We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel superb”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Summit At Big Sky
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Big Sky
Certificate of Excellence
Whitefish, Montana
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hotel superb”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

The only downside of this fantastic hotel was that I suffered for altitude sickness and could jot enjoy it as much as I'd have liked. Room was superb, staff superb, fitness centre great. Location a little away from it all, but cars usually do the trick. I'd go back if only I didn't suffer for the altitude, my husband and the children absolutely loved it.

Room Tip: We were on the ninth floor and it was extremely quiet, but it was quiet other whole resort really, p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    79
    35
    8
    2
See reviews for
78
50
9
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

The Summit is an excellent hotel in an awesome location. The room was very spacious, complete with dining table and chairs, sofa, arm chairs, kitchen (including dishwasher) and Murphy Bed. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We had two excellent evening meals in the Carabiner restaurant and the waiter was very professional. There was a great atmosphere in and around the Big Sky Resort and would love to return during the skiing season.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonJollyholly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

This is a first class hotel at the base of Big Sky mountain. Great service. Would highly recommend if it is in your price range.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank skidocchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
323 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I am pretty upset with this place. They have not made up my room once in a 4 night stay. After 3 nights, they asked me to come down to the front desk and register! When I went to my room for the first time, there was a half filled coffee cup in the room, and a dirty coffee filter in the coffee pot. When I came to my room tonight, there was a hat on my bed (not mine). After three days in then room, I finally got them to empty the trash. The food in the place is not really what you would expect. It seems like everything is overcooked. We are a group of about 70 and in discussions with others, quite a few others had similar experiences. The management in the place is disappointing.

The scenery is great.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that they service, and for a room for which the a/c works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank QQ1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

I recently stayed here with friends that are owners. Ski in and out doesn't get any better then this. The hotel is comfortable and it was nice having a kitchen and living area. Cozy bar downstairs with afternoon entertainment.
Nice restaurant there and others within walking. A really large hot tub..

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank squirlees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

The Summit is best described as a strong 4 star hotel. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. (Must be Montana - usually not seen in the Northeast US). The studio was spacious with a gas fireplace and a complete small kitchen. There was a comfortable Murphy bed to extend room space. The hotel is truly ski-in ski-out with 2 lifts 50 feet from their outside restaurant. It can be a little noisy at night with snow groomers on the slopeside section of the hotel. The Peaks Restaurant was excellent with a superb complementary hot and cold breakfast buffet included in the room price. Overall a very nice place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTTraveller12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda
Level Contributor
159 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Big Sky is a gorgeous background for this reasonable hotel. The rooms are nice. The bed is comfy. The dining is good. The staff seems helpful. Great hot tub to soak your tired muscles after a long day on the slopes.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nricks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Big Sky hotels
0.3 mi away
The Lodge at Big Sky
The Lodge at Big Sky
#1 of 13 in Big Sky
542 reviews
0.1 mi away
Big Sky Resort Village Center
7.7 mi away
Buck's T-4 Lodge
Buck's T-4 Lodge
#2 of 13 in Big Sky
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Huntley Lodge
Huntley Lodge
#8 of 13 in Big Sky
280 reviews
4.6 mi away
River Rock Lodge
River Rock Lodge
#7 of 13 in Big Sky
115 reviews
3.7 mi away
Lone Mountain Ranch
Lone Mountain Ranch
#3 of 13 in Big Sky
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Summit At Big Sky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summit At Big Sky

Property: The Summit At Big Sky
Address: 50 Big Sky Resort Road, Big Sky Resort, Big Sky, MT 59716
Location: United States > Montana > Big Sky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Big Sky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Summit At Big Sky 3.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Euro-Western Summit at Big Sky has been the vacation choice of both President Obama and Vice President Biden. The Summit is one of the finest slopeside properties in the Rockies with primary high-capacity lifts only 100 yards away. The Summit combines luxury appointments with a prime location in the heart of the Mountain Village Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Summit At Big Sky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Summit At Big Sky Hotel Big Sky
Summit Hotel Big Sky
Summit Big Sky
Big Sky Summit
The Summit At Big Sky Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing