We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pass - better resorts within the area”
Review of Lake Condominiums

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake Condominiums
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2014

PROS:

Pleasant environment - very scenic and quiet.

CONS:

Furniture was functional but needed updating.

Only had internet for 1 day.

Too far from Yellowstone National Park.

Pool was in sub par condition.

This was a last minute reservation via RCI. The whole idea was to see Yellowstone National Park. Unfortunately, it was way too far from it. Everything worked except the internet. The system was down for the entire week we were there (July 4th weekend). I didn't expect to hang out here and surf all day but it would have been nice to check up on things. Everything was stocked (toilet paper, utensils, etc.). You do need laundry detergent and fabric softner.

Room Tip: * washer / dryer combo are very small and loud * internet is slow to nonexistent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Userguym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 94 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2014

This place would have gotten a "very good or excellent" rating if it weren't for some things that are kind of major for us.
Maybe I expected too much from this resort, but I've been staying in condos for 30 years and this is the only place that advertised free WiFi and gave us a connection where dial up is faster.
My husband and I need access to WiFi for business purposes and even on our vacations we need access for a couple of hours throughout the day. The connection was so slow that we had to cut our stay there two days short because it was so inconvenient to go elsewhere to do simple daily tasks over the internet.
Normally we expect the condos to provide at least a small amount of washing detergent if they have a washer/dryer available, and at least salt and pepper. Not here. They did have a few coffee filters. I'm thinking they could have told us that the normal consumables found at most condos aren't provided here.
The area is beautiful and we loved visits from the resident begging fox. It just wasn't convenient nor relaxing trying to find a place to do what we needed on the internet.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skipperd222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

What a beautiful and wonderful vacation. We were there the first of May and the weather was snowy of course up at 7500 ft. altitude, but it was beautiful. The condo was one of the best ever and the resident pet was a Red Fox who I named Swiper. The area is so close to Yellowstone that is was such an easy drive there. Only draw back was that the lake is frozen at that time of year and you can't go fishing, but that is ok because there is so much else to do. I highly recommend this adventure and we will go back time after time. This was not a hotel but a resort condo. Trip Advisor didn't give that choice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elizabeth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

This was a last-minute RCI exchange for us (since California had had almost zero snow by early February). However, Lake Condominiums does rent to the general public, so I would definitely include it in any hotel or suite search for Big Sky.
Our unit was spacious, with a nice view of the lake and mountains. There were a couple of items lacking in the kitchen, I remember a wire whisk being one, but it was mostly well equipped: we only ate out for a couple of lunches.
My other complaint is not something that is easily fixed: the bathrooms have almost no counter space at all! This condo sleeps six, and I can't imagine three people trying to get their toiletries into each of the two bathrooms. In addition, the only mirrors in the unit were in the bathrooms, and they were cabinet size, at eye level. Not a full length mirror in the place.
Aside from this, our unit was very comfortable. The gas fireplace was a treat, and the washer-dryer was convenient. However, when the family upstairs ran their washer-dryer, it sounded as if it were in our unit!
The village shuttle stops just outside the condo offices and makes a continuous loop to the base of Lone Peak. In addition, there is shuttle service (Karst Stage Airport Shuttle) that brought us, literally, to the door of our condo. Very excellent service indeed.
And that brings me to one of the nicest things about Big Sky, and that is the people. Throughout the resort, on all levels, we encountered nice people willing to take an extra minute and be helpful. We'll be back!

Room Tip: With time-shares, you usually get what is available, but if you want to rent here, work with the off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank N_skier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Stayed 8th-15th Dec 2013 for an early season ski trip. Had a third floor 3 bedroom condo. It was very well appointed with an en-suite to 1 bedroom + a family bathroom. There was a TV in 2 of the bedrooms though we did not use them at all. Great gas fire place. The main sofa was a bit past its best with poor cushioning but we switched it with the other which was better. There is a Bar-B-Que on the balcony supplied with gas. There is also a washer/dryer in the closet by the front door. At the base of the stairs are ski storage cupboards which are lockable. The block was at the bottom of the complex overlooking the lake and a short walk up the hill to the hot tub and heated swimming pool. The kitchen was amply supplied with utensils and crockery. There is a free bus service from the complex to the main lodge for access to the ski area and you can ski right back to the door at the end of the day. We can't agree with Carole T. We were very happy with our RCI Points exchange.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Skinut79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed at the Lake Condominums from Dec.8th-15th, 2013. We had a 2 bedroom, 2 bath, condo and loved it. The fireplace was wonderful, well stocked kitchen, we were close to the heated pool and jacuzzi, and loved the proximity to our room as it was cold out. You can check in late effortlessly by using their easy to use lock box. They send you the passcode and when you open it there is an envelope with your name on it for easy check in. We got there late in the evening and loved the ease of getting in so quickly. We ate at the Summit hotel in the bar as it was cheaper than the dininig room,it was great. All day long a shuttle bus goes through the grounds picking up skiers, and taking you right to the slopes. This was a wonderful place to stay and I highly recommend it for view, accomodations, pool, ease of getting around, and the beds were so comfortable. Great place to enjoy Big Sky. After reading the other reviews I would say they have definitely updated the units, none of those complaints were what we experienced.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank planetearthtour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We were thrilled to have a clean, renovated, spacious and well stocked unit during our very-off-season stay at Big Sky. The gas fireplace was the first thing turned on after a 12 hour drive and it warmed the entire condo in about 10 minutes. Upon waking we were amazed by the view of Yellowstone in the distance with the beautiful lake in the foreground. The windows were sparkling clean and the blackout shades were wonderful for sleeping in. The condo was immaculate and very well stocked. Easy walking to the heated pool and two large hot tubs. Again the grounds were as clean as the rooms. It was quiet outside and numerous local fox were as friendly as cats.

We shopped for most groceries and alcohol in Bozeman since Big Sky is pretty pricey. At off season you must drive 5 miles down the "hill" to reach any food/supplies at Town Center. No problems though because the full kitchen and private grill on the porch gave us many options. Local hikes and drives were numerous and beautiful. We had a full week of enjoying what Montana has to offer even though Yellowstone and the main resort itself were both closed!

Room Tip: We had a lower unit. It looked like the top floor units had even better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 2Webers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Big Sky hotels
0.3 mi away
The Lodge at Big Sky
The Lodge at Big Sky
#3 of 9 in Big Sky
563 reviews
7.7 mi away
Buck's T-4 Lodge
Buck's T-4 Lodge
#1 of 9 in Big Sky
739 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Summit At Big Sky
The Summit At Big Sky
#4 of 9 in Big Sky
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Big Sky Resort Village Center
0.4 mi away
Huntley Lodge
Huntley Lodge
#7 of 9 in Big Sky
296 reviews
4.6 mi away
River Rock Lodge
River Rock Lodge
#6 of 9 in Big Sky
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Condominiums

Address: 1500 Turkey Leg Road, Big Sky, MT 59716
Location: United States > Montana > Big Sky
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Big Sky
Price Range: $282 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Lake Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Condominiums Hotel Big Sky
Lake Condominiums Big Sky, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing