We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lodge at Big Sky
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Big Sky
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Better than ever”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

I've stayed at the lodge several times over the past 5 plus years. The location and value have always brought me back to this wonderful place in Big Sky. Lately I have noticed several improvements. Lighting in the hallways, It used to be so dark. Better breakfast, For many years there were microwaves and frozen everything, now there is more variety and hot choices. The thing I noticed most on my last trip is that Ryan is back.
Ryan is the most helpful staff member I have ever had dealings with at any hotel on any vacation. His demeanor has always been helpful and professional, in that order. It is my understanding that he has just been promoted to Manager and I believe this will be a new stability that the Lodge has sometimes lacked.
Stephanie at Check-in was efficient and friendly. In the morning Dustin, was helpful with potential advice for the day. We didn't have any other staff interaction on this trip as it was a slower time of year.
The adjoining rooms that my family of 7 shared on the 4th floor were very accommodating. Pull out couch made it especially nice to maintain peace with the children. The rooms had different linens, one was better than the other but both were fine. The kids enjoyed the hot tub and pool and spent too much on candy and ice cream at the gift shop.

Overall, thanks to all the staff for a relaxing trip.

Room Tip: We were in adjoining rooms on the 4th floor, For our family of 7 it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLMED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    144
    51
    20
    15
See reviews for
214
153
23
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We arrived at the Lodge to find the front desk agent sitting on the lower part of the counter texting on her cell phone. Not quite the greeting you would like as a guest at a hotel. The gal finally got up when we looked at her. After she checked us in we headed to our room. We opened the door we saw that the room was still dirty from whomever stayed in there last. The beds were unmade and room was not clean. I went back to the front desk and told the front desk agent what we saw. She then assigned us another room. This one was decent enough to sleep in but overpriced for the comfort level of the mattress and the low grade comforters on the beds.

The following morning we went down at 8:30am to have the free continental breakfast. I went up to get coffee and someone rudely cut me off so they could get juice. It was the morning front desk agent! She was making herself breakfast and made sure she was first in line! Then she went behind the front desk and was eating and drinking as guests came up to asked her questions! That was completely unacceptable! We went through the breakfast line which was very unkept and all the tables to sit at had the last guests residue all over them. We began to eat and it was not good. The scrambled eggs were awful! Most of the hot foods were cold. We ended up having to eat at the mountain village since it was so bad!

So we went back to our room to pack up. As I was checking around on the floor to make sure I picked up everything I found a someone else's dirty long underwear bottoms hanging half was out from under the bed! Gross! At one point while we were packing we opened a window to cool off. Before we left we went to shut the window and latch broke off so we could not shut it. We went downstairs and began our check out with the front desk agent. I told her about the dirty long underwear in the room and she didn't care. I then told her about the window and said they should have a maintenance person to come fix it right away. After that, we packed up our car and and were ready to have the hotel shuttle to take us to the mountain. The front desk person is also the shuttle driver! How weird is that! We waited for her to finish her yogurt and then she took us to to mountain. She told us that the shuttle pick up times began at 3:00pm and came every 15 minutes for pick up.

We skied all day and began waiting for the shuttle at 3:20. So we waited for the shuttle, 3:30 came and went. Pretty soon it was close to 3:45pm and no shuttle. Thankfully the parking lot shuttle personnel asked if we needed a ride and we said "YES"! He asked where we were staying and took us there! How nice was that! Well, we got back to hotel parking lot and saw the shuttle just sitting there. How crappy! Once we walked down to our car we could see the outside of the room we stayed in. The window was still open! We paid $198.00 including resort tax for that place for one night and we were not impressed in the least! Stay somewhere else if you want some quality service! The quality and service is just not there!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We stayed at the Lodge for 5 nights in the last week of March. Felt like they were winding down for the season as there were staff shortages and not many people about. Our room wasn't cleaned one day, and other days given a quick once over as they were short of staff, which was fine with us. Decor is pretty tired and could really use a face lift, but rooms are a really good size and bed was comfortable.
The hot tubs were great and obviously looked after. Continental breakfast was included, which was perfectly adequate. One point for the hoteliers is whether they could use some kind of re-usable or biodegradable plates and cutlery. The polystyrene plates and cups were not very environmental friendly.
The resort overall was very mountain orientated and definitely didn't have the nice village feel of some other places, such as Breckenridge. The mountain itself is brilliant, loads of space and hardly any people.
I would stay at the Lodge again, especially if it has a face-lift, fairly basic but decent and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiSuzieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bend, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

This hotel would have been terrific if we got what we paid for. We reserved a view room. When we got there our "view" was of the parking lot from the ground floor. We showed the front desk our reservation which stated VIEW right on it. They told us that was deceiving and offered us a view room for $20 more. Extremely frustrating.

Room Tip: Be sure you get the room you expect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

After having stayed at the other accommodation at the mountain base every year for over 15 years, we decided to try The Lodge when the other site's prices rose drastically this season. We were not disappointed. We had a double queen room 110, which was NOT the basement, but a large lower level room with a huge window looking out on a pine-covered snow bank and a view of Lone Peak. The room was quiet & comfortable with a microwave and frig, and spacious bathroom. Plenty of closet/drawer space too. The indoor pool and 3 outdoor hot tubs were immaculately clean, perfect temperatures, and great jets. All the staff were helpful and friendly. The ski shuttle was frequent and on-schedule. Breakfast in the pleasant fireside lobby/lounge was not elaborate, but adequate. I see from the management's replies that they are planning some refurbishing. I hope that means replacing the tired bed linens and towels. Otherwise, we had no complaints and would definitely stay here again. Also, the parking is more convenient better than the other accommodation.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mooff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gr8place2stay, General Manager at The Lodge at Big Sky, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
We appreciate your business and appreciate you taking the time to write about your stay. We are delighted to hear that your stay was enjoyable:) and yes the linen and terry is in transition now as we start our slower season and time allows for the needed change outs.
Thanks again and we look forward to you visiting us again:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here one night because our other accommodations didn't have availability for the entirety of our stay at Big Sky. We had a double queen room 419. It was clean and modern. Had a mini fridge and microwave. Large bathroom for a hotel. Nice pool and multiple hot tubs. Continental breakfast was decent enough. Staff was friendly and helpful. They offer shuttle to the mountain but honestly it's a 5 minute walk. I would stay here again!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gr8place2stay, General Manager at The Lodge at Big Sky, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
I can not thank you enough for the kind words. When I share these reviews with my staff members it really boosts the moral levels at work as all the employees really do the best they can each day. Thank you so much:) We really do strive to provide the most comfortable stay as possible for all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Room was very big and held our ski equip. well. Staff was very accommodating and friendly. Nice to have the hot tubs and pool. Lounge was very nice and met nice people there at end of day. Shuttle bus was a plus and there is another shuttle you can catch from the end of the driveway. Close to main mountain.
But, the towels, bedspreads, draperies, etc need updating. The breakfast bar had many items but not the best quality.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rvgolfski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gr8place2stay, General Manager at The Lodge at Big Sky, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers here on Tripadvisor. We look forward to serving you in the future, after our renovation is completed. We hope to be starting this in April and finish up by mid June. Again, thank you so much for taking the time to write.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Big Sky hotels
7.8 mi away
Buck's T-4 Lodge
Buck's T-4 Lodge
#3 of 13 in Big Sky
696 reviews
0.1 mi away
Big Sky Resort Village Center
0.3 mi away
The Summit At Big Sky
The Summit At Big Sky
#4 of 13 in Big Sky
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
River Rock Lodge
River Rock Lodge
#7 of 13 in Big Sky
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Huntley Lodge
Huntley Lodge
#9 of 13 in Big Sky
284 reviews
7.5 mi away
Whitewater Inn
Whitewater Inn
#13 of 13 in Big Sky
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Big Sky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Big Sky

Property: The Lodge at Big Sky
Address: 75 Sitting Bull Road, Big Sky, MT 59716 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Mountain Inn Big Sky)
Location: United States > Montana > Big Sky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Big Sky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Big Sky 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located minutes from the Base Village area yet quiet and private, The Lodge at Big Sky is Big Sky's only independent lodging located slope side in Big Sky Montana. We are the best value on the mountain. Come visit us and see what sets us apart from the others:) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Lodge at Big Sky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Big Sky Hotel Big Sky
Hotel Big Sky
The Lodge At Big Sky Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing