We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for families with small kids”
Review of Chet's Bar & Grill

Chet's Bar & Grill
Ranked #27 of 64 Restaurants in Big Sky
Price range: $4 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Enjoy a sumptuous breakfast to kick-start your day or unwind with a handcrafted Montana micro-brew before sitting down to a salad and steak for dinner. Chet's Bar and Grill is located in the Huntley Lodge within Big Sky Resort's Mountain Village. Just off the sunken lobby on the 1st floor of the Huntley Hotel.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Average, Sysco-style meal offerings. Reasonably priced for a resort, good place for small kids with menu items that appeal to the little ones. Don't miss the Crazy Austrians act in the winter! Breakfast is probably the best meal.

Thank VGDreamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigSkyResort001, Public Relations Manager at Chet's Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Thank you for your review. Although we do try to create a fun and friendly atmosphere for the whole family we certainly don't strive to be average. We will take your comments and share them with our team to help improve our food quality for your next visit. We appreciate your business and your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 112 of 130 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

The place was pretty quiet and I thought they'd just slap together some meal - but the flavor and presentation of my meal was superb. And their choice of gourmet desserts made me go back a second night, just so I could try something new.

Thank AnelaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Dinner was late night (9:30pm) but staff accomodated us nicely. Food was good but expensive. It's a tourist town though, so everything is expensive. The waiter was very good and saw to all of our requests. The area draught beer selection was good. I would go back again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PfeiffersOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

I cannot recommend this restaurant to anyone, having lived in Switzerland, this is nothing close to real fondue. Cheese fondue was ok, but meat fondue left me worried for my health. Dessert fondue was Hershey syrup that was cold to start which is hard to do given that you are supposed to melt chocolate for fondue.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank reddhead_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigSkyResort001, Public Relations Manager at Chet's Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

We are so sorry to hear you were dissatisfied with your fondue. Your description of our service and quality does not match what you and our team should expect. Please accept our apologies. Our team will contact you directly to discuss this matter further. Thanks for your time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Spent 4 days at Big Sky and decided to drop in to Chet's after dinner on our last night for a night cap around 8:30pm. Expected a warm, welcoming place as this is supposed to be the original cornerstone lodge of the resort... sadly disapointed.

First the place smelled like an old French fry machine. We seated ourselves at the couch by the fire... check that, cold, empty fireplace. This is a ski resort, this is the original lodge, a little fire going for some ambiance would be nice. There was one going out in the fireplace in the lobby but we didn;t want to sit with kids in their PJs.

After waiting for 10+ minutes with no server stopping to wait on us I went to the bar. Had to wait while the bartender, standing in the alcove of the bar, finished texting before I could order drinks. Returned to the empty fireplace under too bright lights and had our cocktails. Still no one came by to check on us and after finishing our cocktails and waiting again, picked up our glasses.and returned to the bar, passing two servers leaning against the rail, engrossed in their own conversation, apparently oblivious to their customers.

Ordered a second cocktail, bartender re-used the same glasses and half-melted ice I had just returned to the bar with. Returned to our seat with our watery drinks. Halfway through our cocktail a bus girl passed by pushing a vacume cleaner even though we and several other tables were still in the bar. 9:00 pm, I guess the staff wanted everyone to clear out so they could shut down.

This place could be so cool but felt more like a self serve cafeteria.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank Clark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigSkyResort001, Public Relations Manager at Chet's Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

We are sad to hear that you did not enjoy your meal with us. Your description of your dining experience most certainly does not match that of what our Chet's team strives for. Please accept our sincere apologies. If you are ever unsatisfied with any part of your meal please let our team know immediately so we can correct it and give you the quality and service you deserve. We invite you to join us again and give our team another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chet's Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Chet's Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing