We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ulu Ulu National Park Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ulu Ulu National Park Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Had a lovely 2-day, 1 night stay at Ulu Ulu. Nature in Temburong is fantastic, unspoilt. The river is magical. The sights are awe-inspiring.
Pick-up at our hotel was almost an hour late. Guide said he called and asked the hotel to inform us, but we were never informed and were wondering if they had forgotten us. Whether it was the hotel´s mistake or the guide actually never called, I will never know, but they should be more careful with that. The bus ride to the pier is short. The boat ride to the national park is long. Boats are old-ish and not that safe looking, but that just adds to the adventure. Then the traditional long-boat up river to the resort is where the magic starts. Wonderful views. The lodge (more than a resort, it is actually like a huge lodge) itself seemed clean and nice, albeit with a lot of wasted space. The different activities organized for us were all interesting and fun. I would only like to comment on our guide, and then again only to aid in improving the wonderful experience that they offer, not wishing to do him any harm (which is why I will not mention his name). We were never given any sort of introduction, which would have been nice. Once the whole group was at the lodge, he should have gathered us and given us some sort of introduction: where we are, the significance of the place, some cultural tidbits, what the activities will be, something about the preservation of this place etc. He did manage to inform us about some of, but in bits and pieces and mostly when asked by someone. I had the impression he has been doing this for a long time and is actually kind of tired of seeing new faces each time and having to give it heart and soul time after time. But that is precisely what being a good tour guide is all about: each time, you have to make your guests believe that you are completely passionate about what you do and about the place you are showing. If you are having a bad day and being sarcastic to your guests, they will end-up having a bad day as well. His description of the early morning hike to see the top of the rain forest was so unattractive that I decided to skip it (it went something like "tomorrow I will wake you up at 4.30am. It is a long hike up a muddy hill, then 850 steps up to the top of the tower, then back again. If you don´t go, then it´s just a waste of your money"), with that sarcasm, I decided to skip it, just to spite him (not that he cared). He just seemed NOT to care about us, his guests. He did not make any effort to get to know us a bit and to tell us a bit about himself. Maybe it was just me...perhaps we just didn´t hit it off. Anyway, despite his attitude, I had a wonderful time and the activities that I DID join were lots of fun. I would go back. The river is worth it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tomchongtt, Guest Relations Manager at Ulu Ulu National Park Resort, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
We thank you for your comments and we will investigate and continue to improve and make sure that our tour guides have a more energetic level of communication.

Thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    29
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
29
27
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Wonderful, beautiful pristine wilderness. Did have a lot of fun and serenity during my 3 days. The trip there and back is an adventure in its own right. Will go back with family one day in the next couple of years. Resort itself is tops food is basic but great if you are hungry. Staff were excellent.

Room Tip: Take a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TobyBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

I loved it. I went for a 2 days / 1 night trip to this resort in January and I was the only guest there. The villa rooms are great, with a day bed in front of the room, very clean and beautiful. It is a resort isolated in the middle of Ulu Temburong National Park, just at 2 hours maximum from Bandar city. We travelled vy boat, car and then a small boat through the rainforest. The landscape is amazing and the river is so clean. Next day I went early morning to the canapy to see the sunrise and again I had an incredible experience seeing and listening to the rainforest. Part of the program was also kayaking and tubing and I was surprised to see how clean is the water. The food was simple but good and the guide Brian was great.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dragos_ro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed for 3D2N at the resort. This trip was an extension to a business trip that we had is Bandar Seri Begawan. The transfer was punctual and the trip to the lodge was by van, ferry,and boat. But it only took about 1 and a half hours, which is a small price to pay to see a rainforest so pristine and lush. Our guide, Brian was lovely. His enthusiasm and good nature was infectious. Ask and he will explain all your questions under the sun.We had a suite room which was large, clean and had the trimmings of a hotel and more- unlimited hot water, bath tub, porch, lovely view of the river, and the option of fan and aircon. The trek to the waterfalls were adventure filled and picturesque. The canopy walk felt like the James Cameron movie, ' Avatar'.. Do not miss it! We did not wake up on our second day for the canopy walk but we managed too the last day and boy was it worth every 800 step we took. The food at the lodge was delicious and reflected local cuisine- one night we had bbq. The kitchen staff from Indonesia were soft spoken and smiling. Glad that we forgo-ed 1 day in the city for an extra night in the national park. Expect a lot of 'wow!' moments!

Room Tip: Pick a suite if you can afford it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Frangipani_Langkawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

That is roughly translated Ulu Ulu. And the reason for me to visit ULu Ulu Resort is because it is so isolated. The management must be commended to run this resort with minimal impact on the environment. I hope it will stay that way. Congratulation for Eddie and his helpers to bring good food all the way from BSB. And thanks also Eddie for the Jungle trek which I enjoyed. There are few animals to be seen, but the variety of interesting plants here make up for it.
And a big plus for the exceptional organisation of the trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hans Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Ulu, Ula I believe means far far way, which is an apt description as you have to take a boat up a river to get to this resort. For National Park accommodation the rooms were pretty good, ample space, reasonable beds and fans and air conditioning.

For exploration of rain forest the location is close to unrivalled. We went on a 1 night, 2 day package which included a park guide and travel from BSB.

Do not expect hotel comfort, this is an isolated resort for exploring rainforest trails. If you want some adventure and the chance to see bugs and beasts this is for you.

Room Tip: Must do's are the canopy walk, floating down the river in a rubber ring and the natural fish spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cgtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anthonyhkchieng, General Manager at Ulu Ulu National Park Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear CGtree,
Thank you for your time and effort to post a review as all reviews are important to us.Me and my team appreciates them and will continue to work on continious improvment in Ulu Ulu Resort.
Your Sincerely
Anthony Chieng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

IF YOU WANT TO SEE WILD ANIMALS, GO TO SUKAU, SABAH.

The resort is big and take up a lot of space along the riverside. Because the resort is so big and can be very loud. This makes the resort have a big impact on the surrounding rainforest, making it difficult to see wildlife nearby. You are also limited for things to do at the resort, especially when you are forced to stay in due to torrential rains that happen frequently in the rainforest. They only seemed to keep the rooms and the kitchen area clean and the is a big problem with ants. Also, there are no mosquito nets/screens on the doors or windows. Our guide seemed very uninterested at times and often rushed ahead of the guests who were struggling with the rainforest terrain.

Now for the good feedback... The rooms were very nice and spacious and food was good too. The surrounding rainforest is peaceful and very scenic. The river cruise from the local town to get to the resort was fun too.

In summary, if you want to go to the rainforest and simply admire the forest, this is a great location. If you want to go animal watching, go to the sukau rainforest lodge in Sabah, Borneo.

Room Tip: Spray insect repellent around the door frame and you should have an insect free nights sleep. All be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnC1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anthonyhkchieng, General Manager at Ulu Ulu National Park Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear John,
Thank you for your comments as we are always learning and improving ourself everyday.For your information,the resort was built on a flat terrain next to the river that has the most minimal impact on the general area.On the first 2 phase of the development,every material was brought up on the long boats that transported you to the resort.Yes,it took a while to construct those buildings.We always recommend quest to stay 2-3 nights in case it rains as we cannot control the weather but the night walk is of the most recommended activity.Our rainforest is 100% pristine and therefore it is with patience and a longer stay to see wild animals.I always infrom my friends that to experience the rainforest,you do not go looking and trekking to seek or search...you just walk into the forest and find a spot and let the forest come alive by just watching quietly.
Noted on the screens for insect(our resort has virtually no mosquitos but some tourists do get a bite or two,but generally most visitors dont expereince mosquito bites),but be reminded that Ulu Temburong rainforest has one of the highest diversity of flora and fauna per square mile in the world,so there are always plenty of insects around.Scientist from all over the world come to Ulu temburong national park to do research on plants,insects,amphibians and other smaller animals as there is a field research study centre just 5 mins away from our resort.
We are in the national park,so all the areas are maintain clean but we do not clean up the spider webs if it is not in the way as they are home to the spiders for example.We try to be aware that we are the visitors in this jungle.
Once again,thank you and hope you can come back again in the future and experience our improvements.
Yours Sincerely,
Anthony Chieng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ulu Temburong National Park
17.2 mi away
Prime Hotel
Prime Hotel
#1 of 1 in Limbang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Easybox Homestay
Easybox Homestay
#2 of 11 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ulu Ulu National Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ulu Ulu National Park Resort

Property: Ulu Ulu National Park Resort
Address: Bangar | Temburong, Ulu Temburong National Park BE1518, Brunei Darussalam
Phone Number:
Location: Brunei Darussalam > Temburong District > Ulu Temburong National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Ulu Temburong National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ulu Ulu National Park Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ulu Ulu National Park Resort is the only rainforest resort in Brunei Darussalam, situated at the edge of 50,000 hectares of pristine rainforest of the Ulu Temburong National Park. A perfect destination for nature lovers, retreats, rejuvenation, meditation, team-building and personal growth programs, bird watching. The resort does not have mobile or internet reception and is void of these modern gadgets so our guests can have a total peace of mind experience to connect personally with one another. The resort also banned disposable plastic bottles replacing them with the non-profit sale of stainless steel water bottles at the resort, to minimize plastic pollution. The "must do" activities include the Sunrise Canopy Walk, the Waterfall Trek, and Night Frog Trail. Unexpected comfort in the heart of the Rainforest, at the Ulu Ulu National Park Resort, Temburong. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing