences at the Big Sky Resort. I think it is the best place to stay at the resort due to its location and excellent services. It is about 10 stories high overlooking Lone Mountain peak on one side and the Spanish peaks on the other side. I'd recommend getting a room with a view of Lone peak (ie the ski resort) if possible, as the other direction also overlooks the parking lot.

The main lifts for the resort are literally steps away. You just can't stay closer to a ski lift anywhere I've ever been. There is also an huge swim-through indoor/outdoor hot tub with a view of the mountain where you can watch people go off of ski jumps. Oh, and you can get bar service from the hot tub. It is really an amazing and beautiful place to stay.

The rooms are clean, modern, and spacious with just a hint of rustic style. I usually stay in an summit studio room that also has a kitchen. However, you will feel more like you are staying in a hotel than a ski lodge or cabin.

The breakfast in the Summit Peaks restaurant is a real feature. It is the best hotel buffet breakfast I have ever had. It was hard to avoid having eggs, bacon, sausage, oat meal, fresh berries, coffee, and pastries every morning because each was delicious. Each item is well above average. There is also a gorgeous view of the sun hitting Lone peak in the morning.

The staff is also excellent, especially considering they are all basically ski bums there for the mountain. Very friendly people always willing to discuss ski conditions or help you find the best runs.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Lone Peak (ie the ski resort) have a better view. Also, the studios on this side are l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmccle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Big Sky hotels
0.3 mi away
The Lodge at Big Sky
The Lodge at Big Sky
#2 of 12 in Big Sky
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.1 mi away
Big Sky Resort Village Center
7.7 mi away
Buck's T-4 Lodge
Buck's T-4 Lodge
#1 of 12 in Big Sky
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Huntley Lodge
Huntley Lodge
#7 of 12 in Big Sky
3.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
4.6 mi away
River Rock Lodge
River Rock Lodge
#5 of 12 in Big Sky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
3.3 mi away
Alpenglow Condominiums
Alpenglow Condominiums
#10 of 12 in Big Sky
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Summit At Big Sky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summit At Big Sky

Property: The Summit At Big Sky
Address: 50 Big Sky Resort Road, Big Sky Resort, Big Sky, MT 59716
Location: United States > Montana > Big Sky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Big Sky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Summit At Big Sky 3.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Euro-Western Summit at Big Sky has been the vacation choice of both President Obama and Vice President Biden. The Summit is one of the finest slopeside properties in the Rockies with primary high-capacity lifts only 100 yards away. The Summit combines luxury appointments with a prime location in the heart of the Mountain Village Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Summit At Big Sky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Summit At Big Sky Hotel Big Sky
Summit Hotel Big Sky
Summit Big Sky
Big Sky Summit
The Summit At Big Sky Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing