We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay here again in a heartbeat!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lodge at Big Sky
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Big Sky
Certificate of Excellence
lax
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Would stay here again in a heartbeat!”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

First, excellent location. 400 yards from the lift, but a) totally walkable and b) Glenn Campbell (i'm not kidding) will give you a lift anytime you want to go up or you can call to be picked up. i guess i should write 400 yards away but $hundreds less.

Second, total bargain hotel. despite what others have said about it being tired, i disagree. everything was super nice. great rooms (get 4th floor and splurge the extra $30 for the kitchen). huge "living room" downstairs had great wifi and lots of couches.

third, they just make you feel at home at L@BS. so friendly and so helpful.

i've literally stayed at ski resorts around the world and for a hotel, this was a knockout. was it a spa? no. did they provide exceptional service at great rates? yep. thanks folks!

Room Tip: Upper floor facing the mountain. High ceilings!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    145
    51
    20
    15
See reviews for
216
155
23
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

The staff was so friendly here, but a few amenities could be improved. Beds and bedding were outdated and a bit uncomfortable. Fitness room had old machines. The other suggestion would be to get satellite radio, as the skipping CDs and listening to Barry Manilow everyday ruined the nice atmosphere by the fireplace. Again, your staff made up for these issues.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StillwaterJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Although not the fanciest lodge on the mountain, this little hotel had it all. Nice indoor pool and outdoor hot tubs to enjoy a snowy evening, intimate little bar set up for after a day on the hill, and quite large continental breakfast each morning. The rooms were quite big and clean - the beds were ok but not the most comfortable I have been in. The hotel has a ski room watched by an attendant that loads your skis on the shuttle in the morning for the mountain...or you can walk to the base in about 5 minutes at most. The best part though were the staff. SO friendly and helpful, they made the stay. I would go back just to see them.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachelFWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2012

My party stayed at this hotel while in Big Sky for a conference during winter. Our experience was fantastic. It is a short walk to the main village and ski slopes. If you chose not to walk, they offer a free shuttle service to anywhere in the area. The room was comfortable and spacious with outstanding views. We chose this hotel due to cost and proximity to the conference space. They truly do try to make the experience as comfortable as possible. Coffee, tea, juice, and hot chocolate available at all times. Standard free continental breakfast daily. The best part of the whole experience was the service. Extremely friendly staff with great tourist tips. There has not been any one person that was less than exemplary. If I ever roll out this way again there will be no hesitation to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asax57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed at The Lodge for seven nights in February 2012.

On arrival the staff lets us check in early (9am) which was a great help. Our room was spacious and clean, the beds were very comfortable, and the bathroom was a good size. A very adequate buffet breakfast was available in the mornings. There was a shuttle bus up to the resort base however it is only about a two minute walk and you are virtually able to ski back to the Lodge.

We would definitely stay again at the Lodge.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ewen_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

It was like staying with a rich uncle. They were very nice, wonderful lodge atmosphere with outdoor jacuzzis, firepit, lounge with fireplace and bar and free breakfast and Internet. Beautiful mountain setting, walking from base camp, free shuttle and spacious room with fridge.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MathosJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

We stayed at The Lodge at Big Sky for our 4th time this past January 26-February 5, and it was as good as ever! Because of the wonderful lodge and excellent staff, we visited this past summer, and will come back once again this coming summer. Therefore, we have made this a bi-yearly trip, and would not think of staying anywhere else!!!

From the time you arrive, Jeff and Ryan (Managers) make your stay enjoyable, and get to know you on a personal level. Every guest is called by name, and greeted by all members of the staff, who make you feel like you are a part of their family.

Weekly, there is an event hosted in the spacious lobby called, "Grillin' and Chillin'," where Jeff cooks out on the grill, and you have a buffet-style feast with the other hotel guests socializing in the lobby/lounge area. Even if you're not a "social" person, this is truly an event you can enjoy in a laid-back atmosphere that is friendly of everyone, and is a family event! From the continental breakfast with egg/cheese omelets and sausage, to the nacho cheese machine at night, you never go hungry! Although the hotel doesn't offer "room service," there is always food and fun provided.

We saved a lot of money by utilizing the induction cook top, oversize refrigerator, convection microwave oven, and a dishwasher with dishes provided...and of course, a trip to Wal-Mart before we headed into Big Sky.

The indoor pool and hot tub, as well as the outdoor hot tubs were a great way to wind down and relax after a hard day skiing, and were always the perfect temperature.

Lone Peak and skiing in Big Sky is fantastic, but we would not be as eager to return to Montana were it not for The Lodge at Big Sky. It is truly a hidden treasure, and we will continue to return as often as we are able to. Thanks to them for making our trip so memorable every time we visit!

Room Tip: Get a mountain view suite so that you have a kitchenette to cook some of your own meals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edukate29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Big Sky hotels
0.1 mi away
Big Sky Resort Village Center
7.8 mi away
Buck's T-4 Lodge
Buck's T-4 Lodge
#2 of 13 in Big Sky
711 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Summit At Big Sky
The Summit At Big Sky
#4 of 13 in Big Sky
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
River Rock Lodge
River Rock Lodge
#9 of 13 in Big Sky
118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Huntley Lodge
Huntley Lodge
#8 of 13 in Big Sky
287 reviews
7.5 mi away
Whitewater Inn
Whitewater Inn
#13 of 13 in Big Sky
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Big Sky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Big Sky

Property: The Lodge at Big Sky
Address: 75 Sitting Bull Road, Big Sky, MT 59716 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Mountain Inn Big Sky)
Location: United States > Montana > Big Sky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Big Sky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Big Sky 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located minutes from the Base Village area yet quiet and private, The Lodge at Big Sky is Big Sky's only independent lodging located slope side in Big Sky Montana. We are the best value on the mountain. Come visit us and see what sets us apart from the others:) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your The Lodge at Big Sky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Big Sky Hotel Big Sky
Hotel Big Sky
The Lodge At Big Sky Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing