We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Pian Di Cascina
Nearby Hotels
$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Camino Vecchio(Fossato di Vico)(Great Value!)
$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
GG8 Restaurant & Hotel(Gualdo Tadino)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa Montegranelli(Gubbio)(Great Value!)
$67
$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$189
$178
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Pinolo(Gubbio)
$69
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Vaccaria(Carbonesca)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (211)
Filter reviews
211 results
Traveler rating
189
20
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
189
20
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspian di cascinalasagnapaul and isabelfamily holidayon site restaurantthought of everythingplay areaevery morninglarge poolpaddling poolhome away from homeumbrian hillsitalian foodweek stayspecial placetrufflefamilies with young children
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 211 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We had planned to stay for a week, but loved it so much that we spontaneously decided to stay a few days longer (thank you Paul and Isabelle for being so flexible!)

Isabelles cooking is amazing and was the best meal we had in Italy. Be sure to try her courgette risotto!

Paul and Isabelle really achieve their goal to make you feel "home away from home" by taking care of all your needs including fresh bread in the morning, lasagne on the day of arrival and great tips for excursions during the day.

The farm is as children friendly as advertised, but I think it would be equally attractive for couples or groups without children who want to spend a relaxing week together and use Pian Di Cascina as a base for visiting other places in Umbria and Southern Tuscany.

See you next year, Paul and Isabelle !

Jan, Jenna and Amelie

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jansimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed at PDC for a week and this place is just wonderful.

Paul and Izzy are hospitable without being in any way intrusive. Genuinely friendly couple, great fun.

We travelled with a 13 month old baby and the selection of toys (simple ones, like jigsaws, lego blocks, books and a little tractor to sit on) was superb. The baby dishes and cutlery were great, as was the microwave and the dishwasher - what a holiday luxury. Everything feels well made in the apartment we were in, good quality stuff...from the oven to the plates and glasses.

The wifi is passable (the place is a long way from their nearest town, hardly their fault for average broadband) but we could stream the radio in the evening and keep up with home easily enough.

The pool is beautiful and well kept, the sunbeds clean. There is also a little play area with swings, climbing frame, slide and balls for the kids. We saw but didn't use football goals, a badminton net and table tennis table too.

Great homemade lasagne is for sale, which we lazily treated ourselves too a couple of times - really beautiful. Paul takes a bread and croissant order from you every afternoon for the following day - with a youngster and with us being disorganised (and lazy) this was great. We bought their own raspberry jam and their own olive oil too.

We also used their little restaurant, which was open on Friday and Sunday. Again, really lovely local cuisine that was reasonably priced and 20 metres from our door.

In terms of location it's a 5 min or 10 min drive to two local villages and the slightly larger Casa Castalda has a lovely butcher, supermarket, cheesemonger etc. We found literally no English spoken anywhere this part of Italy which is fine with us - and the folks are friendly. Proper unapologetic rural Italy. Fab.

We couldn't fault PDC at all, really wonderful place. Great holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 43people
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed not quite a week at this lovely villa, along with 16 others from our neighborhood. Our Cantina room was quite nice, great kitchen, roomy spaces, nice patio. Croissants delivered to our room in the morning by our great host Paul, fantastic meals prepared by our hostess Isabella. Beautiful views of the Umbrian countryside. Location was a little remote, but then we were out everyday touring Montefalco, Gubbio, Perugia on the way in and Assissi on the way out....our leaders in the group kept us very busy! I think some of the people who were there, who for the most part stayed at the property, just cooking and relaxing, found it more suitable than for we who were out everyday. But, all in all, very lovely facility, and fantastic owners!

Room Tip: The Cantina was very nice, and roomy. Minimal noise from unit above.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank betty m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We spent a lovely week at Pian Di Cascina and for our first family holiday that also doubled as our honeymoon I don't think we could have chosen a more tranquil and picturesque spot. Paul and Isabel were kind and welcoming hosts and Isabel's food at LaTavernetta was simply delicious. It was an absolute treat to enjoy a quiet meal on our honeymoon, while our 15 month old was tucked up in bed, but within the baby monitor's reach. We stayed in Assisi which had two bedrooms - one with a large and very sturdy cotbed (no rickety travelcots here) and a very comfortable and cosy kitchen/living room. The fresh bread deliveries every morning made breakfast a pleasure, especially with the views from our terrace. And on those evenings when it was warm enough to sit out, we even heard some of the local wildlife - wild boar on the prowl for Paul and Isabel's figs. Our daughter greatly appreciated the box of toys left for her and spent many happy mornings on the play lawn, often playing with Paul and Isabel's children. The only sadness though was that the beautiful swimming pool was on the cold side and although I managed a couple of quick dips it was too cold for a baby or toddler to swim. However overall we had a great time and wouldn't hesitate to recommend PDC to friends, especially those going away with young children.

Room Tip: The four apartments in the barn conversion (Montefalco, Spello, Assisi and Gubbio) have lovely private terraces with amazing views.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank becs_n_si
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We were looking for a relaxing first holiday with our 6 month old and we found it. Our accommodation ( Spello) was perfect for the 3 of us and every morning (apart from the 2 days it rained!)we had breakfast on our terrace overlooking spectacular views. The fresh bread delivery from Paul in the morning was something we could get used to, and the barbeque was the easiest I've ever used. Paul and Isabel provided a lovely range of toys for our daughter; and if you've got older ones there's a great play area. We dined twice in La Tavernetta: Isabel was a brilliant host and the food was as good as any we ate during our 12 days in Umbria. The property is an ideal location for day trips to Assisi, Gubbio and Perugia (though the nearest town is a little plain.) We felt very much at home at Pian Di Cascina and definitely plan to return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews