We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Outfitter”

Gallatin River Guides
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Montana Fly Fishing Trips near Big Sky Montana.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Excellent Outfitter”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Two days of amazing fishing, Madison and Yellowstone, too many fish to count. Aaron was an awesome guide, hope to return soon! Fly shop is also well stocked and great source of information.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    1
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mequon, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Guiding by Pat Straub”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

My son and I had a fabulous time fishing on the two rivers Pat guided us. We landed probably over 20 fish on the upper Madison River. On the Yellowstone which could have been iffy because it was running fast and the water was a bit cloudly. We ended up landing over 30 fish. We lost many fish and missed several srtikes on both rivers. We caught several nice Browns and Rainbow trout. Did we have some great jumpers both Rainbows and Browns!

Pat is a really delightful person, out going, very entusiastic about fishing and gives you good tips on how to fish the rivers. He is extremely knowlegdeable about flies and trout. I would definately ask for him to guide us the next time we go out to Montana.

Roger S. Smith

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank RoigerS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolute Best Fishing Experience Ever”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

How do you spell perfection? It's easy, GRG. Pat Straub and his team orchestrated the trip of a lifetime for my wife, myself, and our 23 year old son as we celebrated his graduation from Cal Poly University. Pat and his Shop Manager Dave put together all the gear we would need for our 3 day trip, all of it top notch.

On our first day we were teamed with Guide Bob and we wade/walk fished the Gallatin River. Bob was extremely calm, experienced, knowledgeable, an incredible instructor, and just down right fun to be with. He took rookies like us, put us on both Rainbow and Cut-bow trout, and made us feel like experienced pros. The down side, the lunch he provided was too good. I wanted a nap after that feast.

Mike and Aaron guided us for the next 2 days of float fishing down the Madison River. WOW!!!! Those two men were incredibly skilled at navigating the river, putting us in all the right spots, and choosing which flies to use. They turned us in to fish catching machines. We all caught many Rainbows, Browns, and Whitefish in the 16"-20" range on both wet and dry flies. My wife topped us all with her 20" Brown Trout fatty. These guys rowed their boats for a solid 6 hours straight, stopping only set up a table and chairs to serve us a gourmet lunch. Incredible food, majestic scenery, never ending fish stories; perfection. Again, the only downside, too much good food.

At the end of our trip Pat and Dave put together an incredible bundle of gear and equipment so that we could continue our experience back home in the Sierras. Name brand gear at Bass Pro Shop prices. What a deal they gave us. Make sure you take a few minutes to watch them feed the trout in their private pond. 30" plus Browns. What a sight...

Local knowledge, incredible guide skills, wonderful people skills; they are the best. Our first trip to Montana and we walked away with great fish stories and better yet, trophy friends.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JonMc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great family adventure.”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Had a great time with Shawn our guide. Dave and Shawn understood our needs considering our lack of experience and catered to our seven year old; who had the time of his life. We look forward to our next adventure with Gallatine river guides.
Steven

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Sky, Montana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great shop. Super guide”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

My wife and I had a chance to do a float on the upper Madison 2 weeks ago with Mike.

We had a wonderful time. Caught a lot of fish and learned a ton from Mike about the fishing in Montana on the rivers in the Big Sky area.

He had really nice clean boat, the lunches he brought for us were terrific, and he really had a sense for where the fish were.

As soon as we get back to Big Sky we will certainly book Mike again!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gallatin River Guides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing