We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you need a place to unwind, this is it.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Babb
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Paul Ranch Montana LLC
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Babb
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hawaii
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“If you need a place to unwind, this is it.”
Reviewed July 15, 2011

We stayed in the Elk Willows Lodge for four nights in July 2011. On the outside it's a non-descript, double-wide trailer with a sun deck. On the inside it's a modern 3 bedroom, 2 bath home that's nicely decorated and very comfortable. It's the nicest vacation rental I have had the opportunity to stay in. The home is situated on a hill overlooking the surrounding area and has good views. It's very peaceful and relaxing and the silence is golden. Janice and Colin are the caretakers and very gracious hosts. They make themselves available to you 24/7. The location is convenient to the Many Glacier and St Mary areas of Glacier National Park. The Many Glacier area is considered by many to be the heart of Glacier National Park. Many Glacier is known for it's beautiful lakes, majestic mountains and some unbelievably scenic hiking trails.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
11
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland, USA
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2010

Although our stay was short and mostly uneventful due to my being sick for half our holiday we really enjoyed our stay.
I love the country (being raised in country NSW Australia) and felt so at home here.
I ended up in the Emergency Room due to a stomach upset i'd had in Canada and the ranch caretaker went above and beyond what you would ever expect.
Very friendly and helpful.
When I got really sick they arranged for an ambulance, came and stayed in our room with our 16month old while my hubby came to the hospital. We didn't get back til midnight and she was wonderful, taking care of our son who had woken up.
The place is well equipped for people who like to do their own food and sooooo close to the GNP. Logan Pass was closed but I was far too sick to hike so we drove a bit each day and still saw the most beautiful views.
Apart from me being sick this place was great and a nice change from hotels etc.

Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank TamOZE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2010

This is a perfect location for those who want to avoid the crowds when visiting Glacier National Park. The ranch is off the road and is a lovely spot. It is very well-equipped and cosy.As we are not hikers we sat on the deck in the afternoons and evenings. Janice and Colin were the perfect housekeepers, helpful and unobtrusive. Janice made us cakes and the wild flowers were a lovely touch. Barbara brought us some gorgeous cherries. All of these things added to our stay in Babb. There is a small grocery store in Babb and a slightly larger store in St Mary (bit more pricey as it's right by the park entrance.) We stocked up in the IGA(IPA?) in Browning first and the meat we bought there was excellent. There is also a travelling market which stops outside the store in Babb on a Wednesday (I think, correct me if I am wrong). Got a lovely strawberry and rhubarb pie from there as well as the most tasty tomatoes.
All in all one of the highlights of our five week tour on the US.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathleenBridget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2010

We wanted to stay on the east side of Glacier National Park because most of the hikes we enjoy doing are on that side. This was a PERFECT spot for us to live for six days! Quiet, peaceful, secluded with a beautiful view of the mountains but yet so close to Many Glacier, Waterton, and Logan pass. The caretakers have done a great job at making sure you have all the necessary items to cook in the well-stocked kitchen, grill a few steaks, wash a load of clothes, sit by a firepit, watch many channels on the satellite TV, watch DVD's, view the wildlife from the front deck, play a game of tetherball, volleyball, or horseshoes, and just plain relax! I appreciated having the daily housekeeping service - now that really felt like a vacation! We came back to our place from a long day of hiking and it entirely cleaned up - so NICE. And the beautiful bouquets of wildflowers left us were an added bonus. The home fit the five of us so well. Plenty of room to sleep, eat (we ate breakfast and supper here most days), and relax without getting in each other's way. Definitely well worth the money we spent. I'd stay here again anytime.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJS1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2009

Paul Ranch was a great place to stay. It became our home for 3 days while experiencing Glacier National Park and Waterton National Park. We had 2 bedrooms and a nice size living room,large bathroom. There was a washer and dryer which came in handy. There was even detergent for you to use, which was a nice surprise. A well stocked kitchen. They even had spices, herbs and coffee for you. We made our breakfast and dinners here, since the rest of our trip was going to be in hotels. I would definitely recommend a stay at Paul Ranch. i recommend staying in the first bedroom instead of the master because this room has the better view. Its on a ranch and the view is wonderful. The stars at night were amazing. We also got daily visits from a bunny and chipmunk. Truly a great place for a home base to explore this amazing part of Montana.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jelena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, OR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2009

My three night stay at the Paul Ranch was terrible. The vacation rental is not a house, it is an older mobile home/trailer in poor condition, with mold and mildew problems, reeking of mothballs or a similar chemical odor. I could not use the heat on cold and raining days because turning on the heat intensified the odor. The owner was not on-site. When I contacted her through email, she dismissed the seriousness of these issues, asserted that the trailer is in good condition, and expressed a “let the buyer beware” attitude. Until this rental unit is replaced, anyone with a normal sense of smell and a basic awareness of air-quality health issues should avoid the Paul Ranch.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NatureSUZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glacier_Cool, Owner at Paul Ranch Montana LLC, responded to this review, September 8, 2009
This guest stayed at my Ranch for three nights. She did not request to leave early or ask for a refund while she was there. The onsite hosts would have assisted her in finding alternative lodging in the area, and authorized a refund if she felt the accommodations were "substandard". She emailed me after her stay and demanded a refund. She threatened me with poor reviews if I did not comply with her demands. Finding no validity to the extent of her allegations, I did not give her a refund.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Babb
23.1 mi away
Waterton Glacier Suites
Waterton Glacier Suites
#4 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
348 reviews
23.1 mi away
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
#7 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
465 reviews
23.0 mi away
Prince of Wales Hotel
Prince of Wales Hotel
#1 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
St Mary Lodge & Resort
St Mary Lodge & Resort
#1 of 3 in Saint Mary
565 reviews
6.4 mi away
Montana's Duck Lake Lodge
7.0 mi away
Many Glacier Campground
Many Glacier Campground
#4 of 7 in Glacier National Park
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paul Ranch Montana LLC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paul Ranch Montana LLC

Property: Paul Ranch Montana LLC
Address: 77 Siers Rd, Box 258, Babb, MT 59411-5022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Babb
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Babb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paul Ranch Montana is 15 minutes from the east entrance to Glacier National Park. Located 6 miles north of Babb on US Hwy 89, comfortable and affordable lodging is provided in a relaxed and spectacular setting. For a vacation focused on exploring Glacier and Waterton, you will be centrally located. If you prefer time to read, write, photograph or other more solitary pursuits, you will enjoy the space, privacy and inspiring natural ambiance. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing