We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great night out”
Review of Bear Creek Saloon

Bear Creek Saloon
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Bearcreek
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great night out”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

we had to book a table as it was very busy, the food was great, i had a melt in the mouth steak, which was cooked to perfection. the after dinner entertainment was great, the " pig races" were fun to watch and although none of our group won the little pigs all were winners as they got to eat more food as reward for running.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank cumbriancowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    23
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
“Pig Races at Bear Creek Saloon”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed in Red Lodge this summer and took a $7 taxi to Bear Creek Saloon for the Pig Races. $2 bets on a 5 by 5 "Super Bowl" type board so only 5 bettors get a pig in the race and then winner gets $25. Great fun drinking beer and watching the pig races. We came up 3 times with different friends in 10 days. Food was good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RedLodgeVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
118 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Pig races are not to be missed ~”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Relatives in nearby Red Lodge brought us to this old saloon, only open Thursday thru Saturday
evenings (as I recall !), for dinner and the pig races. Dinner was ok, but the pig races are awesome !!!!! Everything about them was delightful from the young boy starters & herders, to
the track with advertising signs (still laughing), the overlook or the stands themselves for closer
look at the action. Betting allowed (somewhat complicated) & helps a local charity !!. Between Red Lodge, Mt. and Cody, Wyoming. Montana does have great saloons !

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hplunkett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pig Races!”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Ok, first, we did not eat here so this is not a review of the food. We came for the pig races and we had a blast. We love that the proceeds are used for local kids to go to school. Betting on the races is a little tricky to figure out at first (not like going to the track) ubt fun nonetheless. Beers and drinks were cold and fairly priced. The races themselves are great. They are over in less than 15 seconds but its a good time. We will certainly come back and are eager to try the food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PandL60606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheridan, Wyoming
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A new experience”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Very old building with small kitchen in front, smoke from grille fills dining room and smells great. Prime rib is high, came out rarer the expected for medium, but was good. The real fun of the place is the pig races after 7. Races are over fast, and have to wait 15-20 minutes for next race, but it is a riot to watch them run.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank john l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bear Creek Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Bear Creek Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing