We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value and beautiful location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lodge at Big Sky

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lodge at Big Sky
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Big Sky
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent value and beautiful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

I found a good discount special for the Lodge on expedia.com and decided to book a room for a few nights as it was the cheapest accommodation available from which I could explore West Yellowstone and the surrounding area. We stayed here during the summer season, which I assume is off-season; this is probably one of the reasons why the room was so cheap. It was only about $20 more than budget accommodation for a very nice place. The lounge area was lovely and offered a great view of the mountain. The room itself was large with two Queen sized beds (one more bed than what I was after but I won't complain). Cleaning was done daily and the staff were helpful and informative when I asked about the area. The complementary breakfasts were also a cut above what I am used to (quite a bit more than just toast, cereal and coffee). The location is also excellent, very scenic. Although, it was a bit of a drive to Yellowstone, about an hour to the west gate, I did not find it too daunting. Overall, highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    140
    50
    18
    15
See reviews for
208
146
23
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

We switched up our summer itinerary on the road and Pricelined a great deal at this hotel for one night. The highlight for our kids was the ping-pong table in the basement, where we spent an entire evening while I was doing vacation laundry down the hall. The pool and hot tub seemed highly over-chemicalled (not a word, I know) but the kids seemed fine. The hotel was not super-crowded though the free breakfast buffet was like a Lollapolloza the next day, with long lines and no where to sit. Mini-fridges in all the rooms made traveling with our cooler and snacks easy. This was a good base from which to spend 2 days in Big Sky in the summer.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Air_willog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

We stayed at the Lodge for a sking trip in 2010. We chose the Lodge because of the good reviews, the price, and the fact that rooms come with a microwave and a fridge.

Overall, the location is fantastic. About 50m from the slopes, however, there is an on-demand shuttle bus that drops you off, and that also picks up regularly near the slopes (for those who do not want to walk in ski boots).

The room was fairly big, with two queen sized beds, aforementioned microwave, sink and fridge. We knew that there would be no cutlery or crockery, so we took some bowls and cutlery with us. This meant that we could have a snack in our room, and only needed to eat out once (saved quite a bit of money - a tip, the supermarket in Big Sky is very small, but there is a bigger one down the mountain at the 'village centre' - free hourly bus).
Quite difficult to regulate the temerature in the room.

Breakfast in the hotel was alright. It is a three-star sking hotel in the US, and breakfast is as expected: quick and convenient, with lots of plastic (plastic cutlery, cups, plates...). There was a selection of cereal, bagels, muffins, frozen stuff (pancakes, omlettes? sausages) that could be heated, and waffles. So if you want a fancy breakfast buffet, this is not the place for you. Equally, we had dinner once - the bbq, but we were not keen. Again, it seems that food is mainly convenient (whatever can be cooked in a large pot for many people), served on plastic plates. But the amount of food is generous, and the people are nice and try to help where needed.

The pool and hottub was fine, however, at times it (and the rest of the hotel) was awash with toddlers, kids and teenagers.

The hotel also had free internet.

So if you after a quiet place with great ameneties and fine dining, this is not the place for you. If you are after good value for money, a fairly cheap and convenient place to stay in a great ski resort, you will be fine. We were mainly on the slopes, or in our room, so we were not bothered, and the convenience of the location and the amenities in the room made up for any other matters.

Whilst we were in Big Sky we also went dog sledding, which was good fun, but quite commercialised, with seven sleds going at the same time (and millions of kids) - which took away from the experience a bit. But they come and pick you up, and provide snowboots should you need them.

Room Tip: We went for the cheapest option (which gave us a view of the carpark), and it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1X2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

Stayed at Big Sky for some skiing. Staff was very friendly and our large suite at the Lodge was excellent. Hotel was very quiet and the breakfast was good. Excellent lunch and dinner choices at the base of the ski hill are within a few minutes walking distance (up hill) of the hotel. When we walked into the lobby in ski gear with equipment, the staff immediately helped us load our gear on the shuttle bus , started it up and took us up to the ski hill (<1 minute drive). Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sledriders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

Stay anywhere else such a joke!! They charged us $250.00 for one night on New Years, just to serve us FROZEN Eggs patties, and FROZEN sausage links, with rows of microwaves.. So Sad, I hope they close down

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anders R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

If you have another option when staying at Big Sky, save your money and avoid The Lodge. We took a trip for NYE and after skiing, decided to head to the lobby to check out their NYE party only to have a boy not more than 10 years old, pour us our Whiskey-Cokes. When he asked if we wanted something to drink, we all looked at eachother like he was pulling our leg but thats how this hotel operates. I realize its a tough economy right now, but this has to be a violation of some kind of liquor law. The pool/hot tub had no towels left when we got out of it and their lobby bathroom had no TP. The next morking we went to their complimentary breakfast only to find our main course options were cold frozen waffles, processed (felt plastic) eggs-cheese omelettes and sausage in tupperware with microwaves and toasters to heat them all up. Having stayed at the other main lodges in Big Sky in the past, we decided to try The Lodge for a change and booked a room for one night @ $260 for New Years. We booked it two months ago and stated there four people in our room so we wanted two queen beds. When we checked out, we were charged an additional 50$ for our two additional guests even though my wife and I clearly stated we would be having four people stay with us when we booked the room. Unless your car slides off the road and you are forced to walk to safety and happen to end up at the Lodge, avoid staying at this hotel at all costs.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleburg, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

This review is way overdue. In APR 2010 myself, wife and 8y/o son went to big sky for a ski adventure. On a day trip we were in a terrible car accident and we were taken to Bozeman hospital for weeks. All of our luggage was still at the lodge. I called the lodge the next day and they sent someone to deliver it free of charge and did not charge us for the rest of the visit. This was a good hour drive thru a canyon on snowy roads. They also packed it up before they left and nothing was missing. This was above and beyond.
The lodge is in great location. 1 min shuttle ride to slopes, close to dining. Very down to earth and the rooms were nice.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MILITARYTRAVELER37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Big Sky hotels
7.8 mi away
Buck's T-4 Lodge
Buck's T-4 Lodge
#2 of 13 in Big Sky
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Summit At Big Sky
The Summit At Big Sky
#4 of 13 in Big Sky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Big Sky Resort Village Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
River Rock Lodge
River Rock Lodge
#7 of 13 in Big Sky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Huntley Lodge
Huntley Lodge
#8 of 13 in Big Sky
3.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
3.3 mi away
Alpenglow Condominiums
Alpenglow Condominiums
#10 of 13 in Big Sky
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Big Sky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Big Sky

Property: The Lodge at Big Sky
Address: 75 Sitting Bull Road, Big Sky, MT 59716 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Mountain Inn Big Sky)
Location: United States > Montana > Big Sky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Big Sky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Big Sky 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located minutes from the Base Village area yet quiet and private, The Lodge at Big Sky is Big Sky's only independent lodging located slope side in Big Sky Montana. We are the best value on the mountain. Come visit us and see what sets us apart from the others:) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Lodge at Big Sky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Big Sky Hotel Big Sky
Hotel Big Sky
The Lodge At Big Sky Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing