We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but not great”
Review of Lake Condominiums

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake Condominiums
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2010

The place was OK but could have used some updates. We exchanged from RCI into here, trying to get into the Yellowstone area for three years so had to settle for Big Sky which is a little far from the action but we made it work. First off the beautiful scenery out to the front window was that of the dumpster and parking lot.. They could have fenced off the dumpster that would have helped. The grill on the front patio did not work so we had to improvise. The office hours are limited (9-5) so if you need anything you had to make sure hat you were at your place. We called and left a message to have some supplies delivered since most days we were gone before 9 and back after 5 but they did not. We had to change our plans in order to stay and get some supplies. It would have been very nice to have a TV in the 2nd bedroom. The DVD and VHS collection in the office was outdated to say the least. On the good side there were plenty of towels in the room; it was very clean when we arrived; free wireless internet and free printing in the office; the fireplace heated the place very nicely; and it had a nice washer/dryer. If planning to use this place as to sleep it is OK but if looking for a resort to stay at then I would not recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VowedFiftyStates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 94 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2010

Was not sure what to expect, but the condominium was sapcious and very clean with ample supplies and the view was out of this world. We had a 2 bedroom unit that looked out over the lake, though it was frozen over. The Staff was very helpful and friendly. We drove to West Yellowstone and did the snowmobile in the park, (I highly recommend it), was about 1 hour away but worth the trip, the scenery was beautiful. The unit was within walking distance to the sky lifts. There is a free shuttle bus that comes at least every 30 minuites if you don't want to walk and will also take you all over Big Sky Mountain,. By the way the Medical Clinic is great also, my son broke his collar bone snowbording and the doctor there was very efficent. He has been working there for about 20 years I'm sure he has seen plenty of broken bones. Felt secure in his diagnosis.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Miichile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2009

I was expecting a very 70's hotel decor and was very pleasantly surprised at the quaint ski lodge feel. We had a 2 bedroom plus loft condo. The ceilings were really high - 1 and 1/2 stories high in the bedrooms and kitchen and the living room was 2 stories high. The room was impecably clean, the gas fireplaces were just installed and new flat screen tv's were in the living room. The staff at the front desk were extremely helpful and there was high speed internet for free in the condos. The condo was stocked with everything from towels, soap, all kitchen essentialls, dishwasher detergent and dish soap, humidifiers, lots of extra pillows and blankets, dvd and vcr players and bbq's with propane supplied. it is a half block walk to the ski lifts

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarlaKelowna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2009

This is a small resort located in Big Sky.. the scenery is breathtaking and skiing, hiking is all at your doorstep.. If you are visiting Yellowstone it's a little far but doable.. plan on many hours of driving. The resort itself is not luxurious but the units are well equipped and very spacious.. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iiderman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2009

We come here every other year, this year we were here two weeks first in unit 1515 one of the oldest of the units and then 1558 one of the newest units, both overlooking the lake. One morning we watched a Moose and her calf walk by our bedroom window, the resident beaver made a daily appearance and a fox visited the balcony next door. Seems it has learned it might get a little food if it visits. All the previous reviews covered all the basics and are an accurate picture of the units, Barbs presentation and the grocery situation. Yellowstone, Museum of the Rockies have been well covered but no one has mentioned the Pioneer Museum in Bozeman. It has a $5 admission fee and is worth the price for two hours of local history.

They have completed the fireplace conversion to gas and now have WiFi available in all units. We had cool evenings and mornings so starting the fireplace with the push of a button was great. I used the pool, it is not very large but they keep it at about 83 so even with a cool day it was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Retired12-31-06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2008

We booked two 2 bedroom condos for a week in August. The property was older, but the area was beautiful. There were nine of us (two families) and there was ample room for everyone, including small children. The kitchen was well equipped and we had gas BBQ grills on the (small) deck overlooking the lake. The view from both sides of the condo were great - the lake with mountains behind it out the dining room, living room and deck and a view of Lone Mountain out the bedroom windows.
The units could definitely use some updating, but were clean and pleasant. The fireplaces in all units are not usable at this time.
The pool and hot tub were just okay, but the kids had a ball in them.
Barb gave a great talk Monday morning with a huge printed hand out packet with maps, info, etc. Very helpful in planning the week.
Yellowstone was definitely the highlight, we spent three days there. Every other day was nice with the hour drive there and back. We thought the Grizzly and Wolf Discovery Center in West Yellowstone was all right, but wouldn't recommend a special trip there just for that.
There were some breathtaking hikes around Big Sky - Ousel Falls was really pretty and easy enough for the kids and adults carrying babies in backpack carriers.
Big Sky definitely is quiet in the summer - it's busy season is winter. Which was fine for us, no waits at restaurants!
Definitely stock up on groceries in Bozeman, there is very little selection at the tiny stores in Big Sky.
All in all we had a great week and I would recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank familyoffivemn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2008

We just got back from a week here. It was a very well stocked condo (plenty of dish soap- toilet paper-). I agree with the last reviewer that it could use an update. But the carpet was in good shape and it was a very clean place. It was not a dissappointment in any way! My nephews enjoyed the pool and I enjoyed the view of the lake and mountains. The washing machine was very small but worked fine for vacation. The lady who worked there was very kind and was happy to answer any questions about the area. I would go here again!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank arendskatiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Big Sky hotels
0.3 mi away
The Lodge at Big Sky
The Lodge at Big Sky
#1 of 9 in Big Sky
570 reviews
7.7 mi away
Buck's T-4 Lodge
Buck's T-4 Lodge
#2 of 9 in Big Sky
742 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Summit At Big Sky
The Summit At Big Sky
#4 of 9 in Big Sky
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Big Sky Resort Village Center
0.2 mi away
Shoshone Condominium at Big Sky Resort
0.4 mi away
Powder Ridge Cabins
Powder Ridge Cabins
#3 of 21 in Big Sky
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Condominiums

Address: 1500 Turkey Leg Road, Big Sky, MT 59716
Location: United States > Montana > Big Sky
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Big Sky
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Lake Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Condominiums Hotel Big Sky
Lake Condominiums Big Sky, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing