We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really awful accommodations combined with a "get drunk" bar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Montana's Duck Lake Lodge
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Babb
Kalispell, MT
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Really awful accommodations combined with a "get drunk" bar”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

You would be better served sleeping in the bushes than here. The bar is known for serving those that have been banned from all the other bars. They party all night, right under the rooms. One time I stayed there the owner stayed up all night drinking with the clients and did not get out of bed the next morning to open for coffee and breakfast. The guests caravaned to a nearby cafe for coffee after a sleepless night. The rooms and furnishings are faux mobile home. The pizzas can be good but expect surely service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank afsasfdasfdasfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    12
    11
    7
    15
See reviews for
13
21
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I've stayed in hundreds of hotels/motels/lodges, and never seen anything this bad. We do a lot of backcountry camping too, and I swear these accommodations were dirtier. Not worth the hassle, or the cost. We booked one night, and never stayed.

Upon arrival, the grounds are overrun with plastic furniture overlooking a scummy pond. We found teenagers running the bar, the room to be overwhelmingly filthy (again, we didn't mind too much though), and the separate bathrooms were understocked and filthy. All doable, but definitely not for the money.

The nail in the coffin happened ten minutes later when a fire started in the parking lot. One of the employees' truck (read: a bartending teenager) started on fire and the place lacked a basic fire extinguisher to put it out. The truck burned for twenty minutes before someone called for help. After two hours of fire truck sirens, smoke damage, and just an overall lack of pleasantness, we asked for our money back. They said, "not a chance." We went elsewhere.

Imagine how little regard they have for your property, if they're okay burning down their own.

Bad management, lack of preparation, lack of care. Stay far away. Or you'll regret it.

It's like this place is run by a bunch of hillbillies. Too bad, too. It could be amazing.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma Washington
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We scheduled 3 nights based on a recommendation from an acquaintance and had to pre-pay due to being less than a month from arriving. Upon arriving we found the grounds in pretty shabby shape. The same shabby condition continued as we entered, stepping over some large filthy (but friendly) dogs. The carpet going up the stairs was torn and frayed to the point of being a tripping hazard. Everything about the place lacked attention. Stains on the rug in our room, horrible cheap mattresses, bathroom facilities down the hall seemed makeshift, lacked T.P. and soap, Bedroom window screen hung askew. And, don't eat there. Look at the condition of the kitchen and the prices on the menu before you try that. On the second night they ran out of water for flushing toilets and showers. We asked to have a refund for our third night, which we had no intension of sticking around for, due to the conditions. They refused saying, "we're a family owned business." My wife and I have our own businesses and we would never expect our customers to put up with this kind of disaster area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaneG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
158 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I didn't use Trip Advisor to research my choice and what a mistake. I used a travel book that only listed this one place for lodging in Babb. I went to the Duck Lodge website and it looked acceptable. Guess I saw "Lodge" and thought of the grand lodges in National Parks and know it cost big bucks to get an out of state hunting license so people with money to spend would stay here. I made reservations in early May and had tried several other lodging options to find them booked and in desperation, found this place and booked without further research---BIG mistake. We booked the first floor room with multiple beds and a private bath. Like another reviewer, I am not a finicky woman but the bathroom in this place was filthy--toothpaste spit on mirror and faucet, old worn out linoleum flooring that had dirt and boot tracks all over, not sure when the toilet bowl had ever been scrubbed nor the rest of it! And there were so many dead flies in the light fixture that the bathroom was poorly lit(they left the front door of the lodge open til bedtime so the flies were everywhere!)

After seeing the bathroom, I was afraid to look at the sheets. Thank goodness, we had sheets in our car and brought those in to use.

It was very noisy with the restaurant, bar, lobby outside our door. The bathroom had a door into another room that we are unsure of what was on the other side and a high pitch squeal that was continuous. We were awakened around 5 by the guests walking around upstairs with constant squeaking of the floor boards and finally got up ourselves and got out of there as soon as we could.

There was no cover on outlet in one place, wires hanging out of seam of ceiling on one wall, holes in the lampshade, hole in the wall where doorknob hit. No AC but had a ceiling fan. No TV either.

Room Tip: There was a quaint looking motel in "town" of Babb as well as a restaurant I wish we had k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank IllinoisMrsZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

booked a room here about a month in advance because- in all honesty- there was nothing else on the east side of the park for the dates we were looking for. we were a little worried coming in because of the negative reviews we read on here but those were obviously just crazy folks. but were presently very surprised. sure the downstairs is a bar where the locals hang out (they now close the bar at 10p and make the locals leave so you have the standard courtesy quiet hours). this fact should be a selling point considering how far it is to get food or drink and the remoteness of the location. also, the (two) shared bathrooms are split into three separate rooms by function (1 shower, 1 toilet, 1 sink room per hallway). significantly more rugged than your average hotel- but what do you expect? you're on the east side of glacier park. great little spot. will definitely book again. not to mention- it seems like they are steadily making improvements on the property.

incredible access to Many Glacier, St Mary, & the Two Medicine areas of the park from here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zak B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Duck Lake? That's a pond. Just needed a place for three of us to stay the night. That's what we got. An upstairs room with three small twin beds, one end table, and a window fan (I also brought a small fan). Believe the room faced east. Knew about the common facilities in advance. The separate water closet and shower rooms were small, but what I expected from the size of the lodge. The sink room was funny and NARROW. You could barely brush your teeth. If you needed to stick both elbows out, you wouldn't be able to face the sink. Ha, ha. Didn't notice the fire ring when we checked in, might have stayed up later. Was surprised at the free WI-FI. Room cooled after sundown. Slept ok, but my back bothered me for a while after I got up. Everyone should stay at a place like this occasionally. Think of the stories you could tell!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iowadonp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
Level Contributor
165 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

3 couples had reservations here for two nights and we almost didn't stay--but we knew we probably couldn't find any other place to stay on short notice. It didn't look like it had been cleaned in years and hadn't been upgraded/renovated in 20 or more years. The baths were shared--as we knew in advance. They were reasonably clean, but supplies weren't kept up--soap, towels, toilet paper, etc. The mattresses were lumpy and old, and the bedding was worn thin. (We all looked, but didn't find any bugs.) A small window fan kept our room reasonably cool, but friends couldn't use theirs because the window was directly above the kitchen fan which pumped out hot grease smells. Most of the lights in our rooms were either broken or missing light bulbs. Noise from the restaurant/bar carried upstairs loudly; however, later at night the place was quiet for sleeping. We stayed away as much as possible. The people working in the place were friendly and pleasant, but it didn't compensate for the very poor facility. The brochures do not fairly represent what this place is really like currently. It may be meant primarily for hunters and fishermen, but I do both, and there's no excuse for not keeping it clean and better kept. It was also very expensive compared to the value.

Room Tip: Book early in some other place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TriRidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Babb
7.2 mi away
St Mary Lodge & Resort
St Mary Lodge & Resort
#1 of 3 in Saint Mary
568 reviews
4.0 mi away
Many Glacier Campground
Many Glacier Campground
#4 of 7 in Glacier National Park
64 reviews
13.9 mi away
Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins
Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins
#4 of 10 in East Glacier Park
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Swiftcurrent Motor Inn and Cabins
Swiftcurrent Motor Inn and Cabin...
#2 of 7 in Glacier National Park
375 reviews
24.7 mi away
Lodgepole Gallery & Tipi Village
22.1 mi away
Bear Country Inn and Suites
Bear Country Inn and Suites
#2 of 2 in Mountain View
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montana's Duck Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montana's Duck Lake Lodge

Property: Montana's Duck Lake Lodge
Address: 3215 Duck Lake Road, Highway 464, Babb, MT 59411
Location: United States > Montana > Babb
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Babb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Montana's Duck Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing