We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Expedition, Great Photos”

Geyser Whitewater Expeditions
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Yellowstone Rafting Trips on the Gallatin River near Big Sky Montana. Plunge through Yellowstone's most famous whitewater or kick back and relax as you glide down the river on a Scenic Float. A perennial favorite, Geyser Whitewater will provide family memories never to forget. You can be assured of great times and great service as Geyser is unparalleled in safety on the Gallatin River, and is the only Yellowstone region outfitter to host both the First Family of the United States and the Vice President. Geyser Whitewater offers the Original and Best Value on Horseback and Rafting Adventures and introduced the Zipline and Rafting packages, imitated but unequaled by others in the area. Rafting, Kayaking, Zip lining, Horseback riding, Family boat rentals, Climbing Wall, Bike Rentals.....Grab a paddle, for the Adventure of a Lifetime!
Belleville, IL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Expedition, Great Photos”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Great Rafting Company, Great Photo Memories

Geyser Whitewater Rafting Company planned a Horseback and Raft Adventure for us when we took four of our grandkids to Yellowstone. It was a side trip for us and turned out to be the very favorite of our grandkids! The staff at Geyser were professional, courteous and enjoyable, and we will certainly be “rafting and riding” with them again when we get the chance.

Besides the great experience with Geyser, we especially appreciate the work done by the photographers of Crystal Images, who work with Geyser. I had no idea they were taking pictures during our rafting trip because we were so “busy” with paddling and laughing hysterically. When we returned to the base, we were greeted with the opportunity to see, on computers, an amazing number of pictures of us in the raft at various stages of splashing and rafting. They were awesome!

We had no idea that we’d be able to get these shots! Thank you, Crystal Images, for being there. The looks on the kids’ faces are priceless, some we’d never have gotten with a waterproof camera, or our own. Money well spent, there were 48 shots on a CD for $125, or we could buy less, or order regular prints. The memories of the trip are great, but the pictures bring it back each day! I’m glad we left our memories to the professionals. Instead of pictures being in a photo album, these will be on the wall!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    471
    45
    10
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, South Carolina
1 review
“Awesome experience in Montana for a South Carolinian family!”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We had an awesome experience!!! Our guide, Michelle, was confident, competent, and lots of fun!! She helped our 9 year old daughter, who was a little nervous at first, have a wonderful experience!! All the staff we encountered were extremely friendly and helpful!! We would definitely recommend this to everyone!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Todd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“fun experience, except for the photography”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We were impressed with the friendliness and enthusiasm of the guides, even though the river was very low at the time we went. And having rafted with other MT companies in the past, we were hoping for a little more excitement on the 1/2 day Lower section whitewater trip than was advertised.

One huge negative of the experience was the highway-robbery price of the photos, taken during the trip by Crystal Images photography. We would have loved to have the memento of our trip, but the price is an absolute insult to the customer. (Over $100 for a CD of photos, and upwards of $65 for just three 5x7 prints.) Bring a waterproof camera and don't waste your money.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashurbanipal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best experience that water level gave us”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We went down the Gallatin late in July and the water level was pretty low. We did a lot of scraping over rocks but did hit some good rapids. Nothing I would call really technical - which is fine since none of us in the raft have ever worked in a raft together. I would take off a point because mother nature shorted us on water volume but that was nothing Geyser can control.

Of the things they could control, they did well. We took advantage of the $10 lunch package (sandwich, chips, drink, dessert) which was reasonable. Pre-trip, we were given a helmet, life vest, and helmet. A water repellent jacket was offered free of charge which my wife took advantage of. We declined the booties or wet suit available for rental. We received a pre-trip orientation on equipment fit and use, boarded the bus and headed for the launch site. The cost for four adults was about $230.

At the launch site, we received our safety briefing and rafting instructions. If we had been on the river in peak conditions, the safety steps would have sufficed. Our rafting guide was Ryan who was well seasoned and knew this section of the river well so we were in good hands.

The pictures were taken by another group partnering with Geyser. There were plenty of pictures for guests to choose from. They were not inexpensive but I cannot ding Geyser in this review for the photos taken of the trip. A service to take photos was provided and an opportunity to purchase offered. Everyone has the choice to not purchase pictures; there was no sales pressure directed to us. We did choose one photo on CD ($35 - yes.... expensive for a digital image) which came in a plastic case. We were also given a website so that we could order others that were taken. This photo experience did not diminish our rafting experience in any way.

Overall, we had an excellent experience. Geyser has a formula that gives their customers the best experience possible. Their staff are knowledgeable and professional. I recommend this to others

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kycoffeeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“First rafting experience”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Visiting Big Sky, Montana and wanted to raft for as long as I can remember. Booked a trip with Whitewater for four adults. It was so much fun! Our "captain" was Morgan who had a lot of experience and was kind and patient with us all. Mac gave excellent instructions with a little humor. Everyone in the shop was great too. Thanks Whitewater!

Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Geyser Whitewater Expeditions also viewed

 

Been to Geyser Whitewater Expeditions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing