We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to Stay in theSummer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lodge at Big Sky
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Big Sky
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Great Place to Stay in theSummer”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed at The Lodge at Big Sky for our summer vacation. The area is beautiful. The Lodge is located next to the Mountain Village and it is very convenient to take advantage of the activities offered in the village. It is basically a ski resort area, but zip lining, whitewater rafting and horseback riding are all close by. We went to Yellowstone a few days of our trip also. The ride is approximately an hour to the park, but an easy ride there. Our room was spacious and clean. Our room had two queen beds, plus a pull out couch which makes it nice when you have more than 2 kids. Breakfast in the morning is great and the staff couldn't have been nicer. My kids enjoyed the spacious pool and hot tubs and making smores at night out on the patio. If we are ever in the area again, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking to visit the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJ91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigSkyJ, General Manager at The Lodge at Big Sky, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Glad to hear you had a great time up here at the Lodge. We ourselves even enjoy the close proximity to all the activities on the mountain and down on the river. Come back this winter and enjoy the slops and the cold smoke powder!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    142
    50
    20
    15
See reviews for
212
150
23
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

THE LODGE AT BIG SKY RESORT MONTANA
DATES OF STAY 03/13/13-03/20/13

We stayed at The Lodge At Big Sky the second of March 2013 for a ski week in Big Sky. The hotel is about 100 yards from the lift but is uphill. We walked it the first day but chose to take the shuttle from the hotel the rest of the week. The hotel is next to the Mountain Village which has shops and restaurants. The rooms are very spacious and clean with a small refrigerator and microwave. The room we stayed in had two queen beds, but the mattresses could be upgraded to a thicker style and the TV in our room was the older type, however the lobby is very comfortable and clean with a floor to ceiling fieldstone fireplace and a bar with the upgraded flat panel TV’S. They also had a pretty decent complimentary breakfast in the morning and at night there is a person who comes in and prepares a meal with dessert if you choose not to go out that evening, the price varies depending on the meal. The hotel staff is very accommodating. I enjoyed my stay here and would recommend this hotel if you are staying at Big Sky.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skitom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigSkyJ, General Manager at The Lodge at Big Sky, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us back in March. We look forward to seeing you next ski season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I stayed a week at this Hotel. It was Fantastic! The Hotel was clean and everyone that works there was so Friendly. Hotel is very clean and the food is great too. Management is always around and making sure my stay was comfortable. Great Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigSkyJ, General Manager at The Lodge at Big Sky, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thanks for all your positive feed back. We will share your great comments with the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I loved visiting this hotel. The rooms were large, spacious and clean. You had everything I needed at the hotel. And if it wasn't there on property, it was within walking distance. The staff was super friendly and willing to help with all my questions. Thank you for a great trip!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigSkyJ, General Manager at The Lodge at Big Sky, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay. Come back in the winter and enjoy the powder! See you then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HILLSBORO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Driving back from Yellowstone to Portland , Oregon, we took a slight detour to spend a night at the lodge to check out their summer "manager's special" deals. This resort is ~10mi of winding mountain roads from US-191, and we got here pretty late on a stormy evening.

For some reason, we were given an "accessible" room with a massive shower area. We had to ask for extra coffee and supplies despite reserving a 2-queen room for 3 adults. The continental breakfast in the morning is a quagmire - too many people crowding the counters, and the food seemed to keep running out faster than the staff could replenish.

Otherwise, pretty decent-sized well-furnished rooms with views if you're lucky, a big indoor pool and multiple hot tubs (didn't have time to use them though). Plus my parents from a tropical country got to see snowfall as a bonus! (I know, in mid-June!)

I'd consider coming back for a ski trip with friends in the winter if we get a nice deal, but I'd stick with the best-westerns near the highways that have better service for an efficient summer road-trip stop.

Room Tip: if you're only spending the night and don't need the mountain view (or if it's cloudy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vstg005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigSkyJ, General Manager at The Lodge at Big Sky, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thanks for the great honest feed back. Can't wait to see you this winter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Be careful when you make a reservation. I made a reservation for two rooms for one night on Monday and tried to cancel it within 48 hours and they would not refund any of the full advanced payment. When I tried to call the manager to discuss the desk clerk would not give me their name or pass me through. Their position is that if you make a reservation within 30 days of the arrival date it is not refundable.

Not the way to do business. Their calcelation policy was not clear that it was not refundable.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank AlexaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigSkyJ, General Manager at The Lodge at Big Sky, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
We are sorry for your disappointment in our cancellation policy. Here up at the ski resort we do operate under a 30 day cancellation policy. Our cancellation policy is a deposit upon making the reservation and refundable only 30 days prior to arrival. The deposit will be forfeited for any cancellations less than 30 days prior. Hope this clarifies your confusion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massillon, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We went the first week after it opened for the summer season. The staff was fantastic, friendly and warm. We stayed two nights waiting on the rain to move out. The room was cozy,warm and comfortable. The bathroom was big and clean. We swam indoors and had a hot tub outside with a view of the mountains. The pool was warm and clean. The kids played ping pong while my husband and I did laundry. They even have a fire pit on the back patio and told the kids that if the rain stops they could roast marshmallows. The buffet breakfast was good. Not enough protien though. Over all we loved it. We did alot of lounging and it was perfect for that!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grhrb4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigSkyJ, General Manager at The Lodge at Big Sky, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Glad to hear you had a great time up here in Big Sky! Next time you come out hopefully the weather is better so you can enjoy the outdoor fire pit and BBQ area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Big Sky hotels
7.8 mi away
Buck's T-4 Lodge
Buck's T-4 Lodge
#3 of 13 in Big Sky
684 reviews
0.1 mi away
Big Sky Resort Village Center
0.3 mi away
The Summit At Big Sky
The Summit At Big Sky
#4 of 13 in Big Sky
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
River Rock Lodge
River Rock Lodge
#7 of 13 in Big Sky
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Huntley Lodge
Huntley Lodge
#8 of 13 in Big Sky
281 reviews
7.5 mi away
Whitewater Inn
Whitewater Inn
#13 of 13 in Big Sky
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Big Sky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Big Sky

Property: The Lodge at Big Sky
Address: 75 Sitting Bull Road, Big Sky, MT 59716 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Mountain Inn Big Sky)
Location: United States > Montana > Big Sky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Big Sky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Big Sky 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located minutes from the Base Village area yet quiet and private, The Lodge at Big Sky is Big Sky's only independent lodging located slope side in Big Sky Montana. We are the best value on the mountain. Come visit us and see what sets us apart from the others:) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Lodge at Big Sky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Big Sky Hotel Big Sky
Hotel Big Sky
The Lodge At Big Sky Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing