We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lodge at Big Sky
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Big Sky
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2013

The views from this hotel are stunning, literally breath taking (not surprising given the altitude) no matter which direction you look.

I booked this hotel as a place for us to rest between days at Yellowstone. When we drove out to the hotel I was, at first disappointed by the distance from the park entrance, however any disappointment was washed away by the beauty of the mountain views as we drove up to The Lodge. The forty plus minute drive from Yellowstone was well worth it. The Lodge sits at about 8,000 feet above sea level, so the altitude can affect you physically, however, the altitude was more than offset by the attitudes in The Lodge.

Not only were the views excellent, but the staff was friendly and helpful, the hotel clean, comfortable and up to date. We thoroughly enjoyed our room, the table, easy chair, coffee maker and fridge were put to use immediately. We also enjoyed the hot tubs at he end of the day, The Lodge provides four so all the guests can get a chance to soak their weary bones. We also enjoyed the breakfast provided in the lounge, but would have liked some biscuits to go with the sausage gravy and a higher quality of frozen Potato's O'Brien.

We will definitely be visiting The Lodge again, I hope to make the trip in the winter this time so I can enjoy the awesome looking ski trails. The Lodge is at the base of the upper mountain trails and the skiing looks like it would be fantastic.

Room Tip: East side rooms look out over the valley and offer breathtaking views, the west side rooms offer bre...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RBrabant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigSkyJ, General Manager at The Lodge at Big Sky, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

WOW, thanks for the glowing review. We will share it with all our staff. We defiantly are looking at a new potato option for our breakfast bar. Come back and see the new potatoes in August or this winter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (562)
There are newer reviews for The Lodge at Big Sky
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

378 - 384 of 562 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed at The Lodge at Big Sky for our summer vacation. The area is beautiful. The Lodge is located next to the Mountain Village and it is very convenient to take advantage of the activities offered in the village. It is basically a ski resort area, but zip lining, whitewater rafting and horseback riding are all close by. We went to Yellowstone a few days of our trip also. The ride is approximately an hour to the park, but an easy ride there. Our room was spacious and clean. Our room had two queen beds, plus a pull out couch which makes it nice when you have more than 2 kids. Breakfast in the morning is great and the staff couldn't have been nicer. My kids enjoyed the spacious pool and hot tubs and making smores at night out on the patio. If we are ever in the area again, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking to visit the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJ91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigSkyJ, General Manager at The Lodge at Big Sky, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Glad to hear you had a great time up here at the Lodge. We ourselves even enjoy the close proximity to all the activities on the mountain and down on the river. Come back this winter and enjoy the slops and the cold smoke powder!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

THE LODGE AT BIG SKY RESORT MONTANA
DATES OF STAY 03/13/13-03/20/13

We stayed at The Lodge At Big Sky the second of March 2013 for a ski week in Big Sky. The hotel is about 100 yards from the lift but is uphill. We walked it the first day but chose to take the shuttle from the hotel the rest of the week. The hotel is next to the Mountain Village which has shops and restaurants. The rooms are very spacious and clean with a small refrigerator and microwave. The room we stayed in had two queen beds, but the mattresses could be upgraded to a thicker style and the TV in our room was the older type, however the lobby is very comfortable and clean with a floor to ceiling fieldstone fireplace and a bar with the upgraded flat panel TV’S. They also had a pretty decent complimentary breakfast in the morning and at night there is a person who comes in and prepares a meal with dessert if you choose not to go out that evening, the price varies depending on the meal. The hotel staff is very accommodating. I enjoyed my stay here and would recommend this hotel if you are staying at Big Sky.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skitom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigSkyJ, General Manager at The Lodge at Big Sky, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us back in March. We look forward to seeing you next ski season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I stayed a week at this Hotel. It was Fantastic! The Hotel was clean and everyone that works there was so Friendly. Hotel is very clean and the food is great too. Management is always around and making sure my stay was comfortable. Great Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigSkyJ, General Manager at The Lodge at Big Sky, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thanks for all your positive feed back. We will share your great comments with the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I loved visiting this hotel. The rooms were large, spacious and clean. You had everything I needed at the hotel. And if it wasn't there on property, it was within walking distance. The staff was super friendly and willing to help with all my questions. Thank you for a great trip!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigSkyJ, General Manager at The Lodge at Big Sky, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Glad you enjoyed your stay. Come back in the winter and enjoy the powder! See you then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Driving back from Yellowstone to Portland , Oregon, we took a slight detour to spend a night at the lodge to check out their summer "manager's special" deals. This resort is ~10mi of winding mountain roads from US-191, and we got here pretty late on a stormy evening.

For some reason, we were given an "accessible" room with a massive shower area. We had to ask for extra coffee and supplies despite reserving a 2-queen room for 3 adults. The continental breakfast in the morning is a quagmire - too many people crowding the counters, and the food seemed to keep running out faster than the staff could replenish.

Otherwise, pretty decent-sized well-furnished rooms with views if you're lucky, a big indoor pool and multiple hot tubs (didn't have time to use them though). Plus my parents from a tropical country got to see snowfall as a bonus! (I know, in mid-June!)

I'd consider coming back for a ski trip with friends in the winter if we get a nice deal, but I'd stick with the best-westerns near the highways that have better service for an efficient summer road-trip stop.

Room Tip: if you're only spending the night and don't need the mountain view (or if it's cloudy...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vstg005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigSkyJ, General Manager at The Lodge at Big Sky, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thanks for the great honest feed back. Can't wait to see you this winter!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Be careful when you make a reservation. I made a reservation for two rooms for one night on Monday and tried to cancel it within 48 hours and they would not refund any of the full advanced payment. When I tried to call the manager to discuss the desk clerk would not give me their name or pass me through. Their position is that if you make a reservation within 30 days of the arrival date it is not refundable.

Not the way to do business. Their calcelation policy was not clear that it was not refundable.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
5  Thank AlexaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigSkyJ, General Manager at The Lodge at Big Sky, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

We are sorry for your disappointment in our cancellation policy. Here up at the ski resort we do operate under a 30 day cancellation policy. Our cancellation policy is a deposit upon making the reservation and refundable only 30 days prior to arrival. The deposit will be forfeited for any cancellations less than 30 days prior. Hope this clarifies your confusion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Big Sky hotels
0.1 mi away
Big Sky Resort Village Center
7.8 mi away
Buck's T-4 Lodge
Buck's T-4 Lodge
#3 of 9 in Big Sky
725 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Summit At Big Sky
The Summit At Big Sky
#4 of 9 in Big Sky
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Huntley Lodge
Huntley Lodge
#6 of 9 in Big Sky
293 reviews
4.7 mi away
River Rock Lodge
River Rock Lodge
#7 of 9 in Big Sky
121 reviews
7.5 mi away
Whitewater Inn
Whitewater Inn
#9 of 9 in Big Sky
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Big Sky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Big Sky

Address: 75 Sitting Bull Road, Big Sky, MT 59716 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Mountain Inn Big Sky)
Location: United States > Montana > Big Sky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Big Sky
Price Range: $154 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Big Sky 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located minutes from the Base Village area yet quiet and private, The Lodge at Big Sky is Big Sky's only independent lodging located slope side in Big Sky Montana. We are the best value on the mountain. Come visit us and see what sets us apart from the others:) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Lodge at Big Sky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Big Sky Hotel Big Sky
Hotel Big Sky
The Lodge At Big Sky Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing