We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Summit was a hit!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Summit At Big Sky
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Big Sky
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“The Summit was a hit!”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

WE loved our upgraded room, with view of the slopes. Needed earplugs at 3am due to the snow cats. A trade off well worth it. The included breakfast was fabulous. Our lift tickets were covered, with our package, almost making the room free! Don't tell their accountants.
Giving 5 stars due to ski in ski out, etc. though not really 5 star hotel. We would stay there again. Didn't make it to the pool, but looked great.

Room Tip: have to decide between view vs. noise from snow cats.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank horselover11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    79
    35
    8
    2
See reviews for
78
50
9
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We had a wonderful time at this very nice, perfectly situated hotel/condo. Location was amazing - it was easier to take a break in the room than to eat lunch out. Big hot tub - size of a small pool - rt next to the slopes. Giant breakfast buffet. Staff was very helpful, friendly - minor thing - not enough b-fast passes - easily fixed. I followed advice from trip advisor and asked for a corner room. Next time will try to get a 2BR - pullout couch was not great but after a day of tough skiing - not hard to fall asleep! Overall - a great place - we plan on returning.

Room Tip: Our corner room was roomy - beautiful views of slopes
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We are staying at the Summit and the hotel is adequate. The restaurants are a bit tattered as far as decor but the biggest disappointment is an outrageous check in time, due in part to a very limited housekeeping staff. We arrived early and the hotel does list a 5pm check in time in its paperwork. While I acknowledge this fact I think it is very unusual and have never stayed at a place with this type of policy. At the same time, I was not feeling well so whole my family went skiing while I waited for the room, which the hotel said they would try to get me into early. Finally about 2pm the front desk mentioned that housekeeping was just entering the room. 2 hours later the room was still not finished. The response was that there was only one housekeeper trying to get many rooms ready. Not a great start to our holiday ski trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lydee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denison, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This place was GORGEOUS!! We went in the fall and were able to do lots of outdoor activities without skiing. The bar in the hotel was great with very nice and helpful bartenders. The coffee/gift shop needs a little work. Cute shopping area. If you really don't want to leave the resort there are plenty of things to do and lots of restaurants. If you are going to Yellowstone be ready for a drive...it is a full day trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lalasoupy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Minnesota
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed in a 2 br suite with kitchen, along with our 3 kids. The kitchen was well stocked with supplies (not food) so we were able to cook and not eat out during our stay. The staff was very helpful and friendly and the view from our room was amazing! There were lots of activities to do at the resort if you want to spend the money, but that would add up pretty fast so we tried to keep the basecamp activities to a minimum. Its close enough to yellowstone to make a day or even half day trip over. Nothing is cheap in this area, so bring what you can for groceries/snacks/supplies! The whole resort was amazing, the only thing we felt it lacked was a pool for the kids (the two they have are very large hottubs).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mngirl81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase Maryland
Level Contributor
130 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The Summit at Big Sky is not the most spectacular mountain resort that I have enjoyed, but it is very good.
Reservations: easily made on line.
Check In: fast efficient and friendly.
Room: spacious five room suite, with full kitchen, living room/dining room with fireplace, flat screen TV, and pull out couch, large bedroom with king size bed and flat screen TV, and two full bathrooms. Linens and towels were topnotch. Kitchen appliances were very nice but not top of the line.
Amenitiies: beautiful views everywhere, good restaurants around the hotel and some very nice ones about 6 miles away in the town center, excellent gym, nice hot tub/small pool, and a number of nice small shops nearby. Beautiful resort golf course 6 miles away in the town center. FREE HIGH SPEED INTERNET and lots of FREE PARKING.
Activities: i was here at the end of the summer so there was hiking , kayaking, horseback riding, and zip lining, along with fly fishing, either on site or nearby. Of course, the the winter the skiing is fantastic.
Travel: Bozeman is about 1.25 hours away from Big Sky with frequent shuttle service. Lots of flights into Bozeman airport, with nonstops from Chicago, LA, SF, Seattle, Newark, Atlanta, etc. No Southwest or AirTran.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the ski area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tackle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
195 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The Summit is a perfect place to stay if you're looking for a traditional hotel style accomodation. My family stayed two nights following our extended stay in Yellowstone and enjoyed our three days in Big Sky - it was terrific!

The Summit is very comfortable, well maintained and very convenient to all of the restaurants and activities in the Village. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Big Sky hotels
0.3 mi away
The Lodge at Big Sky
The Lodge at Big Sky
#1 of 13 in Big Sky
546 reviews
0.1 mi away
Big Sky Resort Village Center
7.7 mi away
Buck's T-4 Lodge
Buck's T-4 Lodge
#2 of 13 in Big Sky
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Huntley Lodge
Huntley Lodge
#8 of 13 in Big Sky
280 reviews
4.6 mi away
River Rock Lodge
River Rock Lodge
#7 of 13 in Big Sky
115 reviews
3.7 mi away
Lone Mountain Ranch
Lone Mountain Ranch
#3 of 13 in Big Sky
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Summit At Big Sky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summit At Big Sky

Property: The Summit At Big Sky
Address: 50 Big Sky Resort Road, Big Sky Resort, Big Sky, MT 59716
Location: United States > Montana > Big Sky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Big Sky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Summit At Big Sky 3.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Euro-Western Summit at Big Sky has been the vacation choice of both President Obama and Vice President Biden. The Summit is one of the finest slopeside properties in the Rockies with primary high-capacity lifts only 100 yards away. The Summit combines luxury appointments with a prime location in the heart of the Mountain Village Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Summit At Big Sky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Summit At Big Sky Hotel Big Sky
Summit Hotel Big Sky
Summit Big Sky
Big Sky Summit
The Summit At Big Sky Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing