We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lodge at Big Sky
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Big Sky
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2012

I had a room with a kitchenette and it was perfect for my stay. I don't like to eat out all of the time when I am on the road. My room also had a good view of the mountain and it was quiet and well kept. The service is great with the staff being very friendly and accommodating. The complimentary breakfast left something to be desired but I have had worst. Definitely worth the stay for families and other groups.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrysny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (580)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

431 - 437 of 580 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2012

This hotel was lovely, clean comfortable, nice view, breakfast was great. The computer in the business room was incredibly slow, they said they are going to replace it soon, I hope they do. It really was unusable. I'd recommend the hotel for skiing, but not for Yellowstone. it really was much too far away.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aliza B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

After a long drive from Choteau, MT, what a lovely place to stay overnight! Gorgeous lobby that encourages lingering in the many leather seating areas. Water with citrus slices and coffee is offered for the taking. Rooms are spacious with fabulous large window views. Well-appointed furniture, deep kitchenette sink, fridge, microwave. No disappointments here. Walked to a lovely dinner just 5 minutes away!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveScenicTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

The highlight of this lodge was the location! We had a 4th floor room facing the mountains with a gorgeous view! The lodge itself is a little ways from any actual "city", but there are restaurants within walking distance, and the view itself makes up for the lack of shops or places to explore. You are truly up in the moutains - we even saw a bear walking on the ridge above one of the neighboring hotels! The staff was very helpful and friendly at check-in. There is an indoor pool and hot tub, as well as 3 outdoor hot tubs. The outdoor hot tubs are wonderful to sit in and enjoy the cool mountain air! Our room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. As mentioned in other reviews, the walls are thin so you can hear some noise from neighboring rooms. There was a nice continental breakfast with both cold and warm items to choose from. The lodge is about 45 minutes from Yellowstone Park. We stayed at 4 locations during a weeklong trip to Yellowstone, and this was definitely our favorite place!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a mountain view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BlackHillsBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Hard to understand positive reviews. This place is only a mediocre Interstate cookie cutter motel in a mountain valley location. On arriving, we were met with a parking lot sign, "Bear Danger, do not park here!" with no directions of where to go (bear trap only 30 yards away, visible from every window). Front desk staff distracted and little help: "Don't leave any food in your car . . . the bears will rip it open." Carpets dirty in hallways, disgusting and smelly in elevator. Bed linens were highly suspect; we were appalled by pseudo-chamois bedspread which seemed laded with stains (ugh!). TV's are old tube type. Shower heads smelled of mildew. Best part of the provided "free" breakfast was hot water for coffee and tea. Stay away . . . do yourself a favor and find someplace else at Big Sky.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TightLine2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We used The Lodge as our headquarters to explore Yellowstone Park, and though it's an hour north of the West entrance, we were glad we did. We felt the price was very reasonable in comparison to other area hotels, and the lodge itself was awesome. The rooms are HUGE and very clean and well appointed. Our room had a microwave, small refrigerator, ironing board, and a couch. And the view of Lone Mountain was gorgeous. As a matter of fact, the entire area is gorgeous, as The Lodge is at the top of a beautiful valley surrounded by mountains. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The indoor pool was large and there were three hot tubs (try the ones out on the patio; it seemed most guests were not aware they existed and we always had the entire area to ourselves). The continental breakfast was one of the best, with a large variety of foods and drinks, and plenty of places to sit and gaze up at Lone Mountain as you eat.

Only downside: there is only one small, slow elevator to service the entire hotel.

Great place to begin explorations of Yellowstone, and more closely located are zip lines, white water rafting and fly fishing. All in all a great place to stay for a relaxing and fun vacation!

Room Tip: Try the "hidden" hot tubs out on the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skerstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We selected the lodge for several reasons: we haves stayed at the Huntley, the Summit and a few other condos and wanted to try something different, the reviews were very good and we were not planning on spending much time in the room anyway. The front desk staff are excellent! They honored our request for a 4th floor room, allowed an extended check out when we were going on the Lone Peak expedition and were just overall great!
When we got ready for bed the first night there were no pillowcases on any pillow. Our request for pillowcases was taken care of swiftly and cheerfully! There was trash in our room from a past guest. And lastly, the hotel is the noisiest we have ever been in. It's not the average noise of your neighbors in and out the door. Have you ever been able to hear the sound of water in room from the guest in the nest room? The flushing of the toilet or a shower being turned on? It seems that we heard that "water-running" sound for the entire time we were in our room. The walls seemed incredibly thin-to the extent we could hear other guests bodily functions. This not a strike against the wonderful people we met there and the job they are doing. It's the hotel itself. I had to sleep with ear plugs the entire time. It's a beautiful location and a lovely looking room and hotel overall. Unfortunately we will not return.

Room Tip: Ask for the fourth floor for awesome views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wildwyogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Big Sky hotels
0.1 mi away
Big Sky Resort Village Center
7.8 mi away
Buck's T-4 Lodge
Buck's T-4 Lodge
#1 of 9 in Big Sky
762 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Summit At Big Sky
The Summit At Big Sky
#4 of 9 in Big Sky
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
River Rock Lodge
River Rock Lodge
#7 of 9 in Big Sky
128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Huntley Lodge
Huntley Lodge
#6 of 9 in Big Sky
307 reviews
7.3 mi away
Alpenglow Condominiums
Alpenglow Condominiums
#9 of 9 in Big Sky
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Big Sky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Big Sky

Address: 75 Sitting Bull Road, Big Sky, MT 59716 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Mountain Inn Big Sky)
Location: United States > Montana > Big Sky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Big Sky
Price Range: $220 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Big Sky 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located minutes from the Base Village area yet quiet and private, The Lodge at Big Sky is Big Sky's only independent lodging located slope side in Big Sky Montana. We are the best value on the mountain. Come visit us and see what sets us apart from the others:) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The Lodge at Big Sky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Big Sky Hotel Big Sky
Hotel Big Sky
The Lodge At Big Sky Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing