We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort and beautiful area!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lodge at Big Sky
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Big Sky
Certificate of Excellence
Murray
2 reviews
“Beautiful resort and beautiful area!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed at The Lodge at Big Sky for 3 nights. I have to say it was one of the best hotels I've stayed at in a very long time. Check in went well, the people were very welcoming and nice. The hotel was very clean. Our room was at an excellent rate! They were having a special at the time. It was nice and clean and comfortable. Only complaint there was that the coffee maker didn't work right. The free breakfast in the morning was excellent. I would have expected only a couple of choices to choose from. It was like a buffet. Very impressed. There was plenty of people there visiting, so it was a busy hotel. The pool seemed nice, we didn't swim. The area was very beautiful. I have no complaints. I would definitely recommend this place to others. My uncle lives in Bozeman and he is the one that recommended this place to us. There was 3 of us that stayed there and we were all very happy with our stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the lower rooms. I can't say I know how the other rooms are. Ours was nice, a littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank THracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    142
    50
    20
    15
See reviews for
212
150
23
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hellertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My family stayed 2 nights. We enjoyed horse back riding on site. They are remodeling. So are room looked fresh and new. Rooms aren't cheap but all of Jackson hole seems to be for the artsy person who wants to spend a lot of money. Hard to say its a family friendly town. But a few reasonable activities. Hotel restaurant was a little pricey for families. But while traveling through South Dakota then over to Yellowstone and down through Colorado we paid about the same for some real dumps.So this hotel was refreshing.

Room Tip: We bid on priceline. We actually added a second night after we won the bid. The second night was off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mshapp2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This hotel needs a lot of repair and updating. The carpet in the main hallways off the lobby is very loose and dirty. The dark trim on all the doorways and halls was badly damaged with many areas of blond wood under the dark stain. The room has toiletries like you would find at a very cheap hotel. Only one bottle shampoo and one bottle of lotion, both very poor quality. The toilet did not work in my room. The bed had an old worn out mattress on it.

I had last stayed here in 2011 and the place was in such poor condition that next year I will stay at a different resort area property.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigSkyJ, General Manager at The Lodge at Big Sky, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Sorry that you just seem to be unhappy with the overall hotel. We will be addressing all the "marked up" wood in our off season and since your stay the spill in the lobby has been shampooed. Hope to see you in the future so you can see our many wonderful improvements!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We arrived at the hotel and found only 4 cars in the parking lot. The place seemed empty. Check in was quick and friendly enough. The person behind the counter gave us a map of the area but no real recommendations for food or activities (she pointed to a binder). We were able to find everything on our own. The room was comfy and large. We loved having a sofa bed. It meant one of our kids didn't have to sleep on the floor. We also enjoyed the free breakfast. Breakfast was when we learned the hotel was actually packed. Yet, as other reviewers mentioned, the bar isn't open in summer. (Make sure to bring your own beverages because you can't get anything close by.)

My only complaint is that our room was overlooking the hot tub and fire pit. We went to bed early and around 11PM I woke to the smell of campfire and people talking in the tub. The rest of my family didn't wake so it wasn't that bad, but I would ask for a room away from the hot tub and fire pit.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room away from the hot tub and firepit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shbam04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigSkyJ, General Manager at The Lodge at Big Sky, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Glad you enjoyed everything up here at the Lodge. We do have a fire pit where we teach people how to build s'mores. When you get back out here this winter and play in our great snow we will make sure to have you up and away from the open fire pit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
460 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We decided to add another day to our vacation at Yellowstone National Park. The Lodge at Big Sky was about 1 hr away (driving fast). Although the winter season is their peak season in this ski town, the Lodge was completely booked. We were lucky to get a room. The Lodge has a very nice outside appearance, and it is located in a nice area. The lobby is also very nicely decorated and feels new. The room was huge. It felt very comfortable. The beds were also very good. One of the main reasons we chose to stay at the Lodge was our need for wifi. This was a big disappointment. The wifi was almost worthless. It was so slow that it was basically unusable.This was the only negative aspect of our stay, but it was very important. I didn't expect much for breakfast after reading the number of reviews which were not positive about breakfast. Frankly, I don't understand their reviews. The breakfast was great, and the staff made sure that all food items were continuously supplied. The breakfast was as good as the best hotel breakfasts I've had.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigSkyJ, General Manager at The Lodge at Big Sky, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for your great review. We do have a great summer crew making everyone feel like their home but yet so close to Yellowstone. Hope to see you soon. Come play in the snow!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lightwater
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This was our third hotel stop during our recent road trip, and we were a little disappointed. Yes, the views were fantastic but after a long trip through Yellowstone Park, and then a fairly long drive up to the hotel, we would have appreciated a warmer welcome. Neither the hotel itself nor the staff at the front desk felt particularly welcoming - perhaps it was the drop in temperature and the snow capped mountains that gave us that expression, but we were tired and a drink at the bar would have helped. No such luck however, because the bar is shut in summer! We ventured outside for a short walk to find sometime to eat, but again no luck - no food after 9pm in the only place we could find. Had to survive on a pint of beer and a packet of crisps (or chips as they say in America). Rooms clean and ok, but breakfast nothing to write home about. Served its purpose but that was about all.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnLightwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigSkyJ, General Manager at The Lodge at Big Sky, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
We appreciate your honest reviews. We do have some pretty amazing views out all our windows on property! Our bar/pub is closed during the summer time. With the long warm days guests haven't frequented the bar/pub in the past so we have chosen to keep it closed and sell packaged beer and wine to help accommodate everyone's busy schedule seeing Yellowstone. Come back this winter and sip on a nice glass of wine fireside watching the snow fall. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
111 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

A fantastic resort in a fantastic location. This is a wonderful accommodation to stay& relax or to do activities whatever the season. We stayed for just 2 nights when motorcycling through Montana. Within 1 hour's ride to Yellowstone Park, the lodge provides a great base. The facility is one of the oldest on the mountain (the original lodge). It is impressive throughout. Activities, eateries, bars, shops, relaxation therapies. Everything you could want. One small down side (depending on the weather) is that there is no AC in the Lodge rooms. However, as you are up in the mountains, opening a window or using the fan provided resolves any concerns. Breakfast was included in our package & the staff at the resort are very attentive. Sky lifts are right on the property. Thoroughly enjoyed this stay & would recommend to any age group & family dynamic.

Room Tip: Mountain views from everywhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OntarioTaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigSkyJ, General Manager at The Lodge at Big Sky, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for such a great review. We do have air conditioning in all rooms. We have a great heating and air conditioning system. Come back and ski with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Big Sky hotels
7.8 mi away
Buck's T-4 Lodge
Buck's T-4 Lodge
#3 of 13 in Big Sky
684 reviews
0.1 mi away
Big Sky Resort Village Center
0.3 mi away
The Summit At Big Sky
The Summit At Big Sky
#4 of 13 in Big Sky
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
River Rock Lodge
River Rock Lodge
#7 of 13 in Big Sky
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Huntley Lodge
Huntley Lodge
#8 of 13 in Big Sky
281 reviews
7.5 mi away
Whitewater Inn
Whitewater Inn
#13 of 13 in Big Sky
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Big Sky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Big Sky

Property: The Lodge at Big Sky
Address: 75 Sitting Bull Road, Big Sky, MT 59716 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Mountain Inn Big Sky)
Location: United States > Montana > Big Sky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Big Sky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Big Sky 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located minutes from the Base Village area yet quiet and private, The Lodge at Big Sky is Big Sky's only independent lodging located slope side in Big Sky Montana. We are the best value on the mountain. Come visit us and see what sets us apart from the others:) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Lodge at Big Sky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Big Sky Hotel Big Sky
Hotel Big Sky
The Lodge At Big Sky Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing