We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and Fellowship...and Good Food”

Montana Dinner Yurt
Ranked #12 of 74 Restaurants in Big Sky
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Slingerlands, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fun and Fellowship...and Good Food”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Meatless Monday meant that I could only have the pasta which was rich and pretty good. The steak looked excellent and everyone who ordered the Salmon enjoyed it. Love the atmosphere although I could do without the chilly ride!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank k2skicutie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    9
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
108 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Unique Experience”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This was truly a unique experience. We were picked up by a snowcat at the base of Big Sky Ski Resort and taken to a yurt in the middle of the mountain. They had a 3 course dinner which included soup (Frech Onion), main dish (Beef, Fish or Veg), and dessert (chocolate fondue). In between courses, we went sledding down a hill near the yurt.
The yurt is very warm, so if you tend to get warm I would bring layers. I ended up wearing a short sleeve polo shirt inside and was still a bit warm. If you can stand the cold, I would take adavantage of riding outside on top of the snowcat for the trip up or back down. It is much easier to see from atop.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sixthgearmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Expensive but fun”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This is pretty pricey for what it is, but we had a really nice time. The food was very good (I had the vegetarian option), and the fondue with fruit and pound cake for dessert was delicious. The yurt itself was very quaint and cozy, and it was great to be way out in the woods. We also enjoyed sledding and riding the snowcat - be sure to ride on the roof for a great view!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Enjoyable experience, but the food was uneven”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Salmon had interesting flavor but was overcooked to point of being a shoe sole. Steak was better. Vegetables delicious. Garlic mashed potatoes had numerous, barely cooked cloves throughout - not ideal. The tables were quite crowded/tight.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ajkyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very unique experience”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Great time! Because there were just two of us we were seated with two other couples and had some great conversation. Definitely ride on top of the snowcat!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eladousa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montana Dinner Yurt also viewed

 

Been to Montana Dinner Yurt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing