We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Family Adventure!”

Montana Dinner Yurt
Ranked #11 of 71 Restaurants in Big Sky
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
“Best Family Adventure!”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This was the best family adventure we (5 adults and 2 children) have experienced since arriving in Big Sky. Sitting on top of the cat provided an amazing view of the Spanish Peaks with the almost full moon, clear skies and twinkling stars above us. On our arrival we were greeted with a delicious crock of French onion soup. While the staff was preparing the next course we were encouraged to go outdoors to enjoy the fire and go sledding. Our family really got into this activity and provided some very funny entertainment for the group. On to the main course; filet that melted in your mouth, salmon that had a fresh flavor, a huge bowl of garlic mashed potatoes and another of roasted vegetables. All the time we were being entertained by a very talented man with a guitar. When we were finished with our meal we went back outdoors while the staff prepared our dessert; chocolate fondue with pound cake and fruit. Delicious!!
The return trip allowed all of the guests to chat and compare their adventure.
I would recommend this 100%. The Christensen family.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NancyBethDesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    9
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“5 Star Unique Mountain Dining Experience”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

a phenomenal mountain dining experience for both families, couples and groups of friends. Riding up a Cat onto the mountain in the dark is an awesome trip onto itself. though it only takes 15 minutes or so to get to the yurt, its super fun. then once you arrive, you walk into a super warm yurt and a lovely dinner awaits. best of all, the sledding hill thats set up outside. its been years since i've sled and i shrieked with glee like a child!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deb s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Supply, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun time and great food!”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Enjoyed the ride up the mountain in the snow cat! The food was fabulous...there were ten of us and we all had the beef. Also a wonderful atmosphere for fellowship and conviviality! I highly recommend it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelbuff20-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolivia, nc
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful Evening”
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

It's only a 15 minute ride on the snow cat to the Yurt. When you first see it you think it's too small for the number of people (there were 43 on our trip.) However, inside was warm and cozy. The first course of french onion soup was already on the table when we sat down. It was piping hot and delicious. Our table of ten all ordered the beef which was tender and cooked to perfection. The beef came with mashed potatoes and grlled vegtables -also tasty. Dessert was chocolate fondue - a great finish to a fantastic meal.

The most amazing part of the meal was that not only was all the food delicious, buy every thing was hot. I don't know how they were able to do it.

There was guitar player who provided music during the evening and the staff was friendly and attentive.

The trip to the Yurt is a must do when in Big Sky!





...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bon551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, NC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awesome experience. A MUST do.”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

If you don't do anything else (besides ski), make sure you book the Yurt! A completely unique experience and was a favorite of the entire group we were with. Food was awesome. Service was good and you just can't have much more fun than sledding down a good sized hill with friends. Complete strangers had a terrific time cheering each other on as they go sliding down the hill. 3-course meal includes French Onion soup, your choice of beef/fish (both were good), and a chocolate fondue desert. It's worth what it costs.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Russell07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montana Dinner Yurt also viewed

 

Been to Montana Dinner Yurt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing