We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent stay and experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lodge at Big Sky
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Big Sky
Certificate of Excellence
Newport Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Recent stay and experience”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We decided on staying at the Lodge at Big Sky because of the value priced room. For the price the rooms were fair and the sheets could use replacements. The room however was very big and airy and had a great view of the mountains and perfect for us and our young son. I agree with some of the other comments that breakfast is OK but it filled me up every day and was fine.
Now the management was the FRIENDLIEST I have ever encountered and made our stay so pleasant.The manager recommended many restaurants and even offered and made reservations for us. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gr8place2stay, General Manager at The Lodge at Big Sky, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Helena,

Thank you so much for expressing your opinions here on TA. I am delighted to hear that overall your stay was more than satisfactory. Please know that we are in the process of a renovation that includes bedding updates and new towels, along with new televisions. We are also looking at adding some new hot items to our breakfast. We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Thank you so much:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    142
    50
    18
    15
See reviews for
209
149
23
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Tried different hotels in the area for skiing and this was the best location for the best price. The rooms are large and airy and the manager was a delight. We had a problem the first night with noisy neighbors and she made sure we had an immediate upgrade. the pol and hot tub were terrific.
The only problem was the linen- sheets and towels really need to be replaced. Breakfast was ok...the usual hotel choices..could have used more fresh fruit.

Room Tip: at first we stayed in the cheaper room downstairs but were upgraded to the higher floor with a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davida70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gr8place2stay, General Manager at The Lodge at Big Sky, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you for the supportive review:)
I was discouraged to hear about your intial noise issue, but I was happy to upgrade you. It was a pleasure to meet both you and your husband. I look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

A friend and I stayed 4 nights at The Lodge while skiing Big Sky at the end of January. We're 60-something skiers who primarily stick to blue runs. This was the 4th time I've stayed here over the past 7 or 8 years. We keep coming back to Big Sky because of the great skiing and lack of lift lines, and we stay at The Lodge because it's a tremendous value. After skiing many Western resorts I can't think of another ski lodge that's as nice as The Lodge, in as convenient a location, at such a reasonable cost.

After not skiing Big Sky for two years I was a bit concerned to see some negative ratings of The Lodge here in Tripadvisor. However, I found The Lodge to be every bit as good as it always was. The rooms are large with high ceilings, and they're nicely appointed and clean. The great room/breakfast room/lobby is a great space with lots of comfortable chairs and sofas, a fireplace, a bar, and two-story-high windows with a great view of Lone Mountain. The other morning when the sun came up and shined on the top of Lone Mountain while we were eating breakfast, I and a lot of the other people there pulled out our cameras, phones, etc., and started snapping pictures of the stunning view. The managers and staff were friendly, and helpful. Jeff, who used to run the place, was an absolute gem, and he's certainly missed. But the new group is personable and enthusiastic, and they make the place feel like home.

The Lodge is about two blocks from the main base area. It's very walkable, although we generally carry our boots and stash our shoes in the locker room at the base area, or upstairs in the Mountain Mall. The Lodge runs a shuttle every half-hour if you'd prefer to get a ride. I was initially disappointed to hear that Big Sky purchased the Moonlight Ski Area. We used to love skiing Moonlight on $50 lift tickets. But the combination really works out well, since you can now cover the whole mountain, or however much of it you have energy to ski. And while the new $100 lift tickets are expensive, they're certainly a bargain compared to the $130+ you'll pay in Colorado. And with no lift lines you can certainly maximize your runs-per-dollar!

I saw a few minor maintenance issues, and some signs of wear and tear. They could use some new towels, and the eggs at breakfast need some improvement. The Lodge is not a luxury ski-in/out property. If that's what you're looking for try Shoshone, The Summit, or Huntley, and pay 2 or 3 times as much per night.

We'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drc50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gr8place2stay, General Manager at The Lodge at Big Sky, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
I am delighted to hear that everything was satisfactory for your stay:) It was great having you and we look forward to serving you in the furure!

We appreciate your business and the time you took to share your experieinces here on TripAdvisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

We at the day The Lodge for 3 nights on a skiing holiday while travelling in the US. The hotel is located within 2 mins walk of the mountain lifts and a shuttle is available if required. Breakfast is included and has a great selection of hot and cold items. Rooms are large and comfortable and have great views from most. The best bit by far about this hotel are the helpful, friendly staff. My husband and I felt like one of the family and would definitely stay again

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rae1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gr8place2stay, General Manager at The Lodge at Big Sky, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. TripAdvisor is a wonderful resource for travelers... and I am pleased your stay motivated such a nice review:) We hope you and your husband enjoy the rest of your trip in the states. Thanks so much!!!
P.S. thanks for showing us how to chop kindling:) Come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Wonderful and reasonable mountainside lodging with a beautiful view of Lone Peak. An early check in helped our family with small children. The staff was very friendly and accommodating
allowing our family to lunch in the beautiful great room. The shuttle was handy but the walk to the lifts was easy. The grandchildren loved the pool and hot tubs and the adults enjoyed the comfortable seating in the lounge in front of the fireplace and bar. The management allowed a late check out at no additional charge. Overall a very positive experience and we would book with them again.

Room Tip: For a large family the 3 queens per room was spacious and had a fridge and microwave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank p r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gr8place2stay, General Manager at The Lodge at Big Sky, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience:) TripAdvisor is such a valuable resource for all travelers and again we thank yo for sharing your comments on it. Thank you for the outstanding review. We look forward to serving you again in the future:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
1 review
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This place was amazing. We called early and they were able to accommodate an early check in so we could get settled in our room, ski and then go back to the room to allow our youngest to nap. It was so close to the chairlifts we ate our packed lunch in their beautiful lobby. Shuttle perfect. Swimming and hot tubs great for kids. Rooms big and clean. Staff friendly and helpful. Definitely will be staying there again.

Room Tip: The three queen room worked great for us with grandparents, parents and kids. Plenty of room, and so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gr8place2stay, General Manager at The Lodge at Big Sky, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
It was our pleasure to serve you:) Thank you so much for taking the time to write, and share your experience with others here on TA. It was a pleasure to meet you and I delighted that your family had such a great time:) We look forward to you visiting us again! Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

PROPERTY:
Great location. Has shuttle leaving every 30 minutes to skiing. Easily walkable to skiing as well, although the city of Big Sky doesn't seem to believe in sidewalks, so you'll walk on the side of the roads. Great spot off the mtn., compared to those which are on the mtn., and plenty more expensive. Property itself is wonderful. It's well decorated, has plenty of niceties, and has plenty of potential. I'd recommend this property if you're cost conscious and don't mind a short walk (2 blocks) to restaurants and skiing. If you want an on-mtn. and 4 star experience, I'd recommend an upgrade to one of the resort properties.

ROOM:
We stayed in a 'basement' (aka lower level) double queen room (101, 102, 103, 104, etc.). This room is the least expensive and is sold as the 'quiet area' as it's not technically on a main floor (you still have a fine view though). The room itself was nice. Spacious, has a fridge, separate sink, microwave, etc. Some of the rooms I noticed are in the usual 'avoid-me' type of locations (eg. there's a room on 2nd floor overlooking the lobby and could probably hear all lobby noise; there's rooms on 3 and 4 right across from the ice machines, and there are rooms in the lower level right across from conference rooms). The room we were in also had some small maintenance issues, that I wouldn't complain about - but I am curious how every single lampshade had water stains on it. The hairdryer broke while we were in the room, but the older gentlemen quickly replaced it. The coffee maker never worked (my fault for not reporting it).

STAFF/SVC.:
They live on-site. This is common in mtn. towns when travel in and out of the city is sketchy with snow closures. The entire staff appeared to live in the hotel, and were always seen around the property (which is fine), but no one wears a uniform, so you will never know who exactly is working that shift, and if you're staying for a short period, you'd probably never know the staff from the guests. And no - a plain white t-shirt with a tiny logo doesn't constitute a uniform. The staff all appeared to be new in some form or function. When checked-in I was charged for an extra day, and the keys weren't programmed. We requested an early check-in and it was accommodated (thank you), but was an hour late. On two separate occasions we were misinformed. (1) I had asked a young male staff member where to get ice, and he told me "in the bar" (as if I was supposed to go back behind the bar to get ice from the bartender's bin). I doubted his response, so asked another roaming staff member, and she told me that it was up one floor. (2) I had called down to the desk and ask about an early AM check-out and the older male gentlemen said to come down and settle the bill early so we didn't have to wait in the AM. I did so, and came down to find another woman at the desk who asked me to check-out in the AM as it would allow the system to post the charges overnight. She went ahead and settled us up anyway, but not without a couple extra charges, and reversals. On two of the evenings (early mornings), the staff staying in the room(s) down the hall from us were up and noisy - letting the door close against the swing lock bar (over and over (do they not realize that it echoes down all of the hallways), and chasing each other down the hallways for some reason, playing 'ding-dong-ditch.'

MISC.:
They do have ski and snowboard storage (in a foyer room), but it's not secured in any way. I'm the unlucky paranoid person who's had his snowboard stolen once and won't have that happen again, so we avoided the on-property storage.
Linens could all be replaced (esp. towels, washcloths, bathmats, pool towels, etc.). These are aged, thinning, frayed, and embarrassing.
Property cleanliness could be easily improved by management. We stayed for 4 days, and for ALL of those days, the men's room soaps were never filled (I even took one of the soap containers out of the closet and put it on the counter (all they did was put it back, and still not replace the soap)), the elevator walls were never wiped down, the lower level restrooms never cleaned, the hallway floors outside of the housekeeping rooms never vacuumed,
The keys to our room had to be reset twice (first time was staff error, second time was early expiration set on the keys). Note, the keys also don't/didn't work in the side doors.
One of the 4 hot tubs was out of service for the 4 days we were there (not an issue to us because the hotel was very quiet (early season)).
The AM breakfast is certainly a nice thing - it's out by 6:30am, and has the usual continental varieties; nothing extravagant.

OVERALL:
A great location, good property amenities (no restaurant however), and has pleasant enough staff and service (they really do try, and the couple older staffers are especially pleasant).
OWNERS and Management should really, really, really step-up here and start performing housekeeping checks, provide the desk staff with mandatory shift checklists (cleaning, etc.), do walk-throughs daily, get everyone a noticeable uniform (khakis, polo or something), escalate the purchasing of new towels, and let the staff who is staying on-site know that it is not a youth hostel. With some accountability and organization (this would probably have to come from the OWNERS, because I think some of the managers may also need some guidance/tutelage - this could REALLY be a great property. I'd recommend this hotel, and would likely stay here again on return (as the resort hotels really gouge you), HOPING that some basic improvements were made.

Room Tip: Lower level has fine rooms, quieter area. Not a great view, but who cares. Be cautious about locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MplsLakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gr8place2stay, General Manager at The Lodge at Big Sky, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a thoughtful response..I have noted the areas in which we need improvement and I appreciate you bringing them to our attention. Please know the Lodge is now under new management and I have addressed your concerns. We appreciate your business.. Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Big Sky hotels
7.8 mi away
Buck's T-4 Lodge
Buck's T-4 Lodge
#2 of 13 in Big Sky
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Summit At Big Sky
The Summit At Big Sky
#4 of 13 in Big Sky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Big Sky Resort Village Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
River Rock Lodge
River Rock Lodge
#7 of 13 in Big Sky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Huntley Lodge
Huntley Lodge
#8 of 13 in Big Sky
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
3.3 mi away
Alpenglow Condominiums
Alpenglow Condominiums
#10 of 13 in Big Sky
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Big Sky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Big Sky

Property: The Lodge at Big Sky
Address: 75 Sitting Bull Road, Big Sky, MT 59716 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Mountain Inn Big Sky)
Location: United States > Montana > Big Sky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Big Sky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Big Sky 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located minutes from the Base Village area yet quiet and private, The Lodge at Big Sky is Big Sky's only independent lodging located slope side in Big Sky Montana. We are the best value on the mountain. Come visit us and see what sets us apart from the others:) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your The Lodge at Big Sky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Big Sky Hotel Big Sky
Hotel Big Sky
The Lodge At Big Sky Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing