We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rural location and facilities”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carbonesca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Pian Di Cascina
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carbonesca
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great rural location and facilities”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Booked pian di cascina because of description of location and child friendly facilities. Both exceeded expectations. Huge safe play area with loads of toys, climbing frame etc. appartment gubbio was spacious and felt private as at the end of block with great views. Interior was really clean, bed linen cotton and all the kitchen equipment desired. Big bonus was the restaurant for guests on site which we dined in twice. Excellent value for 3 course dinner and our noisy toddlers were really welcomed and accommodated. Would recommend for families with young children. Only negative was the weather!!! freaky rainy may!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elilio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    19
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
112
47
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We spent a restful week at this family friendly accommodation which is in the most beautiful setting. The views from the rooms/farm are amazing. Whilst being in the heart of gorgeous Umbrian countryside, it is also well placed for a number of day trips out to surrounding towns/villages.

Paul and Isabel extended a very warm welcome and were extremely accommodating. The apartment was clean and well presented, and the extras provided for our baby were great and very helpful. Real thought has gone into making a stay with young children more comfortable and successful.

We would highly recommend this place, especially if travelling with young children.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We spent a long time looking for this holiday as it was our first holiday with our baby. So glad that we found this place. It was everything we could have wished for. We stayed in "Assisi" for one week in May. The villa is well kitted out, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The views are fabulous and the peace and quiet very restorative. The owners - as others have said- are exceptionally helpful and do a great deal in a completely unobtrusive way to ensure that guests have a great holiday. We took advantage of the many extras Isabel and Paul offer: baby provisions, a basket of goodies (to keep us going until we got to a supermarket), first night lasagne and a bread and croissant delivery each day. We were also cooked for on one night. Again, I would echo other reviews, Isabell's food is amazing. We had a delicious four course meal with fizz, local red wine and liqueurs. We are big foodies and one thing we've missed since the stork arrived is dining out - so for us being cooked for was a wonderful treat. The local area has lots to offer. We did day trips to Assissi and Gubbio, both are beautiful with lots to see and do. With the lakes and beaches also within striking distance I would imagine you could quite happily spend a good few weeks in this part of Italy and not get bored. But with your own private terrace (and BBQ), the pool and the lovely grounds there is plenty to do at Villa Pian Di Cascina and we found that we didn't really want to go very far at all! In short this is a great little place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

It's not easy to get to, up wee dirt hills, however, it's worth the trip. You find yourself up in the hills with incredible views and it's not too far to get provisions. What's really nice is the way they've set up all the wee villas. I was staying as part of a wedding party and it meant that all the couples, families could have their own privacy in their own rooms, then the shared living & cooking spaces, even individual outdoor spaces, but also come together communally to keep the wedding party going.

Although it seems tucked away from the world with a hire care you can easily get to all the delights central Italy has to offer. 2 1/2 hours to Rome (perhaps 3 depending on traffic) but much closer to home you can see Ancona, Assisi and Gubbio. The people who run it were very friendly and lovely and have kitted out the rooms perfectly.

I visited in October and it was sunny most of the time, but still not too cold when the sun was hidden.

If you want to escape from it all and have your own privacy in beautiful surroundings I'd recommend here.
If you want to go hiking around beautiful countryside I'd recommend here.
If you want to visit a variety of Italy's interesting historical towns I'd recommend here.
If you want to do a variety of the above I'd, unsurprisingly, recommend here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zippy4star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I just had to leave a review after I got married in Italy with Isabel and Paul's help. A group of 28 us stayed at the beautiful villa in October for our wedding. Isabel and Paul organised the wedding to a t. Living in the UK, we didn't think it would be so easy having a wedding abroad, but it went really smoothly. They helped keep us on track, think about all the different details and sourced suppliers based on previous experience at good prices. It meant we could have the carefree relaxed wedding and holiday abroad we wanted. Plus all our guests loved the place and the gorgeous pool! I can't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: The cantina is lovely and luxurious for two people. The Gubbio gets plently of sunshine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenNevis95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollerau, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We had planned to stay for a week, but loved it so much that we spontaneously decided to stay a few days longer (thank you Paul and Isabelle for being so flexible!)

Isabelles cooking is amazing and was the best meal we had in Italy. Be sure to try her courgette risotto!

Paul and Isabelle really achieve their goal to make you feel "home away from home" by taking care of all your needs including fresh bread in the morning, lasagne on the day of arrival and great tips for excursions during the day.

The farm is as children friendly as advertised, but I think it would be equally attractive for couples or groups without children who want to spend a relaxing week together and use Pian Di Cascina as a base for visiting other places in Umbria and Southern Tuscany.

See you next year, Paul and Isabelle !

Jan, Jenna and Amelie

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jansimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed at PDC for a week and this place is just wonderful.

Paul and Izzy are hospitable without being in any way intrusive. Genuinely friendly couple, great fun.

We travelled with a 13 month old baby and the selection of toys (simple ones, like jigsaws, lego blocks, books and a little tractor to sit on) was superb. The baby dishes and cutlery were great, as was the microwave and the dishwasher - what a holiday luxury. Everything feels well made in the apartment we were in, good quality stuff...from the oven to the plates and glasses.

The wifi is passable (the place is a long way from their nearest town, hardly their fault for average broadband) but we could stream the radio in the evening and keep up with home easily enough.

The pool is beautiful and well kept, the sunbeds clean. There is also a little play area with swings, climbing frame, slide and balls for the kids. We saw but didn't use football goals, a badminton net and table tennis table too.

Great homemade lasagne is for sale, which we lazily treated ourselves too a couple of times - really beautiful. Paul takes a bread and croissant order from you every afternoon for the following day - with a youngster and with us being disorganised (and lazy) this was great. We bought their own raspberry jam and their own olive oil too.

We also used their little restaurant, which was open on Friday and Sunday. Again, really lovely local cuisine that was reasonably priced and 20 metres from our door.

In terms of location it's a 5 min or 10 min drive to two local villages and the slightly larger Casa Castalda has a lovely butcher, supermarket, cheesemonger etc. We found literally no English spoken anywhere this part of Italy which is fine with us - and the folks are friendly. Proper unapologetic rural Italy. Fab.

We couldn't fault PDC at all, really wonderful place. Great holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 43people
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carbonesca
2.9 mi away
Castello di Petroia
Castello di Petroia
#1 of 23 in Gubbio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
10.2 mi away
Park Hotel Ai Cappuccini
9.8 mi away
Hotel Gattapone
Hotel Gattapone
#3 of 23 in Gubbio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Relais Ducale Hotel
Relais Ducale Hotel
#4 of 23 in Gubbio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
6.7 mi away
Agriturismo Villa Finetti
Agriturismo Villa Finetti
#1 of 1 in Ponte d'Assi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Montegranelli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Pian Di Cascina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Pian Di Cascina

Property: Villa Pian Di Cascina
Address: Frazione Caresto 11, 06024 Carbonesca, Gubbio, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Gubbio > Carbonesca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carbonesca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing