We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Pian Di Cascina
Nearby Hotels
$208
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa Montegranelli(Gubbio)(Great Value!)
$70
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel Camino Vecchio(Fossato di Vico)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
GG8 Restaurant & Hotel(Gualdo Tadino)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (211)
Filter reviews
211 results
Traveler rating
189
20
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
189
20
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspian di cascinalasagnapaul and isabelfamily holidayon site restaurantthought of everythingplay areaevery morninglarge poolpaddling poolhome away from homeumbrian hillsitalian foodweek stayspecial placetrufflefamilies with young children
Filter
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 211 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2013

It's not easy to get to, up wee dirt hills, however, it's worth the trip. You find yourself up in the hills with incredible views and it's not too far to get provisions. What's really nice is the way they've set up all the wee villas. I was staying as part of a wedding party and it meant that all the couples, families could have their own privacy in their own rooms, then the shared living & cooking spaces, even individual outdoor spaces, but also come together communally to keep the wedding party going.

Although it seems tucked away from the world with a hire care you can easily get to all the delights central Italy has to offer. 2 1/2 hours to Rome (perhaps 3 depending on traffic) but much closer to home you can see Ancona, Assisi and Gubbio. The people who run it were very friendly and lovely and have kitted out the rooms perfectly.

I visited in October and it was sunny most of the time, but still not too cold when the sun was hidden.

If you want to escape from it all and have your own privacy in beautiful surroundings I'd recommend here.
If you want to go hiking around beautiful countryside I'd recommend here.
If you want to visit a variety of Italy's interesting historical towns I'd recommend here.
If you want to do a variety of the above I'd, unsurprisingly, recommend here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zippy4star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I just had to leave a review after I got married in Italy with Isabel and Paul's help. A group of 28 us stayed at the beautiful villa in October for our wedding. Isabel and Paul organised the wedding to a t. Living in the UK, we didn't think it would be so easy having a wedding abroad, but it went really smoothly. They helped keep us on track, think about all the different details and sourced suppliers based on previous experience at good prices. It meant we could have the carefree relaxed wedding and holiday abroad we wanted. Plus all our guests loved the place and the gorgeous pool! I can't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: The cantina is lovely and luxurious for two people. The Gubbio gets plently of sunshine...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BenNevis95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We had planned to stay for a week, but loved it so much that we spontaneously decided to stay a few days longer (thank you Paul and Isabelle for being so flexible!)

Isabelles cooking is amazing and was the best meal we had in Italy. Be sure to try her courgette risotto!

Paul and Isabelle really achieve their goal to make you feel "home away from home" by taking care of all your needs including fresh bread in the morning, lasagne on the day of arrival and great tips for excursions during the day.

The farm is as children friendly as advertised, but I think it would be equally attractive for couples or groups without children who want to spend a relaxing week together and use Pian Di Cascina as a base for visiting other places in Umbria and Southern Tuscany.

See you next year, Paul and Isabelle !

Jan, Jenna and Amelie

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jansimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed at PDC for a week and this place is just wonderful.

Paul and Izzy are hospitable without being in any way intrusive. Genuinely friendly couple, great fun.

We travelled with a 13 month old baby and the selection of toys (simple ones, like jigsaws, lego blocks, books and a little tractor to sit on) was superb. The baby dishes and cutlery were great, as was the microwave and the dishwasher - what a holiday luxury. Everything feels well made in the apartment we were in, good quality stuff...from the oven to the plates and glasses.

The wifi is passable (the place is a long way from their nearest town, hardly their fault for average broadband) but we could stream the radio in the evening and keep up with home easily enough.

The pool is beautiful and well kept, the sunbeds clean. There is also a little play area with swings, climbing frame, slide and balls for the kids. We saw but didn't use football goals, a badminton net and table tennis table too.

Great homemade lasagne is for sale, which we lazily treated ourselves too a couple of times - really beautiful. Paul takes a bread and croissant order from you every afternoon for the following day - with a youngster and with us being disorganised (and lazy) this was great. We bought their own raspberry jam and their own olive oil too.

We also used their little restaurant, which was open on Friday and Sunday. Again, really lovely local cuisine that was reasonably priced and 20 metres from our door.

In terms of location it's a 5 min or 10 min drive to two local villages and the slightly larger Casa Castalda has a lovely butcher, supermarket, cheesemonger etc. We found literally no English spoken anywhere this part of Italy which is fine with us - and the folks are friendly. Proper unapologetic rural Italy. Fab.

We couldn't fault PDC at all, really wonderful place. Great holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 43people
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed not quite a week at this lovely villa, along with 16 others from our neighborhood. Our Cantina room was quite nice, great kitchen, roomy spaces, nice patio. Croissants delivered to our room in the morning by our great host Paul, fantastic meals prepared by our hostess Isabella. Beautiful views of the Umbrian countryside. Location was a little remote, but then we were out everyday touring Montefalco, Gubbio, Perugia on the way in and Assissi on the way out....our leaders in the group kept us very busy! I think some of the people who were there, who for the most part stayed at the property, just cooking and relaxing, found it more suitable than for we who were out everyday. But, all in all, very lovely facility, and fantastic owners!

Room Tip: The Cantina was very nice, and roomy. Minimal noise from unit above.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank betty m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews