We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Frequent lunch spot”
Review of Whiskey Jack's - CLOSED

Whiskey Jack's
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Enjoy Southwestern cuisine with local Montana hospitality. Whiskey Jack's is located in the Big Sky Resort Mountain Village Plaza on the 1st floor of the Mountain Mall.
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Frequent lunch spot”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Love their drink menu to help you warm up during the ski day. Always good food. Friendly wait staff. Casual atmosphere that can accommodate any group size.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wintertraveler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigSkyResort001, Public Relations Manager at Whiskey Jack's, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
We'll always have some great hot specialty drinks to warm you up after a long day on the slopes. Thanks for your loyalty and taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    56
    27
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“average food for the money”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Its an ok place and you pay for the convenience of having it near all the hotels. Its actually tough to find your car in a snow drift if you plan to leave for dinner and then not fun to have to find parking and make the long trek back to the hotel. So, you are left with this place.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank fannonland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigSkyResort001, Public Relations Manager at Whiskey Jack's, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your meal. Your description of our menu and service certainly don't meet our team's standards. Please accept our apologies. We will share your comments with our team and use them to improve our product. We hope that you give the Whiskey Jack's team another chance next time you are in Big Sky.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

They could do a lot better on a burger...let's start with some fresh meat! Staff was nice and the facility fine (a little too 'cafeteria' like). Make an effort and make it great!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Westboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigSkyResort001, Public Relations Manager at Whiskey Jack's, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thanks for the feedback. That's exactly what we plan on doing... Making an effort and making it great! There have been lot's of changes at Whiskey Jack's since your last visit. New menu, manager and chef. We invite you to give us another chance during your next Big Sky stay and see for yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
107 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Okay food, Good drinks!”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

The southwestern inspired food was okay, but did the trick on the mountain. The Poncho Villa Burger is the way to go if you like a spicy, quality sized burger. The prices aren't too bad for food or drinks, but the drinks made up for all of it! Great selection of whiskeys, local brews, and TVs too!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank SarahJean22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigSkyResort001, Public Relations Manager at Whiskey Jack's, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for your review. Great to hear you liked the Poncho Villa Burger and our drink selection. We will share your comments with our team. Please visit us again, and be sure to let us know if there is anything we can do to make your next stay more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Labor Day Weekend”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

For us, Labour Day weekend was included in a week "out west", starting with a "family & friends" visit to Denver & Colorado Springs (saw the burn area - scary & sad) then on to Big Sky, MT to visit our daughter. Whilst there, we ate at many fine restaurants, including Whiskey Jack's, & went on the "Sky Ride" out behind the restaurant - to halfway up Lone Peak Mountain! This is ski resort area so it was the chair lift to many ski runs --- & absolutely the best way to see the surrounding countryside. You glide peacefully along, some 60' off the ground & --- just enjoy!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crazyoldbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigSkyResort001, Public Relations Manager at Whiskey Jack's, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Sounds like a great trip! Thank you for sharing it with us and writing such a nice review. Please come back and see our team again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing