We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great way to see the forrest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jake's Horses

Jake's Horses
5645 Ramshorn Street, Big Sky, MT 59716
(406)995-4630
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Really great way to see the forrest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

We chose a 3 hour package ($70ea) which was really great (we were pretty much beginners too). Jake took us up and over a mountain in the Gallatin State Forrest in the patchy snow which was really great. Highly recommended for all.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    15
    3
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best part of our trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

This was an amazing experience. The views are incredible, the horses are wonderful, and our guide was awesome! We definitely plan to be back and for a longer ride next time! Thanks!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank BearsCupcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakeland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great guides”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Don't look for pretensions - horses do actually poop, and Jake is more of a trail guide than a tour guide, but he knows the land and the critters, and he'll find what he can to show you. You're going to get a well-led ride from a very competent local guide. The horses and tack will be well-matched to the riders, and they'll give you good value (for what is a *very* reasonable price). We rode in late winter, and conditions can be iffy - Jake let us decide if we wanted to go a little off the "green trail" in exchange for a chance at some good scenery - and we're glad we did. Highly recommended

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank dv1234562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fun diversion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The crew at Jake's did an excellent job matching the rider experience, temperament, and physical size with their horse. We were asked if we wanted a tame or adventurous trip. We chose adventurous. Our 2.5 hour ride that took us along game trails to the top of a mountain ridge. Even though it was cloudy, the views were impressive. We also saw a moose and several elk.

The adventurous route is not for the faint of heart in winter. The snow depth was over 5 feet in areas, and sometimes the horses would suddenly sink to their belly (our legs).

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GR_MI_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Canyon, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Winter Ride”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We love to ride and Jake's has good horses and guides. The trails take you to some of the best "Montana Experience" locations. We would do it again.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jake's Horses also viewed

 

Been to Jake's Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing